We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great if you have a car”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is a little distance from Opatija town, so you need a car here really - preferably with satnav. There is good parking available for free in the hotel though. We were upgraded us to a room with a sea view which was nice. The hotel felt homely and welcoming and everything worked well. Breakfast was good quality, although the selection wasn't huge. The high quality restaurant within the hotel is a bonus and makes this hotel a great place to stay. Staff were all helpful and friendly throughout (almost too much so at breakfast!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    85
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
155
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Especially when you enjoy the very good breakfast at the terrace, you will relish the fantastic view, one of the best places in Istria in the morning!
Nice pool, superior rooms with balconies towards the sea, friendly service, garage-parking.

Only the street down the hill is a bit noisy for sensitive ears.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just got back after staying from 19th - 24th Sept in Room 207. Loved every minute. Relaxing calm and peaceful. Staff were so helful and became more like friends. We will be back


Debbie and Dalibor


Hvala xx

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a suoerior room to get the amazing views, try the gnocchi with truffles and make u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1970girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

In summary this hotel is clean, modern, comfortable and has very professional and friendly staff. The location is good or bad depending on what you want from a holiday. It is outside of Opatija nearer to Volosko (where the 12 km Lungomare walk starts) and up an almost vertical hill of 25 degree incline. However once at the hotel it is so quiet and peaceful with the most wonderful view that it almost seems worth the climb. That said, there is a shuttle bus, on demand, from the hotel to wherever you want to go to in Opatija or Volosko but this only runs from 11.00 to 19.00. A taxi back from Opatija in the evening cost us HRK 40 (£5) including tip. We stayed for one week and didn't find the location too bad, it was more of an inconvenience but we did have a car which helped. We had a pool view room with a fantastic large terrace furnished with two sofas, two loungers, a table and stools. The room itself was clean and adequate but the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast on the hotel terrace is exceptional with lots of choice and home made breads and pastries. The only downside of this hotel is that there is no bar area to relax and have a drink in the evening pre and post dinner. There is a small bar with a few stools but it is used by the staff to wash the glasses from the restaurant and conference area so it's a bit like sitting in a kitchen albeit one with lovely staff who are interesting and fun to chat with. The free wifi is very efficient and so easy to use.

Room Tip: Room 102 has a large terrace overlooking the pool which has lots of comfortable furniture. However n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the economy room for one night, so we did not have a nice view from our room. The room was fine, nothing special, but the breakfast at Laurus was wonderful on a nice sunny morning on the terrace. The food was ok, typical Croatian/European breakfast, but the view and atmosphere of the terrace really made it. They will make you any kind of coffee you like, which was very nice. The croissants and bread were freshly made. The. Hotel is high up on the hill overlooking Opatija, and the drive up the street to the hotel is the steepest I have ever seen. Our car could not make it up in second gear. The pool area is very nice, though it was too cool for us to use it. This was just an overnight stop for us between Dubrovnik and Venice, so it was just a short stay. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If money is no object, get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

we stay at the hotel 2 nights, excellent service, very good breakfast, great location. Rooms are decorated very nice.the hotel was renovated.
the bad was comfortable

















































































Google Translate לעסקים:כלי תרגוםמתרגם אתרמאתר השווקים הגלובלי









כבה תרגום מהירמידע על Google Translateלניידפרטיותעזרהשלח משוב

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Set on a hill away from the crowds in Opatija, this family run hotel is ideal for those seeking relaxation and quietness.
The rooms are new (at least some of them), comfortable and modern, but I would personally prefer curtains that keep away the morning light and not so old and lumpy pillows. Superior rooms have private parking space, which is very convenient, and wonderful views over the Kvarner Bay.
The staff was always smiling, polite and helpful in every way they could, providing information, making reservations and giving advises.
Breakfast was good with choice from the buffet plus eggs and omelets from the kitchen upon request. It was served on the terrace of the restaurant allowing customers to enjoy the beautiful view.
The Laurus restaurant was excellent. Delicious dinner and value for money. Our only complain was the slow service. We had a reservation for 9 pm and our first course arrived at 10.30 along with apologies! At the same time a couple sitting next table, which arrived just 5 minutes after us, was almost finishing its dinner…The waiter asked twice about our order because he forgot it the first time. At the end they have offered us desert and desert wine. To be honest, I believe they only had a “difficult” night and maybe this kind of delay is not usual for the restaurant.
Last but not least, the hotel is near the pretty little village of Volosko where you can find nice restaurants for dinner. It is better though not to use your own car to get there. Finding a parking space in August can be a very difficult task!

Room Tip: Room with a view over the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA12ATHENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#10 of 31 in Opatija
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kapetanovic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kapetanovic

Property: Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Address: Nova Cesta 12A, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Kapetanovic 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Kapetanovic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing