We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lava Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Floreana Lava Lodge
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lava Lodge”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 2 delightful nights at the lodge. The cool winds and the ocean waves gave us a very restful sleep! The breakfasts were served in the last lodge; they were very good. And we could get internet connections there. Everything was clean and the shower was powerful! The view was outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    33
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect on Floreana, but were totally impressed. There are two families that essentially established this island and own the two primary lodging facilities - the Cruz family owns the Lava Lodge and the Wittmer family owns the Wittmer Hotel. These families are key to the experience and history of Floreana. So part of the charm of the Lava Lodge is the experience with the Cruz family and understanding their commitment to Floreana and sharing it with others through low impact tourism and also sharing how they live. Floreana only has 130 people living on it, so to really understand life here is part of the whole experience.

The Lava Lodge is based on the principal of low impact, sustainable tourism that incorporates the community into the experience. We liked that. So much of the tourism in the Galapagos is get on and off a boat, but because the excursions, the meals and the travel are all provide by the ships, the actual residents get little benefit. This is a departure from that approach.

The Lodges are basic, but sufficient and comfortable and they have taken feedback from previous posts and incorporated it. The lodges either have 2 or 3 twin beds (the 3 have bunks) in them and a small bathroom. Ours had plenty of windows with screens and a screened front door and solid door so we could enjoy the sea breeze. Each room has a oscillating fan to help move the air if that is needed as well as a small A/C unit. We didn't need the A/C and just left the windows open and used the fan and we slept deep and hard, like babies - probably our best sleep on the islands anywhere. We had no problem with mosquitoes inside our little hut as long as we got that screened door closed. Outside we had to wear insect repellant but that wasn't unique to Floreana.

We took showers at various times of the day/night depending on when we needed to clean off from our activities and had great hot water to our pleased surprise. A previous post complained about the small window in the shower - they all have simple curtains on them now - as I said - responsive to the posts.

Each lodge has a nice pitcher of water and two glasses for our use and a cooler for refills at the gazebo where they serve breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding - my favorite actually of the trip - eggs to order, wonderful homemade bread and guava jam, organic fruits, fantastic fresh squeezed juice - a different kind each morning and other plates of food served family style. The coffee was dynamite as well.

Part of the charm of this experience is the interaction with the family. The Cruz family has 12 children - 6 sons and 6 daughters. One of the sons owns the Lava Lodge and 3 of the sisters have their own restaurants that we rotated around to eat. They transported us in a chiva so we didn't have to walk in the dark and we on the porches of their homes that have been transitioned to restaurants. I kid you not, this was the best freshest food we had the whole trip. It is all raised and farmed by the family and organic and fresh, fresh, fresh. They were happy to accommodate for special requests and allergies and even threw together a birthday cake.

Sharing time with these people and having them guide us on the island on the hiking trails, and through the tortoise area, the natural water source, the farm lands in the highland and some of the historic places like where the pirates hid their herds and treasures was a unique experience and gave us much more appreciation for not only this island but the Galapagos, and more appreciation than the National Park guide we had instilled in us.

We also loved the kayaking and stand up paddle boarding we did from in front of the lodge - we launched on a rocky/sandy area and kayaked over to the beach where the sea lions hang out. We then snorkeled in the water for hours watching them, the sea turtles, eagle rays and other fish. They also had a SUP board which was quite relaxing.

This is a unique experience in the Galapagos not to be missed and could be easily overlooked but is a real treasure. The family commitment to the island and sharing its richness with us was amazing.

PS - in talking with other folks along the way who went to Floreana and stayed at the Wittmer Hotel the rooms were larger than the Lava Lodge but described as in need of updating and more notably they had no interaction with the family and no sharing of island stories, of guiding around the island, which for us was the greatest part of the experience. We also observed a cruise ship group who came up to see the turtles while we were observing them - they hiked up, walked right past - spending not more than 5 minutes - we spent over an hour watching them (it was mating season and there were 4 males and 1 poor female) which proved both educational and entertaining. So just some food for thought when considering different travel alternatives.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank windsurfer5230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empoli, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This lodge, lost in the lost island of Floreana, is where you want to stay when need rest and peace. Each bungalow has a private feeling and is located in the waterfront. The environment is pure nature but the rooms are comfortable and equipped with hot water, A/C and mosquito nets. If you are so mad to do such a long and tiring travel to get to Floreana, stay at Lava Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterswijk
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

All the positive reviews stated herunder are true. Staying at the Floreana lodge, in the little cabins is one of the best landexperiences in the Galapagos. Also the nights, with a clear sky, are beyond believe. One can see the entire milkyway and for us, northern guys, we can see the Big Bear hanging upside down in heaven. It is also possible watching the Southern cross (during the night). The story of the Floreana inhibitants (the docter & his wife, the baroness, the Wittmers) is also very spectacular and it's a good thing that there 's a museum to be opened at the Wittmers place. Ofcourse there's wildlife & the tortoises.. All & all an unforgettable explercience. thanks to the guide(s) & ofcourse the very kind and helpful staff of the Floreana cabins (wonderful cook !!!!!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermworp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The rooms are little cabins set in a spectacular location overlooking the ocean. It is a short walk to kayaking, snorkeling or swimming. The breakfast at the lodge was delicious and located outside with a view of the ocean. The stay here was a wonderful way to see Floreana, meet the friendly people of the island and see the stunning landscape and wildlife from the mountains down to the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place made me the most nervous before coming, and when I got there all my fears were laid to rest. This was the best place I stayed during my 10 day stay. The cabins are very quant and peaceful. there was scuba diving under a mile away where my son swam with giant tortoises, sting ray and hammerhead sharks. The walk over was over lava rocks and thru a small mangrove. We ate at someones home where they made a table for the group and cooked fresh tuna. That evening we sat in the wooden chairs and watched the stars and listened to the ocean. I would definately recommend this place, I only wish I could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcoates72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This place is rustic, but exactly what we were expecting the Galápagos to be and so charming we wished we'd stayed longer. All the rooms are twin, but my boyfriend and I didn't mind as we drifted off to sleep listening to the sea and the sea lions. Breakfast was lovely - great setting obviously as all the lodges and the breakfast area are just up from the shore, and delicious. The Cruise family are wonderful and really added to the magic of our trip there. Dinner was at Lelia's restaurant. Make sure you also have coffee or passion fruit juice at the "coffee shop and pizzeria" (another of the Cruise clan's).

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floreana
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#8 of 10 in Isabela
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
850 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreana Lava Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreana Lava Lodge

Property: Floreana Lava Lodge
Address: Via a la Loberia, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Floreana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Floreana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floreana Lava Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floreana Lava LodgeFloreana´s fascinating story and the desire of the local people to offer a more relaxed , more enjoyable and environmentally sensitive kind of tourism, is why Tropic has chosen to launch its new Galapagos adventure here. Together with the local community and the owners of ‘Floreana Lava Lodge’, and under the supervision of the Galapagos Authority, Tropic has created a new program designed for visitors who are looking for something out of the ordinary, who will understand the value of slow tourism.Located in Puerto Velasco Ibarra (named after a five times president of Ecuador) Lava Lodge is owned by members of the Cruz family, one of the Floreana´s oldest. The hotel is a comfortable lodge with top class service and the best of friendly local hospitality, built on black lava sands at the ocean´s edge: one of the best sites on the island. Situated only 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village, Lava Lodge is also only a few steps from the ‘lobería’ where visitors can watch the islands famous sea lions in their natural surroundings. ServicesThe 10 independent cabins are each equipped with 2 twin beds (bunk beds for up to 3 people are also available). Each ocean front cabin has its own bathroom, front porch, a reading and shady area to provide privacy and enjoyment of the outdoors.The lodge also has a common area where guests can relax together and savor a welcome drink while enjoying the striking Galapagos sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Floreana Lava Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing