We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best city center meat restaurant”
Review of Gardens Restaurant

Gardens Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 151 Restaurants in Rijeka
Cuisines: Barbecue, Croatian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best city center meat restaurant”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

if you like meat dishes, this is the place for you. they serve fish too, but would not recomend it, except calamari, (it s not bad, but the meat is always so good there is no point of waisting time on average fish). they also have daily offers that can be really cheap, like soup, main dish and dessert for 5 eur. it is the type of restaurant I really miss in other euoropean countries. the portions are quite big. if you are a true meat person and think you are really hungry, try t o finish argetina steak all by yourself. goodluck!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    72
    43
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

The place is pretty big. Kinda has a feel of Olive Garden, but a little better. Staff was quite nice. I only speak english which was not a problem. There is wireless thru the free town wifi, but they don't have their own, which was not as idea since I was alone and love the Internet. I had the tuna it was slightly over cooked. It was good not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in city centre”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Gardens restaurant offers great food for very good prices. The ambient is nice and cozy, the staff is excellent. Location is really good because it is in the centre of Rijeka, near to the bus station and car park.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complete disaster”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

So what to say about Gardens, after a lot of fuss around town we decided to visit and were sorry that we did so.The portions were huge but the quality was way off so if you`re really hungry and don`t care what you`re eating I would recommend this restaurant. Well on the other hand maybe not, the service was a complete disaster.Yes the terrace was full but the behaviour of the waiters was unbearable but as we allready ordered we stayed. So, the day was windy and at one moment at a table next to us the table cloth blew off to the floor and we looked at it for about 10-15 minutes. The staff passed over it for about 5 times not noticing it, eventually after some time a guest picked it up and gave it to the waiter who put it back on the table!!! This was when the terrace was full of customers, I don`t want to even think what they are doing when the guests are not around. The staff was pleasant only at the time they brought the check that was the only smile we got in the whole evening, I really wouldn`t recommend anyone this restaurant for the same money you can eat better within the same price range without pompose staff and so much fuss of something that mediocrate.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolektivac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Croatian cuisine”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Very large portions. Very reasonable prices (especially the fantastic house red @7kn per glass). Friendly staff. Central location. Go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kobe_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gardens Restaurant also viewed

Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing