We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostal La Cuadra”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cuadra Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Cuadra Hostal
Ranked #1 of 11 Cotacachi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hostal La Cuadra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in July when we first arrived. The staff keeps the place very clean and nice. Our room was comfortable and accommodated our needs nicely. The two ladies may be the happiest people you meet and are immediately responsive to your needs. It was wonderful to see them working happily and enjoying their friendship daily. A great example for all.

Jairo is very helpful and knowledgeable and speaks English well also. I've not met a more accommodating owner. He even invited us on a family outing to a hot spring spa. A very nice family.

There is a kitchen to prepare food and coffee with a large dining room and two large dining tables. The area has a large T.V. and DVD player etc we did not use, but was available. The rooftop has excellent views and lines to dry clothes on.
The town wakes early beginning with noises from all sorts, trucks, busses, taxis, church bells, dogs barking. The town goes to bed around 9pm and is pretty quiet between. If you are a late sleeper, get a room away from street side.
The hostal is expanding and the new section when opened will have great views of Mt. Imbabura which is stunning and over 15,000 ft in elevation.
This is a great place to begin or end your visit and is located in town short walking distance from all things in Cotacachi.
Dining out can vary from local places little bigger than a broom closet to fine dining in modern restaurants tourists hang out in. The cuisine locally includes plenty of starches and meat so you may learn to love the market with it's variety of fresh fruits and vegetables.
Jairo can assist you with plans and recommendations as well as transportation to and from airport and surrounding places.
While here using the hostal as a home base, we found an apartment by asking around and searching internet. You can find anything from modern mansions to local homes depending on your tastes. Get on busses and check out all the area has to see and do. It is so cheap to ride! There are many day trips one can enjoy by bus from town. They are well used locally so you might want to avoid the first and last busses if crowds are not your thing. We found that if you leave from the terminal, the bus has many seats. From the square it is usually pretty full. Etiquette requires you to leave the front seats available to elderly, pregnant ladies or women with small children, and handicapped people.
Try your Spanish, it will be appreciated and mistakes tolerated well. Many have helped me with words or phrases when misspoke.
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: The matrimonial rooms are larger and comfortable. The upper floor is our preferred spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WickenburgJLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
46
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed at La Cuadra twice now, and will probably stay again on my next trip to Cotacachi. The hostal is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The manager, Jairo, speaks excellent English and is very accomodating. The room I had was quite comfortable and quiet. And it was very well-priced. The hostal is only a half-block from the main plaza and the bus stop. The leather shops, for which Cotacachi is famous, are about a three minute walk away. Jairo cheerfully helped me arrange transportation back to the airport at a fare that was cheaper than I had been quoted. He also didn't complain that I had to get him up very early when I checked out. This is not a luxury hotel with 5-star amenities, but I give it the highest rating for its value.

Room Tip: Room 5 is where I stayed. It doesn't have a private bath, but the other occupied rooms on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTim76104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Perhaps its because we made the fatal error of visiting Cotacachi during Easter weekend, but we didn't sleep for the 4 nights we were there. La Cuadra is located just off the main square, a prime location for visiting the town and far enough from Leather Street to avoid crowds. Apparently, if you are lucky enough to sleep in the back, you are likely to have a quieter experience. But we weren't so lucky. The noise is deafening at first and constant through the night until about 4 am, then starts up again at 6 am.

In addition, we had the lovely experience of waking to no hot water. Thankfully, Jairo worked diligently at repairing the problem. It was a deal breaker. We started to explore other accommodations. Fortunately, we were eventually able to shower. But the noise never stopped. And Jairo never offered us a back room. Very disappointing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have traveled quite a bit, but this was my first time to Ecuador and South America. La Cuadra is very nice, it's clean, the rooms are nice and there is a kitchen with a refrigerator and oven in case you like to cook. I'm paying less living here than I was for the room I was renting in the USA and my room is ten times nicer here. Also, the owner and mahager Jairo is very helpful. He also speaks English. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Thank you Jairo for a warm welcome to La Cuadra. The whole hostal was so clean and comfortable. You and your staff deserve congratulations for taking such good care of your guests. We received advice on touring, support in getting things we needed and sometimes someone to give us some of the history of Cotacachi. The value for money was spot on.

Helpful?
Thank RosemaryDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the La Cuadra Hostal for 15 days while visiting Cotacachi, and we couldn’t have picked a better place. As many others have written, Jairo has the best accommodations, rooms are comfortable, full kitchen facilities with two large eating areas, big screen TV, videos, Wi-Fi great location, extremely clean. In fact the two young women eagerly, with the prettiest smiles and lots of laughter, clean the rooms daily, make the beds and will even fold your clothes, neatly arranging them on the bed if you forget to tidy up before departing for the day.

Jairo has a wealth of information about what to see, where to go and just about anything that would make your stay enjoyable, he’s the one to see. Thankfully, with our very limited Spanish, his fluent English became extremely important when I became very ill. After taking us to the emergency room in the middle of the night, he stayed with me translating all the needed information between the doctor, nurses and me, remaining there until I was staple. It felt like he was a family member making sure I got the correct care. Without his help my husband and I would have felt very anxious and uncomfortable since the hospital staff and ourselves couldn’t understand each other. We are so grateful for all his help. Once we returned to the hostal unfortunately a few hours later that day I became ill again and he, without any hesitation, did it all over again. What other hotel owner/manager would do such a thing for a guest, not many, if any! He makes you feel like family not just a guest. Even his mother brewed a thermos full of Chamomile tea for me, a very welcomed drink at that point and much appreciated.

Jairo really cares about his guests, making it a real home like atmosphere. He’s adding on to his hotel so there will be many more rooms in the near future and if we can ever make such a trip again we will only be staying at Jairo’s hostel La Cuadra. He and his family are so lovely. We were sad to leave them.

Hope you get to meet Jairo and his family, and stay at the La Cuadra Hostal, it will be a wonderful experience if you do.

Thanks again for everything Jairo,
The Parkers

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CParker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotacachi, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Jairo (owner) is a gem.La Cuadra is convenient...just a few hundred feet from the central square. Plenty of stores and eateries within walking distance. It is loud at times being on the main street into the city. If you're a light sleeper or like to sleep late, purchase a pair of comfy and effective earplugs before you get here as selection is limited on many things in EC.

The new wi-fi works well...finally! :)

Hot water showers, but cold water only in sinks. Seemed odd at first, but as you will find, quite typical for EC.

And if you're lucky, you'll get to meet Jairo's family and his especially chatty three-year old: Rebecca. (You're a lucky man Jairo)

Enjoy your stay. I did.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotacachi
0.6 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rancho Sant Fe
Rancho Sant Fe
#2 of 2 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yellow Guest House
Yellow Guest House
#2 of 11 in Cotacachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Cotacachi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Roy
El Roy
#4 of 10 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuadra Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuadra Hostal

Property: La Cuadra Hostal
Address: Modesto Penaherrera 11-46, Cotacachi 100350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cotacachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer exclusive services in a homely and familiar environment. We have 28 beautiful and comfortable rooms, that will make your stay in La Cuadra very pleasant. The service is top quality and our staff is bilingual. We offer complete peace and security so that your days in Cotacachi will be enjoyable. We are located in the center of the town and from our terrace you can enjoy the beautiful views of the volcanoes that surround us (Cotacachi and Imbabura) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Cuadra Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuadra Hostal Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing