We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice little hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Rijeka

Art Rijeka
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art Rijeka
Ranked #6 of 15 Rijeka B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice little hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

big room, friendly staff available all night
hard to find, not next to the train station, small showers and really small toilets, bathroom not really clean, pissoir next to the sink, hostel bookers fee was charged for the second time at check out

Room Tip: use the big bathroom (next to the kitchen), the other showers and toilets are so narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hostel wasn't far from the centre of Rijeka or the train station, around 10 minutes away. The staff were very friendly and helpful by letting us know places to eat/drink and how to get to the beach. In terms of the beach, its around 20 minutes away on a bus from the centre of Rijeka. The room was of a decent size and lockers can be used, which is helpful because you can't lock your room (due to some legislations at the hostel) so you don't get given a key. This isn't too much of a problem because there's always someone on reception so they let you into the main entrance whenever you come back to the hostel. There isn't a large range of hostels to choose from in Rijeka so this was cheap and a good location. The only downside is the bathroom which was very small, although the showers were ok in size.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r_obrien91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The guys that run this hostel are sooo helpful, friendly and really made us feel comfortable. They spent a lot of time telling us good places to eat and how to get to the beach (its a bus ride away).

The dorms are bright, big and cheerful, and the beds are comfy.

The bathroom however really lets it down, the toilet and shower cubicles are teeny weeny and there are no locks on the doors. There is however one larger toilet/shower room so I would recommend using that instead of the main bathroom.

The hostel has a communal TV which you can reserve and also free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was our first port of call in Croatia, port being the operative word as that is what Rijeka is. The directions given by the hostel were excellent, making a windy walk really quite straightforward. Once there you are guided down to the dungeon in a dodgy looking street where the hostel is located. Inside the decor is tacky and cheap. The service was shambolic but really nice. The girl was a bit ditzy but likeable. We had to share a room with a Romanian couple who had already taken the bottom two beds so we got the top 2. Seemed a bit odd. The beds weren't very comfortable.

My main issue is that this cost us £20 each - £40 total. In comparison, we found superb digs in nicer places in Croatia for £50 - such as a huge apartment overlooking the square in Zadar. The value of opting for such hostels seems a bit lost on me.

There are lockers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShieldsWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rijeka hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hostel wasn't too bad. I stayed for one night in a 4 bed dorm, unfortunately the only other people in the room were a couple who spend the whole time ignoring the fact someone else was there and making out and giggling together. That aside, the room/bed was ok, there was a desk and chair (overtaken by aforementioned couple), no air conditioning so a bit warm. The kitchen had everything I needed except a microwave. The bathrooms weren't great, there is one private toilet/shower and one shared toilet/shower room, most of the time the more private one was available. There were some movies & a playstation if you wanted a quiet night in (not a lot happens in Rijeka from what I could see!), lockers available in the lounge. The guy on reception was lovely, a bit quiet at first but happy to answer any questions I had, then warmed up and had some good chats with him. The location is ok, it's probably a 10 minute walk from the main bus station and just a bit further to the main street/shops/supermarket, and the directions I got to the hostel when I booked did the job. Overall not a bad experience but nothing spectacular either.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rijeka hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Botel Marina
Botel Marina
#1 of 15 in Rijeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fun Hostel
Fun Hostel
#9 of 30 in Rijeka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Happy Hostel and Apartments
0.8 mi away
Central Rooms Demetrova
Central Rooms Demetrova
#2 of 15 in Rijeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Rijeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Rijeka

Property: Art Rijeka
Address: Senjskih Uskoka 1, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Art Rijeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing