We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option”
Review of Gino's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gino's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Good beachfront road location. Somewhat haphazard arrangement of buildings and rooms.

Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. This hotel is basic for Australian standards but very good value. Lots of restaurants in the street parallel back into the city. And there is a narrow path just to the left of the hotel that gets you there quicker than walking around by road. Perfectly pleasant and helpful staff. Good wifi, free of course which is such a pleasant change from Australian hotels. How date they charge for Wifi! Certainly recommended as a lower cost option, for a couple of days while in Dili.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have stayed here a few times over the years. I like it. The rooms are well presented, well equipped and quiet. And you can work in the rooms for extended periods too.

The breakfast is served under a canvas and it is a little disappointing if you are used to US or European standards, yet after a few weeks in the hotel breakfast becomes a welcome meal.

If you're working for the World Bank then this hotel is very close to the office.

Being on the sea side it is easy to find, even after a few beers in the nearby bar/restaurant.

I was hoping to be back in Dili in Q3, but this now seems unlikely. To whomever does the work I was bidding for, then I suggest that they consider this hotel before making a firm booking

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Hotel Dili is in a good location near to the centre which is small enough to walk around in an hour or so. Staff are helpful and friendly and hotel is safe with 24 hour security (peace of mind to keep my motorcycle safe). They have a selection of rooms from budget price levels abd above, and a good included breakfast. The other food on the menu wasn't too tasty though and better restaurants are located elsewhere. Resistance Museum is a short walk away as is the Xanana Reading Room. The beach is opposite across the road and nice for jogging on, but better beaches are located further east towards the Cristo Rei (Jesus statue) which is worth a climb.

Room Tip: Budget rooms were good option for travelers and worth a few dollars more than the backpackers I thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

What can I say ... down to earth great little hotel right on the beach.... Very nice small hotel. The rooms are comfortable and almost " homelike" ... The furniture is a mix of old retro style, clean in good condition and the bed was a very comfortable queen sized one. The bathroom was clean, the towels were fresh and the air con and ceiling fan all great. There was a small veranda sitting area out the front with a nice table and chairs. Great bar and great restaurant, the food was cheap, tasty and freshly prepared. The breakfast was a buffet continental style one ( cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, juices and spreads) but cooked american was available for extra cost. The staff are awesome , very helpful and friendly and willing to help with whatever you need, I needed to pick some things up from central bank, and I needed security to take me for safety , this was no issue to them. Security honestly is no issue, there is a good strong gate and fence around the hotel, that is locked at night until about 7 am the next morning. The room has a lock, and there is a safe at the reception area, we went on a tour we left our passports in their safe with issues. The hotel is well placed for tourists, it is a short taxi ride to the Timor Plaza, and walking distance to some nice restaurants. We will stay here again when we next come back to Timor-Leste.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hotel Dili is a great place to stay when in Dili, Timor Leste. Staff are very friendly. It is a safe and comfortable hotel. Close to shops, Xanana's Reading Room, 'One more Bar' , ANZ bank, markets and opposite the Dili Harbour and Lecidere waterfront.

Room Tip: A Seaview Room is my favourite. All rooms are on ground level and are private. Security staff are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I like the layout of the place and there's some nice plants around. The room is OK by the standards of small hotels in SE Asia; it's comfortable, but the decor is a bit shabby, fridge, desk, telly etc all good, but at 70 USD per night it's very poor value. The internet works OK, (given East Timor's recent past its' great that they have it at all!), and some of the staff are fine. But the food is a bit basic (think motorway cafe if you're over 40 and from the UK); yes, you can live on it but there are far more interesting things elsewhere for much less money and with a much more cheerful service. The beach is only a short stride away.
If it cost about 35 USD per night, I'd be happy, but it's very poor value for money as it is.

Room Tip: Eat somwhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I booked a Seaview Room for one night. This was my first time to Dili and my expectations were pretty low. The room was clean and comfortable. There was no "seaview" however. The front windows are bricked over with decorative bricks that make kind of a lattice work that still allows light into the front enclosed porch area (living room/office?). Even though the hotel is on the ocean front the fence and plants make it so you can't see the ocean. The Hotel is a hodgepodge of buildings and not well laid out. Breakfast was good and dinner at their restaurant was fine. I put a premium on clean and it was clean enough for me. I did not take my family with me to Dili because I was worried about the conditions, this Hotel would have been fine for them, but in no way luxurious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_and_FamilyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dili hotels
2.8 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 19 in Dili
194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 19 in Dili
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#10 of 19 in Dili
18 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#9 of 19 in Dili
34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Excelsior Resort
Excelsior Resort
#11 of 19 in Dili
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gino's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gino's Hotel

Address: 56 Rua Dos Direitos Humanos | Largo de Lecidere, Dili, East Timor (Formerly Hotel Dili)
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Gino's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing