We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay as long as you can!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cotacachi
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay as long as you can!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We, unfortunately, only booked one night at this glorious spa hotel. It was clearly a slow time for them, as it appeared that we were among a very small handful of guests. That made the unbelievable level of service even that much more unbelievable!! As others have noted, the special treatment begins the moment you check in and doesn't end until the moment you check out. Both my husband and I had spa treatments and loved them...and the dinner and breakfast we were served were both outstanding. The room was spacious and romantic and the grounds are breathtaking. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkoitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear gkoitz,

We did apreciate your comments in regards to a recent stay at our small property in Cotacachi and wish to thank you indeed for your kind consideration as to service, attention and the culinary exprience you enjoyed. Maybe on another visit to Ecuador we will have the pleasure to have you come to stay a bit longer tan just one night.

Kind regards

Patricio Hidrovo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
91
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I can't praise the staff and especially the management and the chef enough. All my group (ALP Tours) would have been happy to stay here for another week had we not had a plane to catch back to London. We were here for 3 nights. The grounds are exquisite and the rooms all special. Attention to detaill is evident everywhere. Dining was at the highest level, food, presentation, and service was fantastic.Thanks to everyone involved in catering for the comfort of my group

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviva p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear aviva p,

Shalom,

With great pleasure did we receive your impressions which you and your group enjoyed a couple of weeks ago and it my sincere pleasure to thank you for your candid and honest opinion. It was a great honor for all of us here at La Mirage to provide you with a memorable stay and obviously, we succeeded in our efforts.

Kindest regards, Paricio Hidovo, Gen.Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

La Mirage exceeded my expectations. My mom and I booked this hotel last minute and we are so happy we did. From the moment you arrive until you leave you are treated like royalty. The staff is so helpful anbd welcoming that you never ever want to leave. We went to the spa and had the best massage ever! The grounds are so gorgeous and tranquil you can't help but be completely relaxed! This place is definitely an "oasis" and I would HIGHLY recommend it. It does have a somewhat steep price tag but its is worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Katherine H.,

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you very much indeed for your excellent comments in regards to your stay at La Mirage.
I have taken liberty of sharing them with the entire staff on whose behalf you receive this note. It always is so encouraging to hear that we are doing the right thing and it is clients such as you who keep us on our toes. Thank you again and best regards.
Patricio Hidrovo, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It´s a marvelous place just in the heart of Cotacachi, a really beatiful and small town located in Imbabura. In the minute you pass de iron fence you get into a marvelous place, the saff is incredible warm, thet know your last name, so they make you feel important since the beggining.
The suites are really confortable, big, with an small living room, a fireplace that is lighted in the nigt if you want to, and a really nice bathroom (very important for me at least). They have two restaurants one for the lunch and dinner and the other for breakfast. Both are really beatiful, the food is delicious and the waitrresses were dressed in the typical otavaleño attire. You can see the gardens from both restaurants, and they are inhabited for many friendly peacocks, you can feed them if you want.

They also have a pool and a hot tub, but the very best are the massages, they have 20 kind of them in the most amazing spa I´ve seen in a lot of time.

I recommend a couple of days

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlexis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Carlexis56,

It was wonderful to receive your positive comments which you posted on TripAdvisor and on behalf of the entire staff I take this opportunity to thank you very much indeed. It is very much appreciated that we met your expectations and that you had a lovely experience and rest. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Patricio Hidrovo
Gen.Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Most romantic place ever, we enjoyed Feb 14th and everything was perfect. Great food, fantastic service, wonderful gardens and every touch in the room was just amazing, totally recomended.
Pricy and particularly the wine list too expensive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear JMBV,

On behalf of the entire Management and Staff I wish to thank you very much indeed for your comments in regards to a recent stay at La Mirage.
It always is a pleasure to know that we did meet the expectations of our guests. Unfortunately, the Government has added high taxes to imported goods that it is very difficult to lower the prices of our wine list. When comparing with other restaurants I am sure, you would have found that our offered wines are not that expensive as they might have appeared to you. But we do appreciate constructive critism and wish to thank you.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on another visit to our country.

Best regards

Patricio Hidrovo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are are just finishing a three night stay at La Mirage Garden Hotel and have to write about the fantastic experience we've had here. From the moment we arrived, the staff simply couldn't do enough to take care of us. They try so hard to learn your likes and dislikes and then proactively do things to make your stay more enjoyable.

It's the off-season now, so there aren't many guests, but that just makes the grounds that much more enjoyable. One of the things I'll always remember were the nightly walks to dinner as we were serenaded by frogs all around us. Watching the peacocks and hummingbirds as we had a leisurely breakfast was also quite special.

The dinners were great. Towards the end of the meal, we were asked if we'd like a fire lit in our room. Coming back out of the cool evening to find a roaring fire was so nice. We had a king suite, and the room was great, furnished to high standards, with both indoor and outdoor sitting areas.

We met one of the owners, Michelle, the first day, and he went out of his way to ensure we saw the things that make this area so special. A true gentlemen who know that the small details are what make great hotels.

Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TimKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear TimKHouston,

On behalf of the entire staff I wish to take this opportunity to thank you very much indeed for your appreciative comments in regards to your recent stay at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa. I am sharing your kind review with everybody and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is clients like you who make our work so much easier. Thank you and kind regards from all of us. Patricio Hidrovo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Rooms were great, food was first class and could feel special touches everywhere! Garden was beautiful and full of peacocks. The fireplace made sleeping in the room very cozy. The garden views made working in the room very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for the queen 's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotacachi
6.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
220 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
0.2 mi away
Rancho Sant Fe
Rancho Sant Fe
#2 of 2 in Cotacachi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#44 of 111 in Quito
196 reviews
11.4 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ibarra
36 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: De Agosto S/N 10, Cotacachi 100350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cotacachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mirage is a contemporary resort built on the grounds of a 200-year-old hacienda. Wander through the extraordinary fragrant hummingbird-filled gardens, watching peacocks strolling by. Enjoy delightful regional and international cuisine. Relax in the unique and elegant spa for a variety of 11 different treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirage Garden Hotel Cotacachi
La Mirage Garden Hotel And Spa
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing