We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, modern, value for money, close to the beach”

Hotel Novo Horizonte
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Novo Horizonte
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Dili
australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“clean, modern, value for money, close to the beach”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has new owners and is being updated. This is my 5th time at this hotel in East Timor and for the cost, I think is value for money in East Timor!!

Clean, modern and new beds!! Freshly painted and everything is new!! Close to town, beach and resturants.
Good aircon, bathrooms much improved. I had the superior updated room and it was great for Dili standard only $80 USD a night!! Free parking, good aircon, fresh modern rooms, I would get the superior room in the top floor!! I would go back again!!

Room Tip: superior room on top floor looking into court yard, it is worth the money $80 USD per night for 2, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank starstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
3
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Rooms are basic (more than great having in mind you are in East-Timor) and the best is for sure the restaurant with great food and location which is half way city centre and half way to the best beach close to Dili Praia areia branca and portuguese on the way to the Cristo Rei! Would recommend. Even if you don't stay, have some tapas on the way to the beach. Staff are friendly after you say bom dia mana (female) bom dia mao (male)!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaPimentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel does not match at all with the website... Friendly service. The 40 USD rooms are dark and poorly ventilated. The 60 USD ones are in the upper floor with the balcony, a little better. Breakfast just ok. Very nice fresh squeeze juices, not included...

Terrible and extra loud karaoke at night, if you get one of these nights, you would wish to be somewhere else.... or deaf.

For a little more, 72 USD (ask for 10% discount) you woud love to stay in Hotel California, just one km ahead. It´s all about money...

Room Tip: upper floor, for a 50% more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatteBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Last week, we had a reservation, 3 rooms for 2 nights. On arrival, they could only supply 2 rooms. Fortunately, the third person in our party was offered accommodation at a friend's home. Room was small, Light blocked by sheets hanging on a clothes line stretching across my window. Great view of hotel staff feet as they hung the laundry. The refrigerator was broken and towels threadbare and dirty.The dining hall was open and airy. Locatiion was across the road from the beach.and there was the wonderful Little Pattaya Restaurant across the road to escape to.Will this hotel survive the exodus of the UN police who live there permanently? Won't be going back on my next trip to Timor. Maria Hicks

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessie291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel N, Manager at Hotel Novo Horizonte, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Replying to the last comments in this webpage, to start the reservation was made thru a travel agency, in fact it was booked only 2 rooms, not 3 as it was mentioned in the post; then it was given a standard room, which is the price that you were willing to pay, these rooms have almost no view at all, and also during this stay, the hotel was full due to a big group coming in.
about dirty towels you must be talking about the foot towels placed at the entrance of the bathrooms, indeed these towels even after washed they remain dark colour as they are supposed to be foot cleaners; until so far never thers never been a complaint, saying that the bath towel are dirty.
In these kind of comments, please be more reasonable, otherway is really a bad judgement of the Hotel.
Next time if you don´t feel comfortable with any issue, try to talk with the manager, he is a very friendly and helpful person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dili hotels

Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The prices were pretty good for food and drinks (eg Australian wine $16 a bottle), but the food was average (the steak was terrible). The music was too loud, and kept being turned up after requests to turn it down. Service was ok, the usual in Dili: "hello, can you put your cell phone away/stop sparing into space and bring some more drinks please?", the smell of sewerage on the eastern side of the upstairs dining area was bad (just above the toilets), the toilets were reasonable by Dili standards, no soap on the day we were there.

I also felt sea-sick: the floor bounces like a rough sea every time someone walks across it, including the tiny Timorese girls.

Nice view across to the beach and the upstairs dining area has a nice ambience, less the issues above.

Typical Dili - hard to find five star food, accommodation or service. Ahhh, the tropics....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaliTaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed in a double 'delux' room, which is a slightly larger room that includes a pleather love seat. The room also comes with a simple desk, wardrobe, tv and mini fridge. But it is all very basic and the sheets and towels - particularly the towels - seem very worn, if not downright dirty. The room does have many windows, however, since they are right on the parking lot, you pretty much need to keep them closed if you want any privacy, which makes the room quite dark and a little depressing. Service is poor - for instance, I had a clogged toilet which I asked to be fixed, and I came back at midnight to find a bathroom floor completely covered in dirty toilet water (and no one around to clean it up). There is a gym adjoining the hotel, but guest do not have access (unless you want to pay $10 per visit). I was quite disappointed with the accommodations and checked out a few other similarly priced options in town, and in comparison Novo Horizonte is about average or a little better. The location is nice in that you can walk to the beach and there are a few restaurants nearby. For any other city, I would rate this terrible to poor, but for Dili, it's on the low average side.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaratou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

For its rate, I cannot complain but the hotel is a like an army barracks and with the UN police staying in the hotel, it sure completes the ambiance, probably one of the safest place to stay in Dili.The hotel offers bed and breakfast, the breakfast is passable, provides you the energy you need to start the day, Nothing fancy, almost the same thing every morning. The bedsheets and towels all have seen better days, suggest you bring a towel and a sheet if you intend to stay and yes, bring earplugs too in case your next door neighbor snores or skypes late at night or early morning. Do not expect service, there isn't any. remember this is an army barracks. One important tip, save all those water bottles and fill it up with tap water, in case water supply is suddenly interrupted while you are taking a shower.
But what saves the day is the location of the hotel.. It is located at the eastern edge of the town center of Dili and along the coast. It is walking distance from the town center and it is a very pleasant walk late in the afternoon with dramatic sunset. Also, in front of the hotel is a row of small quaint restaurants offering a wide range of food, Thai, Vietnamese, Sri Lankan, European, etc. Great place for beer and watching the sunset.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the second floor facing the courtyard, these are more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dili hotels
0.0 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#6 of 21 in Dili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#1 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in Dili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#16 of 21 in Dili
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novo Horizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novo Horizonte

Property: Hotel Novo Horizonte
Address: Area Branca, Meti-Aut East Timor, Dili 12345, East Timor (Formerly Dili 2001 Hotel)
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bought in 2007 by the Wideform Group of Companies, the former Hotel Dili 2001, renamed Novo Horizonte Hotel presents a new image, resulting of the refurbishment which it was subject during last year. Situated in the shoreline, in one of the most privileged areas of Dili, close to the beaches of Areia Branca and Cristo Rei, five minutes from the city center, Novo Horizonte Hotel is a excellent choice for those who like to relax in the end of a busy day at work or doing business’ and for those who simply want to discover and explore the city and, eventually the country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing