We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful if you are a foreigner !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Spent a night at the hotel but had registered my home address with the police as is the law in Croatia if you are a tourist. The rooms are tired but the buffet for breakfast is good. On reporting to the police again the hotel had reported me and I was told I needed to report again to them after staying at the hotel and was fined 500HRK for being an illigal immigrant !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristanageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Bonavia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The airconditioning wasnt cooling sufficiently.
there was no coffee/tea maker in the room.
housekeeping staff was good,efficient and polite.
most hotels place a fruit basket in the room on arrival but there was no such thing in Bonavia.
when i stayed here a few years ago the rooms were bigger and there was a platter of fruit and cookies in the room but this time nothing !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeba s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice and charming hotel , proud of its 130 years of existence. Extremely clean, albeit a bit oldfashioned, very well maintained, very friendly staff.
A hot water cattle and some coffe and tea could be added though...
Still, the minibar is very much ok
They could "touch" the rooms a bit too but I suppose they just want to preserve the history spirit ...
Overall impression is very good.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svet-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Thi hotel is located in the central area of Rijeka.I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013.Room was big with just everything you might need.Clean and with good aircondition. The Free wifi worked perfectly.Breakfast was perfect with lots of food and beverages to choose from. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastornkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the location in center of town. Also staff gave good recomendation for local non-touristy recommendation which was 10 minutes away by taxi which sort of negated location benefits. They said nearby restaurants didn't have as fresh local fish.

Rooms were fine as was breakfast.

Big problem I had was with Internet and I have started marking large business hotels down a category if Internet was not acceptable.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I absolutely hated this hotel. I had stayed here a few years prior, and it was excellent. Not sure what happened. The lights outside don't work, the reception had one man who had to do practically everything for us. The elevators have a strange smell, and are deathly hot compared to the lobby and hallways. The bathroom was awful. I'm quite used to average soaps and shampoos given at hotels, but these were beyond awful. I had to go buy my own. The soap is powdery and useless. The shower door leaks water all over the floor if water happens to run down it. The tub is slightly clogged as well. There is no exhaust, and the flush doesn't work too well. There is no robe or complimentary slippers. The room also has no kettle or iron. The fridge door was broken, and it nearly came off all the way. The cooling was despicable. We were still sweating despite it being on the lowest temperature. The rug looks dirty and gross. The television remote control doesn't work even at the best of times. The beds are average. We asked for two empty mugs and the room service charge was 30 kn. Unbelievable. The only redeemable quality about this hotel is the location and the friendly staff. For how much the rooms cost, I expected a great deal more. I'm not sure how a hotel that used to be extremely amazing turned to this. I recommend Hotel Jadran instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A very metropolitan hotel in the very heart of town, although the decor was very antique and old fashioned (a positive thing). The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive, and the price is acceptable for this level of service, as well as the location of the hotel itself. The sweets in the cake shop are very, very good, and to sit on the terrace at night is a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
188 reviews
6.4 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
6.4 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonavia

Address: Dolac 4, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rijeka
Price Range: £102 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonavia 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rijeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing