We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard for a low price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High standard for a low price.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Thi hotel is located in the central area of Rijeka.I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013.Room was big with just everything you might need.Clean and with good aircondition. The Free wifi worked perfectly.Breakfast was perfect with lots of food and beverages to choose from. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastornkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    86
    49
    12
    1
See reviews for
25
55
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
380 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The best thing about the hotel is the location in center of town. Also staff gave good recomendation for local non-touristy recommendation which was 10 minutes away by taxi which sort of negated location benefits. They said nearby restaurants didn't have as fresh local fish.

Rooms were fine as was breakfast.

Big problem I had was with Internet and I have started marking large business hotels down a category if Internet was not acceptable.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I absolutely hated this hotel. I had stayed here a few years prior, and it was excellent. Not sure what happened. The lights outside don't work, the reception had one man who had to do practically everything for us. The elevators have a strange smell, and are deathly hot compared to the lobby and hallways. The bathroom was awful. I'm quite used to average soaps and shampoos given at hotels, but these were beyond awful. I had to go buy my own. The soap is powdery and useless. The shower door leaks water all over the floor if water happens to run down it. The tub is slightly clogged as well. There is no exhaust, and the flush doesn't work too well. There is no robe or complimentary slippers. The room also has no kettle or iron. The fridge door was broken, and it nearly came off all the way. The cooling was despicable. We were still sweating despite it being on the lowest temperature. The rug looks dirty and gross. The television remote control doesn't work even at the best of times. The beds are average. We asked for two empty mugs and the room service charge was 30 kn. Unbelievable. The only redeemable quality about this hotel is the location and the friendly staff. For how much the rooms cost, I expected a great deal more. I'm not sure how a hotel that used to be extremely amazing turned to this. I recommend Hotel Jadran instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A very metropolitan hotel in the very heart of town, although the decor was very antique and old fashioned (a positive thing). The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive, and the price is acceptable for this level of service, as well as the location of the hotel itself. The sweets in the cake shop are very, very good, and to sit on the terrace at night is a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel is right in the center of town, right near the bus station and all the walking streets. We loved that part of it, as well as the good service we got. Rooms are just okay and it's questionable whether they're worth paying $165 for, as I did, though there are few alternatives.

But what really got me was dinner. My wife ordered the first fish selection, as well as a soup. They charged her for the fish, and separately for the few vegetables that they had added to decorate the plate. They added a cover charge, which she also had not expected. By the time they got done, her $20 meal was $30!

So, though the service was excellent, I'd pass. Lots of nice restaurants in the area where you can eat well for far less.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is not overlooking the big stairs on the right side of the hotel. The clerk told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Well Rijeka is not a tourist location and the hotel offers a great deal in this perspective. Very very nice hotel and spend time there if there is something you have to do in Rijeka. Nice service great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JurijKobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Very decent hotel in the very center of the city with a very long tradition!
Renovated recently, rooms are spaceous and furnished elegantly, bathrooms are quite big and extremelly clean, atmosphere is very cozy and staff very co-operative and friendly. The breakfast could be more generous and spa could be slightly bigger and better equiped.
But overall very good experience and I can higly recomend it for short vacations.

Room Tip: Always ask for the corner room, those are bigger with much better view! And higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
242 reviews
6.4 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
5.9 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonavia

Property: Grand Hotel Bonavia
Address: Dolac 4, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonavia 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing