We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must go here when touring Cotacachi/Otavalo region”

La Mirage Garden Hotel Restarant
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Cotacachi
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“must go here when touring Cotacachi/Otavalo region”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Absolutely gorgeous restaurant in a garden setting. Even if you cannot stay in the hotel (which you should), a lunch or dinner at La Mirage is an unforgettable experience. There are many entrees to choose from and the food is excellent. They have a very good wine selection and desserts are sinfully good. Enjoy your meal while watching peacocks parading in the garden or hummingbirds darting about in the flowers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TF-Seaweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Christmas”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent high end restaurant. The service was great and made for an enjoyable Christmas dinner. There was a special for that day and we had many courses for a reasonable price. The food was wonderful and the presentation was superb. There are gardens with beautiful trees, flowers, and plants.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ecuadorannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked in advance a beautiful table that overlooks the garden. The restaurant is wonderful. The service is excellent. Dishes are arranged like art work. For instance, they gave us as courtesy, a small humita (corn dish) which was placed inside a wood musical box. My wife tried the "cuy" (guinea pig type) and found it exquisite (not my type of dish). I tried the local delicacies which are coloured meat, pork and potatoes dumplings. I must admit that I found the meat a bit dry. My friends had the shrimp with coconut and enjoyed it. They ask for our nationalities and placed our respective country flags on the table. A nice touch to make you feel welcome. This is a must, after you visit The Otavalo market (try to do it on Saturday, which is the day when there are more stalls with artisan work). After lunch at The Mirage try the leather stores in Cotacachi. I have been a couple of times in this town, last time about 10 years ago. They have improved significantly. Nice designs.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barrancos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The setting is charmingly classy. We overlooked a beautifully kept garden with 13 peacocks strutting around freely.
The service was delightful- all local ladies dressed in traditional costume.
The food was stunningly presented and superbly cooked. To start an amuse Boucher is delivered in a music box playing a tune from phantom of the opera. Inside a beautifully presented local dish comprising mashed white corn. My starter was a selection of local delicacies , including roasted pork in a corn mash. Others tried the soups and the shrimp and octopus salad- delicious. My main course was shrimp and coconut shrimp in a creamy coconut sauce- fabulous.
Others had a selection of local meats and roasted guinea pig( you need to be adventurous, though it was a bit like roasted pork in taste).
We were so full, we were unable to try any of the wonderful sounding dessert.
This was a truly memorable experience and not absurdly expensive as it would have been in europe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tomnNW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A most magical dining experience”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The La Mirage Garden Hotel Restaurant isn't just about its superb food and magnificent presentation. It is a total dining experience for all your senses. This elegant and romantic restaurant, overlooking its tropical fragrant gardens is filled with splendid objects d'art and an abundance of orchids and roses. The service is impeccable and reminiscent of times gone by. The background music was subtle and pleasant adding to the wonderful ambiance. All in all it was a most magical experience and one of the best we have ever encountered. I highly recommend that you don't miss a chance to experience this for yourself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mirage Garden Hotel Restarant also viewed

Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 

Been to La Mirage Garden Hotel Restarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing