We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading information but good location”
Review of Hostel Aston

Hostel Aston
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Aston
Ranked #19 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Rijeka
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Misleading information but good location”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had the private double room, called the "deluxe double", but it was very outdated and badly worn. The bed was dreadful, and the TV was hanging off a chain on the wall, and the electricity sockets sparked and looked dangerous. Everything felt really shoddy and is in a real need of a tidy up. However, everything was really clean. We originally booked when it was named Hostel Accardi, and then received an email 2 months before, informing us of the name change. Obviously in the meantime the kitchen disappeared as well, because we booked it because it had one, but were immediately told that there wasn't one. The young girl at the desk was really nice and helpful, and it was in a great location (literally nextdoor to bus station) for our 1 night stop for an early bus the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holdenbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    5
    9
    4
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Basic hostel and good to stay if you don't expect luxury. It's 1 minute of the buss-station and nearby the centre of Rijeka. The rooms, bathroom and toilet were very clean! The blankets had a good smell, the mattress is a little bit soft. We didn't received towels or a welcomedrink.. and we have not seen the kitchen. The only thing we missed in this hostel was a 'room' or an meeting-place/seats to talk. Because we stayed in a dormroom and in the evening there were always other people sleeping (also at 9pm!), so we always had to whisper.. On the outside of the dorm room hangs an gigantic billboard with spots on. So or room was always in light.. no problem for me and handy to get up without putting lights on.

The very young 'manager' is very helpful! The airco was a little bit to cold, so she offered us extra blankets. The restaurant she recommend was also very great and cheap. She is always ready to help! If you stay in this hostel, you get a key, so you can enter any hour! It's a save place.. good if you visit a lot and only have this place to sleep. If you don't expect much, you will have a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenvandelaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hostel in an old building with no elevator, but immediately at the bus station and the room was very clean. Nightclub is only a few meters away.
Receptionist was helpful when we arrived, showed us a map of the city on grd and recommended places where the good to come out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannKles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukv
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

there was no air con in private room and the bed gave way. had to move to dorm and beds were terrible. the hostel is up loads of stairs which is hard going with a heavy bag. shower was not very clean. was not a good stay and would not recommend, overpriced.

only positive is the young girl working there is helpful and cant get closer to bus station for an early bus.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigLou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rijeka hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rijeka hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonavia
Grand Hotel Bonavia
#2 of 4 in Rijeka
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Botel Marina
Botel Marina
#1 of 18 in Rijeka
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lounge Hostel Carnevale
Lounge Hostel Carnevale
#2 of 32 in Rijeka
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Rijeka
Hostel Rijeka
#9 of 32 in Rijeka
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Aston

Property: Hostel Aston
Address: Zhabica 5, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Rijeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing