We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure, Clean and Friendly”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Dili
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights and was very impressed after staying at other locations previously.

The room is nicely decorated and feels like it is new with quality fixtures and fitting.

Location is perfect for restaurants, waterfront, bank and other amenities.

You feel very safe and secure in the complex.

Staff are friendly and smiling.

I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natty131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel in the heart of downtown Dili (not to be confused with the Timor Plaza Hotel and apartments, which is a new hotel being built in a brand new shopping mall complex on the outer edge of downtown). I was initially very confused by the reviews on Trip Advisor, and the comments about this being the best place to stay in Dili but so expensive, etc…..This is clearly referring to the new wing of the hotel, which has new expensive rooms. The hotel has an old wing (with standard rooms at about $80 per night, and full apartments for somewhat more) and a new wing (with apparently much nicer rooms, at around $150 per night), and next to the new wing rooms is a small restaurant where breakfast and other meals can be had. I stayed in the old wing in a standard room, which was basic but ok, with AC in the bedroom, internet (working most of the time), a fridge and table. The bathroom was old and needed upgrading, starting with a new (and longer!) shower curtain for the shower stall (the curtain looked ancient and mildewed, and hung only half way to the floor, meaning the whole bathroom flooded with each shower). The bathroom made the place look like a dump. The layout was not great for me, as the outer room (just inside the front door) had a table, chairs, fridge and tea kettle but no AC, and only a small window overlooking the parking lot making it an unpleasant place to sit; and the bedroom was very small, with a tiny desk space, TV, AC, closet, and double bed filling all the floor space (you regularly smash you knee into the corner of the bed, it’s so tight). So this was also not a great place to work or sit, or do anything but sleep (though with the heat, you want to spend all your time in this one room with AC). The bedroom window overlooked the back yard area (laundry lines and construction mess, basically) and the construction site next door. There was a balcony off the bedroom, but it was a mess and overlooked the ugly broken down wall and construction mess next door, so was not a place to sit at all. The only common/sitting area for the hotel is a small pavilion right in the middle of the parking lot, which is not appealing. I did see two different apartment rooms, and these are much nicer than the standard room, in that, although they are basic and rough around the edges, there is good sitting/working space, in addition to the larger bedroom and full kitchen area. Next time I would try to get one of these rooms instead. The location (on one of the main cross streets in town, only 2 blocks in from the beach road) is great for the ATM machine (one of the only ones in town), shops, little restaurants, and walking around town and along the waterfront. With some minor improvements to clean up and modernize the bathrooms (especially), this could be a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Look at apartment options in old wing for possible best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is my first time in Timor Leste but I was surprised that I can stay in such a good hotel same as in our country, Our company arranged everything for me and Im so thankfull that they choosen Plaza Hotel for me. My business trip was a success.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is definitely one the the most comfortable hotels in Dili. Rooms are big, new, and clean. The beds are firm and of good quality. Bathrooms are well constructed with a rain shower, and there is good water pressure. Service quality at the hotel is good. However, the cost per night is just too high, even if it is Dili.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

It is such a joy to stay in this Hotel, it is so comfortable, quite, secure and such a good location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarwinDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

i stayed in a room with kitchen... which was great.

Do not judge the place by the reception which is somewhat shabby...rooms are clean with lovely beds, bali style... Staff very friendly in particular Elaine...place to sit out in evenings... limited food in the hotel itself but is close to many other good restaurants. recommend

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank culturallattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Plaza Hotel is located at a nice place very near to important places. There is a free parking lot at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We booked a suite and it accommodated our family well. The beds were large enough and clean. We had a nice sleep at nights. The food is good. There are also some good restaurants at the vicinity of this hotel. You get access to high speed internet too. The service provided at this hotel is good. It is highly affordable to stay at this place. The hotel provides good value for your money. We would certainly opt staying at Plaza hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank emily_sweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dili hotels
2.9 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 20 in Dili
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 20 in Dili
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Timor
Hotel Timor
#4 of 20 in Dili
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#9 of 20 in Dili
34 reviews
3.7 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#15 of 20 in Dili
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Rua Jose Maria Marques, Dili, East Timor
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Dili
Price Range: £59 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing