We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Viareggio, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most friendly”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We visited the hotel last week it is a small family hotel with friendly people. The rooms are a bit old and not excellent I should say average. But the breakfast is exellent and the dinner as well, and best location in Opatija!
So we had a nice holiday over there !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    21
    18
    25
See reviews for
19
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Payed 75 euros for one night in this hotel that wasn't even worth 40 euros a night. I fell in love with the pictures on the booking site, but these pictures look nothing like the real condition of this hotel. Every piece of this hotel needs renovation, urgently. We could see electrical wires trough the ceiling while standing in the shower! The only pro is the lovely see view.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Inge-Vk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Opatija hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

So I have to bias regarding this stay, since I spent 20 years of my life in Opatija. I have seen "Grand" hotel Belveder almost everyday, but never from inside. Now, for ones that do not know, this hotel was built in 1900 and not a lot of things have changed in long, long, long time. Including the staff; that is Old, Rude and completely not interested in their guests. I guess they are aware of the hotel's condition and they cannot believe they are actually selling it??!!
Hotel needs full top to bottom renovation. Holes in a wall are just "normal". NO A/C!!!! If you are there in summer this is a "no no". It was 80F at night and sleeping in those conditions is almost impossible. No TV in rooms. Amenities in rooms - oh sorry - What amenities???
Now, few good things.
Location. Very close to Trznica or Opatijski Mul (Harbour or Port). It is right on the beach. Although the beach needs some upgrades. Also, right next to Franz Josef "Lungomare". Walkway that goes from Volosko to Lovran. Very Very Beautiful!
Parking - it seams that there is plenty parking spots.
So.... Sad that I have to write this bad review. Hopefully someone will buy this gem and create beautiful boutique hotel. SO much potential!!!!

Room Tip: Sad to say but except location there is no reason to recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liparus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the main building with a room with sea view. As other reviewers have noted this is a hotel whose facilities are in something of a time-warp. The room was big and quite comfortable and although the temperature was in the 30sC it was not massively uncomfortable even without air-con. No tv in room, wi-fi in reception rooms only but still with a certain charm.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and for a price of around £54 for the room and breakfast represents value for money. Not bad!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Ever wondered how people lived with no basic commodities such as TV or air-con? Here´s your chance to find out. Make sure to bring thick book to entertain yourself. If you don´t have mosquito repellent, you might look defected the morning after.

On the bright side, the hotel has great position, polite staff and quite spacious rooms. Even the breakfast is satisfying enough. The interior is totally outdated. It might pass as shabby chic in the 80s, now it just looks sad and depressive. Funny detail: a glass of red wine in the bar served on a coffee cup. I´d rather stay with Flinstones than go back to Belvedere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pero305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, NH
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Belvedere in 1971 when Ferraris were in the parking lot and the clientele dressed for dinner. The hotel has not kept up with the times and is no longer grand, but it still has much to offer for a most reasonable price. We stayed in a corner room with a terrace that overlooked the Adriatic --- we were able to watch the sunrise from the terrace. The room was clean, beds comfortable and the breeze from our two windows was lovely. We especially enjoyed breakfast on the hotel terrace and swimming in the Adriatic. Also, the promenade goes right along the hotel, so you can take a traffic free walk into town or to Volusko, a little fishing village. We were not charged for parking and there were no hidden fees at check out.

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must --- preferably a corner room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xcskierNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Beautiful sea-view from hotel terrace, we simply enjoyed! Our small group was staying in Depandance Belvedere for 5 nights in August 2010. True, old furniture and no air condition - but we knew it in advance and accepted this together with low price. Were surprised because we didn't expect such delicious and tasty meals with enough variety, also for non-vegetarians. Their extraordinary friendly cook was present at (rich) buffet dinner, communicating with guests and even made for us vegetarian pizza - and we didn't even asked for it. All staff - from receptionists to the cleaning ladies - very friendly and helpful. Considering this is a budget hotel (would need renovation, but in this case prices would raise a lot), all our compliments for the excellent service!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Circledancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
1.3 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
0.9 mi away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#30 of 31 in Opatija
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 31 in Opatija
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galeb
Hotel Galeb
#21 of 31 in Opatija
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Remisens Hotel Palace Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere

Property: Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere
Address: Ive Kaline 7, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a historic property, Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere (2*) Opatija is situated in a quiet part of the city on the Adriatic Sea. Built in the Art Nouveau style, the hotel has 95 rooms in two buildings, which are surrounded by a lush, green park. This hotel offers excellent service and amenities, including a private beach, a seafront terrace, an indoor swimming pool with heated seawater and easy access to the seafront promenade Lungomare. Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere on the Adriatic, combines beautifully-landscaped grounds and stunning seaviews, making the hotel an ideal site to have the wedding of your dreams in Croatia. The hotel's restaurant serves a variety of delicious dishes with traditional Croatian and Mediterranean flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing