We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diya Restaurant

Diya Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Dili
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Israel
Level Contributor
157 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Diya is hidden away inside and to the rear of the Discovery Inn Hotel in Dili. It is nicely decorated with all the trappings and table settings of a fine European restaurant. The atmosphere is calm and quiet and the good ac system keeps out the heat and humidity of the city. Service is polite and attentive.
Above all the food is very good and more. The menu offers a nicely varied combination of starters and entrees mostly from South Asia and Europe. The ones I tried were delightfully tasty and beautifully presented. I had only one desert and was not enamored.
A very nice touch is the free glass of house wine offered to anyone ordering two courses.
Prices are higher than those found in other restaurants in town, but this is understandable in view of the level of cuisine and supply difficulties in Timor.
I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. It is one of a kind in Dili and anyone passing through the city should try it at least once.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear wolfman50,

Thank you kindly for reviewing your recent meal at Diya Restaurant. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us and hope that you will be back again on your next trip to East Timor.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Located in back part of Discovery Inn, Diya has really good food, well presented in a nice setting. Best described as Asian fusion. We had chicken curry and baked ginger fish. Locals have rec it too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Frances J,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Diya Restaurant and your glowing review. We hope that the chicken curry and baked ginger fish was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back at Diya Restaurant in the near future.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili, East Timor
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Linen clothes and silver service @ reasonable prices. Best place for Western Food in Dili. Local wait staff attentive and pleasant. My favourite special occasion place in Dili.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 909Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear 909Anne,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Diya Restaurant at Discovery Inn and allowing us to be a part of your special occasions. We look forward to welcoming you back, whether it be for a special occasion or a casual meal. Thank you for your ongoing patronage.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining Dili style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Dinner at Diya was the perfect ending to our 10-day stay in Dili. Diya offers the complete package: the food is tasty and nicely presented, the service is attentive, and the dining room is airconditioned and decorated to a good standard. We didn't find the prices unreasonable, all things considered. The South Indian fish curry was the best I'd tasted in a long, long time. I would happily dine here again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EandELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear EandELondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent dining experience at Diya Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Indian cuisine that we have on our menu, and the service and ambience you encountered. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

It would be hard to know this Restaurant existed. It's at the back of the Discovery Inn, itself just a door in the street. I happened to be staying there (my second trip to Dili) and struck up a conversation with a fellow guest in the hotel car on the way from the airport. She had been to Dili several times and told me that it was probably the best restaurant in Dili. I didn't believe her but she may be right. I've given it 5 stars because by Dili standards I think that is quite accurate, though of course if it existed in a city better known for its culinary skill it would rate only 4. I had 4 meals there during my 6 night stay. All were from the South Asian chapter of the menu. They were excellent - flavoursome and aromatic. I was especially fond of the two fish curries. The mains courses are about $18. By Dili standards this is costly but then its not one of the plastic table and chair restaurants that are Dili's usual offering. The service is good and the atmosphere is quite formal (unless you have your meal upstairs on the "deck").

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJEN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear AJEN70,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visits to Diya Restaurant. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us and hope that you will be back again on your next trip to East Timor.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diya Restaurant also viewed

Dili, Dili District
Dili, Dili District
 
Dili, Dili District
 
Dili, Dili District
 

Been to Diya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing