We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Cotacachi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cotacachi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Rooms were great, food was first class and could feel special touches everywhere! Garden was beautiful and full of peacocks. The fireplace made sleeping in the room very cozy. The garden views made working in the room very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for the queen 's room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent several days at LaMirage. The staff went out of their way to fulfill our every request. The food was outstanding- the chef has an amazing talent for food presentation, variety and quality. Our stay was outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for the queen 's room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Kathleen k.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I, on behalf of the entire staff wish to thank you for your very kind and encouraging comments.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back one of these days. Kindest regards, Patricio H. Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Cotacachi, Ecuador is a charming, laid back little town. Our tour guide took us to the La Mirage Garden Hotel which was the highlight of our stay. The service is second to none. The staff is professional, pleasant and determined to make your stay wonderful. Our suite was magnificent with a fireplace, canopied king bed, a glass enclosed niche and great bathroom., We had a beautiful private yard with a classic sculpture and exotic birds walking and flying about. The spa was exceptional. I had an 80 minute facial that was so relaxing I feel asleep twice. My husband had a Swedish massage and we relaxed at the indoor pool. We enjoyed excellent gourmet dinners in the elegant restaurant while watching exotic peacocks put on a display on the grounds outside. The grounds of this resort are simply amazing. It is a tropical paradise in the mountains of Ecuador. We have been to many fine resorts and Ritz Carlton's in various places but none were superior to La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa. We would HIGHLY recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite #112 Dalia. You will not be sorry. It has a private yard and chaise lounges. It...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 477Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear 477Susan,

On behalf of the entire staff I take great pleasure thanking you for your generous and detailed explanation in regards to your recent stay at our resort. I can assure you that all of us feel extremely proud having been able to make your vacation at La Mirage a memorable one. We strive to give our utmost to all of our clients to make them feel at home and wanting to return one day in a not too distant future. Thanks again and kindest regards from Patricio Hidrovo,Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Sitting at breakfast this morning with my husband and daughter we starting talking about the best pancakes we have ever had in our lifes,(7 years ago and we still talk about them) which were at breakfast at La Mirage. We have not been able to replicate the recipe but would love to know how.

We stayed at the resort during a trip to Ecuador to drop off our daughter for a month to do tutoring in Quito. After 5 days on a expedition cruise to the Galapagos it was a welcome respite to stay at La Mirage, we all had massages at the spa and my daughters and husband did horseback riding. It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We loved the peacocks roaming the gardens.

Although our stay was awhile ago reading the most recent reviews I can see that La Mirage has kept up their standards.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Janice W,

Isn’t there a saying BETTER LATE THAN NEVER ???? What a pleasure to receive your kind remarks in regards to a stay at La Mirage all the way back in 2012. We want to thank you for still thinking of us. That is a wonderful feeling and you have made our day. Maybe we will have the pleasure welcoming you back one of these days. We assure you that the pancakes are still a hit and many clients have made the same kind remarks than you. Thanks again and have a wonderful time in Tennessee. Patricio Hidrovo, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

After visiting the markets at Otavalo we drove the short distant to Cotacachi to have lunch at the picturesque La Mirage. This beautiful tranquil resort has a quiet relaxed atmosphere where every guest is made to feels welcome and pampered. The Resort Spa is luxurious and comprehensive. The offer everything from mud baths, hot stone massage, aromatherapy massage and many more.. Every kind of pampering a person might enjoy. The rooms are nestled into tranquil delightful gardens with hummingbirds flitting from flower to flower..A flock of Peacocks grace the pretty lawn garden that is overlooked by the exceptional Restauant. Our dinning experience second to none. The service and food both 5 star... I highly recommend a visit to this beautiful Resort...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiSampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear VickiSampson,

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed visiting our small resort and appreciate your very kind comments in regards to your stay. I have made everyone of the staff aware and the personnel, who provided preparation and service want to thank you indeed for your kindness. Best regards, Patricio Hidrovo, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were here in May and had a room with a queen size bed + a sitting area. There was one fireplace & a heater in the room. The bathroom had a shower and was smallish. It was quiet but there were not many guests so it's impossible to say if there is noise to be heard room to room. The property is really lovely and the food at breakfast and dinner was very good. They were accomodating of our early departure with a cold breakfast + coffee sent to our room for 5:45 a.m. on the one morning. There is a spa and I had a pedicure/manicure but would NOT recommend - did a pretty poor job of it. The polish on toe nails was applied even worse than if I'd done it myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear travelfun001,

Naturally, we are very sorry that your stay at our property appears not to have been what you had been looking forward to. Your travel agent reserved a Standard Room, but it is beyond our knowledge what accommodation you had requested for a stay at La Mirage.
Obviously, at our Spa you did not receive the total satisfaction and for this reason we have made arrangements to refund you the expense. We follow a strict policy that a client will not be charged for a treatment which has not been provided to the fullest expectation. Please accept our most sincere apology.

Kind regards, Patricio Hidrovo, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Nested in a fabulous garden, all the rooms of La Mirage are well appointed suites, with a sensible decoration and all the comfort which is needed.
Not the least of the attention is the fire which is lit in your room when you return from dinner.
Talking about that, the restaurant menu is truly excellent with quite a level of creativity for many of the dishes offerred.
The staff is extremely careful, courteous and, always try to satisfy your requests.

The hotel is quite a ride from Quito however it is well worth it!
Do not miss the volcano trek, a fairly easy one save for the altitude.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear ulysse5London,

We are very happy that you after almost nine months still remember La Mirage and its services provided. That makes us proud and we wish to thank you very much indeed for your kind words in regards to your visit in August of 2012. Patricio Hidrovo, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotacachi
6.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
11.4 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ibarra
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rancho Sant Fe
Rancho Sant Fe
#2 of 2 in Cotacachi
3 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
9.3 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: De Agosto S/N 10, Cotacachi 100350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cotacachi
Price Range: £174 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mirage is a contemporary resort built on the grounds of a 200-year-old hacienda. Wander through the extraordinary fragrant hummingbird-filled gardens, watching peacocks strolling by. Enjoy delightful regional and international cuisine. Relax in the unique and elegant spa for a variety of 11 different treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirage Garden Hotel Cotacachi
La Mirage Garden Hotel And Spa
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing