We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sadly will not return”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Very run down old hotel. Great location and nice staff. Thank you Lydia for your assistance. Wifi only in lobby. If you arrive late at night be prepared to be scared! Little lighting in hallway. No airconditioning. Service at bar and resturant slow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jak101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    21
    18
    25
See reviews for
19
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kjellerup, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel is not new, but who cares when you feel at home right away. We arrived 3 hours before checkin, and was greeted with the invitation to use the shovers and pool to refrech and use the facilities of the hotel. Great after 25 hours in a train and temperatures over 30 c.
The staff was great, smiling, competent and always helpfull.
With is location right at the Water, with its own beech it is ideal for relaxation .
PS. Great food, always something for all tastes.

Room Tip: get a room with sea wiev.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We revisited Opatija again having stayed at the Belvedere 12 months ago. This time we stayed in the annex which has no direct view of the sea. The week we stayed in August was reported to be one of the hottest weeks in the last 10 years with temperatures in the upper 30s C. Well this hotel has no air conditioning in any of the rooms so you really feel the heat.We had brought our own fan and left it on all night which made it bearable but without it we would have baked.
The rooms are all big with high roofs which does help. Only one electric socket in a twin room is unusual.
The best part of this hotel is of course the tariff and the food. As previous reviewers have mentioned the Breakfast is exceptional. Serve yourself what you want and the view from the restaurant is without equal. The dinner includes several choices (again serve yourself) including vegetarian options. Amazingly it includes as much drink as you want and this includes wine and beer. You get what you pay for but at the Belvedere you get more than what you pay for!
Still recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I must say for the price you pay, you get a very nice hotel with breathtaking location! The staff is very friendly and the food is very good! The manager of the hotel is very friendly also and everyday i stayed there he always say hello and ask if I need something. You won't get that everywhere. The hotel beach is beautiful, it is clean. One little objection is that there are no air condition in the room. But inspite of that, I had a beautiful vacation! Love Opatija!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Only bad thing I can think at all is no air condition so it's very hot in room during summer, and no TV.. breakfast is so good and so rich.. dreamy.. hotel has her own beach.. walk to center is near sea and 15-minutes far.. Opatija is so beautiful.. staff in hotel and people in all town n is very kind and friendly..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivana1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We travelled by motorbike parked right outside the front of the hotel no parking fee, very nice staff thought the half board option was good value especially free wine and beer. We loved our room 115 - 15ft balcony sea view great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viareggio, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We visited the hotel last week it is a small family hotel with friendly people. The rooms are a bit old and not excellent I should say average. But the breakfast is exellent and the dinner as well, and best location in Opatija!
So we had a nice holiday over there !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
1.3 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
0.9 mi away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#29 of 31 in Opatija
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galeb
Hotel Galeb
#21 of 31 in Opatija
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 31 in Opatija
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agava
Hotel Agava
#13 of 31 in Opatija
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere

Property: Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere
Address: Ive Kaline 7, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Opatija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a historic property, Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere (2*) Opatija is situated in a quiet part of the city on the Adriatic Sea. Built in the Art Nouveau style, the hotel has 95 rooms in two buildings, which are surrounded by a lush, green park. This hotel offers excellent service and amenities, including a private beach, a seafront terrace, an indoor swimming pool with heated seawater and easy access to the seafront promenade Lungomare. Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere on the Adriatic, combines beautifully-landscaped grounds and stunning seaviews, making the hotel an ideal site to have the wedding of your dreams in Croatia. The hotel's restaurant serves a variety of delicious dishes with traditional Croatian and Mediterranean flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing