We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Professional”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and Professional”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Discovery Inn is squeezed between two lots and it will never enjoy the facilities that a large hotel in a big lot might have, but I found that was more than made up for by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, who took the trouble to make sure that my stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The food is excellent. The breakfast menu changed daily and was always delicious and the Diya Restaurant has to be one of the best in Dili. The rooms are not large, but they are well serviced, and have all the amenities (internet, fridge, safe, enough power points and good TV, kettle and coffee/tea) that you would expect. My bed was perfectly comfortable and I slept well every night. The deck is a nice feature that provides a good venue for informal meetings and drinks after work.
Nevertheless, it is the attitude of the staff that is this hotel's biggest asset. They were always considerate, helpful and friendly and they turned what could have been an average experience into an enjoyable one. Working in Dili for three weeks, I was glad to be able to come back to the Discovery Inn at the end of each day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear George G,

Thank you kindly for your very positive review of our hotel. Whilst we are proud of many of the services and features that we offer, we are most proud of our staff and their attitude to customer service.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and sincerely hope that you will stay with us when you visit Dili next.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    69
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
23
28
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I got 2 types of room during my stay, first was at 2nd floor, second was at 1st floor. The room at 2nd floor was small, not enough space to put my luggage on the floor. The bathroom was not really good, after having shower I always found the floor outside shower "flooded" because there's a small spot where water from the shower room can go out.

The room at 1st floor was much bigger but still with the same condition at the bathroom.
Internet connection at 2nd floor was poor, but at 1st floor was fine.

Free airport pick up and drop off.

Free welcome fruits and 2 pieces of chocholate.

Not many choices for breakfast for this kind of expensive hotel.

Room Tip: No fitness center and swimming pool available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_noelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Ruby_noelia,

Thank you kindly for reviewing your recent stay with us at Discovery Inn.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback, both positive and constructive. We are taking your feedback on board and are working to rectify the issues you faced. We sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again and that you will experience the service and quality that Discovery Inn is famous for.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel bills itself as a luxury boutique hotel. It is nothing like this. Even allowing for the fact that this is Dili, the rooms are relatively depressing for $150pn. The first room we were shown was just behind reception and there was a lot of noise from the reception plus there were cleaning products all over the hallway and the room only had a tiny window over the bed. It felt like a dungeon. There is a lack of natural light in many of the rooms. We looked at several rooms in the hope that at least one might have some sunlight and a proper window but we couldn't find one. In the end, we chose a room off the small garden. Our room was relatively small. The window shade was broken so we couldn't open our small window and put up the shade. It made the room really dark and the bathroom needs to be refurbished. The bed is ok but not great in terms of comfort.

Aside from the rooms and the stray dogs which bark throughout the evening/night in the lot beside the hotel, this hotel is fine. The location us good, the staff are extremely professional, friendly and helpful, wifi is reliable, the upstairs common area is nice, diya serves great food, breakfast is good (the coffee is much better in the hotel next door + they have an expresso machine), there are free drinks during happy hour and there is a free transfer to the airport.

Fine if your company puts you up here but I wouldn't stay here for pleasure beyond 1/2 nights max.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Constantlyontheroad,

Thank you kindly for your recent review of your stay at Discovery Inn in Dili, Timor-Leste.

Thank you for your kind words in regards to the location, service, meals and inclusions that you experienced whilst staying with us.

We sincerely apologise for the problems that you faced whilst you were here and have made appropriate steps toward rectifying these issues. We truly appreciate the feedback as it allows us to strive for constant improvement.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I travelled for business to Dili. I was received at the airport by a friendly driver who was waiting for me with a cold hand towel and water bottle. Just what I needed at the moment! The hotel had exactly what I needed: clean rooms, comforble bed, hot shower, good food and on top of that excellent internet and daily happy hours. The hotel staff made a big difference. All were helpful, friendly and just made my Dili experience a memorable one.
V. Letelier

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Vero L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us this month.

We are so pleased that the service, rooms, food and amenities were at a high standard and that your stay with us was a comfortable one.

We sincerely hope to see you the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Discovery Inn hotel is the perfect place to stay in Dili. Although prices are quite high - as they are in general in town - it is very good value for money, particularly if you are visiting for business purposes. Internet is speedy, good quiet terraze to sit and work, and excellent service in all ways. The hotel is also very nicely located - it takes 2 minutes to walk down to the beautiful boardwalk, and there are also other interesting sights close by. I d definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenita_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear helenita_13,

Thank you kindly for reviewing your stay with us last month. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed all facets of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having stayed at the The Discovery Inn on over four separate occasions I can confidently say it is one of the best hotels in East Timor. The staff are always available and very helpful, the rooms are quiet and clean, the breakfast is amazing and i'd certainly recommend it to anyone heading to Dili for a short or long stay.

Would suit both professional and tourist travelers.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front road, generally not noisy but you can get some early morning cabs bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMathias85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear MattMathias85,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Discovery Inn. It pleases us immensely that every facet of your stay was comfortable and that you enjoy coming back to stay with us time and time again. Thank you for your room tip for future travellers, also. We find that these better equip our guests to select a room based on their requirements.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dili.

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Discovery lived up to what I'd read in the other reviews. Staff at the front desk, office and open-sided bar (location for breakfast and happy hour) were universally friendly, enquiring whether there was anything they could do to make the service of the stay better, and responsive to needs. When the internet went down -- not an unusual event in Dili, but it happened only once in my ten-day stay -- a note and a bottle of very good wine turned up in my room (along with the daily two delicious chocolates). Smallish rooms and no views, but nonetheless a tidy, clean, well-maintained and delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear RNG2014,

Thank you kindly for reviewing your business stay with Discovery Inn last month. We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that the service received catered to all your requirements. We sincerely apologise for the internet trouble you faced but thank you for your patience in regards to this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dili hotels
2.9 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in Dili
16 reviews
3.7 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#15 of 21 in Dili
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gino's Hotel
Gino's Hotel
#17 of 21 in Dili
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
NOVO TURISMO Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dili Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 84 Rua 30 de Agosto, Dili, East Timor
Phone Number:
Region: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel offers equal to four star comfort set in lush court yard gardens right in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing