We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise in a paradise in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Floreana Lava Lodge
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This lodge, lost in the lost island of Floreana, is where you want to stay when need rest and peace. Each bungalow has a private feeling and is located in the waterfront. The environment is pure nature but the rooms are comfortable and equipped with hot water, A/C and mosquito nets. If you are so mad to do such a long and tiring travel to get to Floreana, stay at Lava Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

All the positive reviews stated herunder are true. Staying at the Floreana lodge, in the little cabins is one of the best landexperiences in the Galapagos. Also the nights, with a clear sky, are beyond believe. One can see the entire milkyway and for us, northern guys, we can see the Big Bear hanging upside down in heaven. It is also possible watching the Southern cross (during the night). The story of the Floreana inhibitants (the docter & his wife, the baroness, the Wittmers) is also very spectacular and it's a good thing that there 's a museum to be opened at the Wittmers place. Ofcourse there's wildlife & the tortoises.. All & all an unforgettable explercience. thanks to the guide(s) & ofcourse the very kind and helpful staff of the Floreana cabins (wonderful cook !!!!!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermworp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The rooms are little cabins set in a spectacular location overlooking the ocean. It is a short walk to kayaking, snorkeling or swimming. The breakfast at the lodge was delicious and located outside with a view of the ocean. The stay here was a wonderful way to see Floreana, meet the friendly people of the island and see the stunning landscape and wildlife from the mountains down to the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place made me the most nervous before coming, and when I got there all my fears were laid to rest. This was the best place I stayed during my 10 day stay. The cabins are very quant and peaceful. there was scuba diving under a mile away where my son swam with giant tortoises, sting ray and hammerhead sharks. The walk over was over lava rocks and thru a small mangrove. We ate at someones home where they made a table for the group and cooked fresh tuna. That evening we sat in the wooden chairs and watched the stars and listened to the ocean. I would definately recommend this place, I only wish I could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrcoates72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This place is rustic, but exactly what we were expecting the Galápagos to be and so charming we wished we'd stayed longer. All the rooms are twin, but my boyfriend and I didn't mind as we drifted off to sleep listening to the sea and the sea lions. Breakfast was lovely - great setting obviously as all the lodges and the breakfast area are just up from the shore, and delicious. The Cruise family are wonderful and really added to the magic of our trip there. Dinner was at Lelia's restaurant. Make sure you also have coffee or passion fruit juice at the "coffee shop and pizzeria" (another of the Cruise clan's).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After a week on a dive boat I decided to stay on land for a week, taking in Santa Cruz, Floreana and Isabela as part of a guided tour. It is to my regret that we only spent 24 hours on Floreana as it was by far and away my favourite island. It's unspoiled and the wildlife both on land and below the water was amazing even by Galapagos standards.

The lodge is basic but it has everything you need. The huts are small but clean and have everything you need in them, including a proper hot shower. However its the location that is killer - right on the water. I sat on my porch at 7am with a yellow warbler on the arm of my chair while watching seemingly endless turtles surface in the bay outside. I'd go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Anyone who is lucky enough to set foot on Floreana, and even luckier to stay over night at this simple but little piece of perfection should count their blessings. You are in the Galapagos and any complaints about bugs, sea crossings, heat or discomfort are, well frankly, irrelevant and par for the course. I feel so blessed I just returned from 11 days in Ecuador and five in the Galapagos. My goal is to return to Floreana. The rooms are clean and perfectly fine, small cabins with safes, air conditioning, fans, and all the neccessities. The view is ten stars. It is not my preference to tour with groups (even small ones) so taking dinner and breakfast as a group was but a small price to pay for an experience like this. I wish we had had one more night here. The baby sea lion beach and snorkeling with giant sea turtles is just down the beach. The food prepared for both meals was simple and perfect, our wonderful guides even brought over some wine for dinner. It is my understanding that these land based tours (thank you Red Mangrove) are helping ease some local resentment over all of the tourism dollars all spent on boats and rarely coming ashore. I hope Floreana stays just as it is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedatravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floreana
65.9 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#3 of 8 in San Cristobal
93 reviews
44.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 25 in Santa Cruz
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
41 reviews
39.1 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreana Lava Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreana Lava Lodge

Address: Via a la Loberia, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Floreana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Floreana
Price Range: £112 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floreana Lava Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floreana Lava LodgeFloreana´s fascinating story and the desire of the local people to offer a more relaxed , more enjoyable and environmentally sensitive kind of tourism, is why Tropic has chosen to launch its new Galapagos adventure here. Together with the local community and the owners of ‘Floreana Lava Lodge’, and under the supervision of the Galapagos Authority, Tropic has created a new program designed for visitors who are looking for something out of the ordinary, who will understand the value of slow tourism.Located in Puerto Velasco Ibarra (named after a five times president of Ecuador) Lava Lodge is owned by members of the Cruz family, one of the Floreana´s oldest. The hotel is a comfortable lodge with top class service and the best of friendly local hospitality, built on black lava sands at the ocean´s edge: one of the best sites on the island. Situated only 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village, Lava Lodge is also only a few steps from the ‘lobería’ where visitors can watch the islands famous sea lions in their natural surroundings. ServicesThe 10 independent cabins are each equipped with 2 twin beds (bunk beds for up to 3 people are also available). Each ocean front cabin has its own bathroom, front porch, a reading and shady area to provide privacy and enjoyment of the outdoors.The lodge also has a common area where guests can relax together and savor a welcome drink while enjoying the striking Galapagos sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Floreana Lava Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing