We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Spot in Dili” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Dili B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kyneton, Australia
2 reviews
“Top Spot in Dili”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great place, opposite the best beach in Dili. Clean, well appointed rooms. Bruce and Kathy are wonderful hosts and staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the beach or a stubby of BinTan on the veranda, its all good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raaa501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
20
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yarrawonga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Beachside Hotel owners Kathy & Bruce go out of their way to make sure that guests feel at home. Rooms are spotless and spacious, water hot and comfortable beds. Food is wonderful and drinks cold. Breakfast (included) is served on the verandah or on the beach. The girls who work there are also very helpful and eager to get any request. I would definitely go back as do many who return to Dili.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 651jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyneton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have stayed in East Timor several times and now will only EVER stay at the Beach Side Hotel. The position is beautiful, the staff friendly, the rooms spotless and Bruce and Kathy are the best hosts you can imagine. Nothing is too much trouble, their advise is always spot on and it has been an absolute pleasure to enjoy their company over a drink while watching the amazing sunset.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful 6 days at beachside in March this year.
It is located in a beautiful peaceful part of the island about 20 minutes from the center of Dili, opposite the beach.
The breakfasts were amazing , fresh and varied and carried to the beach for us. Bruce and kathy who own the place were delightful... both very kind, knowledgeable and aways trying to help.
Kathy is an excellent cook and makes fresh bread and healthy cakes daily and makes her own yoghurt.
I would highly recommend this place to stay. It was very clean, safe and accomodating in so many ways. We would definitly go back.

Room Tip: I recommend the room on the ground floor, opposite the beach on the ground floor, as it has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaglobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

It took 30 minutes for a menu to be delivered to my table. I can't comment on the food because I left when it hadn't been delivered after another 30 minutes. I wouldn't bother driving all the way out there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank curranp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely fantastic! Its clean, cozy and by all means up to western standars. We stayed here in october with 8 ppl, and we had 2 rooms (4/5ppl). Kathy and bruce are the best hosts i have ever had, they are super friendly and very helpful with everything!

Food is good and healthy, nothing deepfried.

If you have the chance i recommend to have a few beers with bruce and kathy and chat, they are great company and very considering towards the guests (the bar nearby had some kind of charitydinner/evening and they told us right away to join them in this event). Nice add in a place you dont have much to do except lay in the beach and enjoy great weather!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adextrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I recently returned from East Timor and the Beachside Hotel is a true delight. The location is on the beautiful Areia Branca Beach, a few miles outside of central Dili. This is a plus and a minus. The area is much nicer and cleaner than downtown but you are much farther from the stores, restaurants, and activities in Dili. It is easiest if you have your own transport although there are several good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Bruce and Kathy, the owners, are exceptional and truly go out of their way to make you feel at home. I felt like a member of the family while I was there. They have done a great job training the staff in the finer points of customer service but, this is still East Timor, after all, and there are still a few challenges. All in all, you will find the service here superior to elsewhere in Dili.

The rooms at the hotel are just wonderful. They are of a good size and you won't feel cramped. There is a refrigerator that is quite good size and you can keep plenty of food and beverages in there. The electricity is very reliable. I was there at the end of the dry season when it was brutally hot. The air con worked faithfully throughout and never went out. The water is also reliable and there was no time when the water went out, either. No amenities are provided in the bathroom so you'll want to be sure to bring your own shampoo, lotion, etc. I also had brought my own soap for which I was grateful. The small soaps provided (they are locally made) are not large enough to wash your big toe so be forewarned. The TVs are new flat screens and there are 60 channels on offer on the cable. And yes, you will spend more time in your room than you think, because the intense heat will get to you and you will be looking for respite. The rooms are kept immaculately clean by the housekeeping staff.

The food at the hotel was nothing short of fantastic. The breakfast that is included with the room rate is wholesome and filling. You can also order a la carte at an extra charge if you want something different for a change. Be forewarned that the restaurant is a favorite with locals and expats and is especially crowded on the weekend. Food service is painfully slow during these times so make sure you aren't on the verge of starvation when you show up for your meal. Getting anything on a "special order" was a particular challenge but I started writing down what I wanted and that seemed to help. I was able to get exactly what I requested.

All in all, with only minor glitches as mentioned above, The Beachside is a great small hotel and a marvelous choice for any traveler heading to Dili.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinneret01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dili hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#1 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.2 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in Dili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#6 of 21 in Dili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Timor
Hotel Timor
#5 of 21 in Dili
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Hotel

Property: Beachside Hotel
Address: Metiaut, Dili, East Timor
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Dili
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing