We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Dili experience”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Dili experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I travelled for business to Dili. I was received at the airport by a friendly driver who was waiting for me with a cold hand towel and water bottle. Just what I needed at the moment! The hotel had exactly what I needed: clean rooms, comforble bed, hot shower, good food and on top of that excellent internet and daily happy hours. The hotel staff made a big difference. All were helpful, friendly and just made my Dili experience a memorable one.
V. Letelier

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Vero L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us this month.

We are so pleased that the service, rooms, food and amenities were at a high standard and that your stay with us was a comfortable one.

We sincerely hope to see you the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    61
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Discovery Inn hotel is the perfect place to stay in Dili. Although prices are quite high - as they are in general in town - it is very good value for money, particularly if you are visiting for business purposes. Internet is speedy, good quiet terraze to sit and work, and excellent service in all ways. The hotel is also very nicely located - it takes 2 minutes to walk down to the beautiful boardwalk, and there are also other interesting sights close by. I d definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenita_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear helenita_13,

Thank you kindly for reviewing your stay with us last month. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed all facets of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having stayed at the The Discovery Inn on over four separate occasions I can confidently say it is one of the best hotels in East Timor. The staff are always available and very helpful, the rooms are quiet and clean, the breakfast is amazing and i'd certainly recommend it to anyone heading to Dili for a short or long stay.

Would suit both professional and tourist travelers.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front road, generally not noisy but you can get some early morning cabs bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMathias85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear MattMathias85,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Discovery Inn. It pleases us immensely that every facet of your stay was comfortable and that you enjoy coming back to stay with us time and time again. Thank you for your room tip for future travellers, also. We find that these better equip our guests to select a room based on their requirements.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dili.

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Discovery lived up to what I'd read in the other reviews. Staff at the front desk, office and open-sided bar (location for breakfast and happy hour) were universally friendly, enquiring whether there was anything they could do to make the service of the stay better, and responsive to needs. When the internet went down -- not an unusual event in Dili, but it happened only once in my ten-day stay -- a note and a bottle of very good wine turned up in my room (along with the daily two delicious chocolates). Smallish rooms and no views, but nonetheless a tidy, clean, well-maintained and delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear RNG2014,

Thank you kindly for reviewing your business stay with Discovery Inn last month. We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that the service received catered to all your requirements. We sincerely apologise for the internet trouble you faced but thank you for your patience in regards to this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Everything is relative, so my evaluation of the Discovery Inn relates to what is available overall in Dili. Based on TA reviews of other hotels in the city and my own recent experience at the Discovery Inn, it probably is as good as it gets in Dili. It is undoubtedly an oasis that one is happy to return to from the hot and humid streets of Dili. Overall I was happy with the experience.
The very good points have been mentioned by others but are worth repeating -
- free airport pickup and return
- cold towel and water bottle at check-in
- effective air conditioning
- free drink and canapes during happy hour (every day of your stay)
- friendly and helpful service
- very good restaurant (free glass of wine when ordering two courses)
- large in-room safe
- free wifi in-room and throughout the hotel (not always as fast as one might want)
- fruit basket on arrival
- reasonable location (sometimes hard to get a taxi)
- multi-channel TV
- nice deck for longing and afternoon drinks
- very calm and quiet
Having said all that this is still a 3 star hotel at best and as such rather pricey.
Some issues worth mentioning are -
- The shower stall is somewhat uninviting with cracked tiles and crude plastering.
- The water stream is weak and it can take at least 10 minutes before the hot water starts to come out.
- Room doors are flimsy.
- There is no breakfast buffet (too few customers?). You get a la carte options that are tasty enough, but items are often missing (types of fruit and cheese especially).
Bottom line - in Dili this is probably your best bet. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear wolfman50,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for taking the time to write such a detailed account of things that you both enjoyed and issues that you faced. We truly appreciate all feedback and have taken your constructive comments on board.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Discovery Inn next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Discovery Inn is an excellent choice for Dili. In addition to a better room than we expected in East Timor, rate includes airport pickup and drop off, in room WiFi (that usually works), flat screen TV with many channels, AC, bathroom with shower and hot water, and a helpful, friendly staff that will arrange for a taxi / guide at reasonable price who speaks some English (although it helps to have your list prepared of what you'd like to see). Also has an excellent restaurant (Diya) and even an in-house masseuse.

Room Tip: If you don't want steps, choose ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Frances J,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Discovery Inn.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and particularly appreciated the service. Thank you also for providing a room tip for future guests.

We sincerely hope to see you again the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Discovery Inn always gives me all I need to feel home when I am away from home. The friendly driver welcoming me at the airport with the cold towel and a bottle of water. Efficient and friendly front desk staff. Cool room and crispy bed. Fresh fruit basket. Free laundry. Free drinks in the afternoon. Great breakfast ommelette. International TV channels and wi fi. A cozy restaurant serving excellent spaghetti prawn. And more importantly: very helpful and sincere staff (all of them!!). This is my home in Dili. I do not want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Just ask for a larger room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iskandar-Jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Iskandar-Jakarta,

Thank you for reviewing your recent business stay with us.

We are so happy to hear that a loyal and regular guest continues to enjoy the services and accommodation that we offer.

We thank you for suggesting rooms with windows as a tip for other travellers.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you to Discovery Inn next time you find yourself in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dili hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 21 in Dili
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#6 of 21 in Dili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Timor
Hotel Timor
#4 of 21 in Dili
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#10 of 21 in Dili
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in Dili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 84 Rua 30 de Agosto, Dili, East Timor
Phone Number:
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel offers equal to four star comfort set in lush court yard gardens right in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing