We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst value in galapagos”
Review of Hotel Miconia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miconia
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Cristobal
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst value in galapagos”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were moved from a small room to a big room which was dirty! The curtains had stains on them. There were spiders and gekkos in the room.
The worst is the wake up call was half an hour later than expected and rushing through the fellow pffered us coffee , not tasty, but what angered me when I asked for a banana to eat for breakfast , he gave me an overripe one ! I had to insist on getting a good banana. Definetly not the hotel in moon review! Worst hotel stay in Galapagos .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RimaH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    31
    18
    6
    10
See reviews for
15
29
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Don't enjoy writing negative reviews, but this place has gotten to me.
The good for starters; room, reasonable, compact.
The disappointments; the fridge doesn't work. Seems new.
Asking for help 2x yeilds nothing.
Room sleeps 3, only one glass provided.
Ask for ice, as no fridge - will not give ice.
Ask for another glass, after 2 requests recieved, but rather ungraciously.
TV, maybe my in adequacy, but seems to have a complicated process, beyond me.

Room Tip: Check everything functions properly before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brians101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Cristobal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I almost never write a bad review but I feel that I must in this case. The room we were shown was like a dungeon, cinder block, dark, one small window. It had been divide in three, with one space (I can hardly call it a room) for a double bed, but no window. Another space had another double bed and a window. A third space had room for two small chairs that looked suitable for children. I didn't even want to go into the bathroom. Enough said. Its location on the harbor is not a reason to choose it! Stay away. We left! (and had a marvelous stay at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol)

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rabddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
826 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a comment about the hotel Miconia restaurant. We are there twice for lunch and we liked the service. They have a so called economical lunch for $8 which is good value. you can have fish or chicken with rice, fries or patacones (fried green plantains). We are there twice for lunch and the fish was consistently good. The small personal pizza was also good and for $7 a good value as it can easily feed 2 hungry people. In general I would recommend the hotel miconia restaurant for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Galapagos Alternative reserved our room at Miconia. We spent three nights there upon arriving in Galapagos and one night at the end. First we had Room 11 upstairs facing the inner courtyard, and Room 7 on the ground floor (weird feng shui) on the return. Beds were comfy and rooms extremely clean. The location was great- right across from the gorgeous harbor and the sea lions lounging everywhere...it's a good thing they weren't allowed in our room! The breakfasts were not very good, though the restaurant has an incredible water view. We had one dinner there... a chicken and a veggie crepe... and they were quite good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for three nights at the hotel, which is on the sea front in Puerto Moreno, a perfect location. The hotel itself is okay, the food is quite good for lunch and dinner, although the breakfast is limited in choice. The bedrooms are of a reasonable size and are in generally in good order. The bathrooms are also okay, although if you look at the showers and the maze of wiring and fixes, you realise that the hotel has a major problem with water pressure and supplying hot water to the rooms. The shower in both our rooms was pitiful, cold and lacking in pressure. The loos don't always have enough pressure to flush properly either.

You also need to like loud 80's music being played in the gym each night for a couple of hours. Quite a few of the locals use this hotel as their gym.

Overall we would not recommend staying at the Miconia as we felt it was to expensive for the facilities and the service, which was average at best. They need to give the hotel a spruce up as well, the reception area and restaurant need decorating. Lastly, they should be made to turn the large screen TV off in the restaurant, as none of the guests are interested in Ecuadorean TV! This hotel relies on its location and the lack of decent local competition too much.

Room Tip: The top floor is the least noisy location in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Damp, dark, dirty, rundown. We booked the "presidential suite" on the top floor (up 5 flights of stairs). The only good thing about that room was the patio overlooking the bay. The rugs were filthy: stained and full of dirt and dust. So bad that I had to roll them up and put them under the bed. There were piles of dead insects in the corners. Food was terrible -- breakfast, which was included, was inedible. And you could look into the bathrooms of all the rooms adjacent to the stairs as you were going up and down!!! This place reminded me of a set from a horror flick.
I don't mind staying in budget accommodations - but this place was hugely overpriced and filthy. Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Avoid staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAintheBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Zayapa Hotel
La Zayapa Hotel
#4 of 14 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miconia

Property: Hotel Miconia
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | Malecon, 200150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miconia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 3-minute walk away from Oro's beach in San Cristobal, Hotel Miconia offers an outdoor swimming pool, an on-site seafood restaurant and free WiFi access. A free daily American breakfast is served. Each air-conditioned room here will provide you with a TV, a minibar and a private bathroom with a shower. You will also find a desk, a safety-deposit box and bed linen. Hotel Miconia offers a fitness centre, a tour desk and laundry facilities. A 5-minute drive will get you to a variety of restaurants and Mann Beach. Shipwreck bay is 300 m away and La Loberia beach can be reached after a 15-minute drive. San Cristobal Airport is just 5 minutes away by car. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miconia Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel Miconia San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing