We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
146
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbeach towelshand madedelicious coffeewonderful hoststreated like familybarking sealsjuicerooms are beautifully appointedseparate sitting areatop floorsitting roomkicker rockbreakfast each morningsmall hotelpatriciasuite
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights through our tour group Sharksky. The room was fantastic and clean. Great location and view of that he where all the yachts are. Walking distance to the stores. Luis is great, he and my wife got along great. Luis was super friendly and was always going out of his way to make sure we were having a good to and had everything we needed. Luis cooked us breakfast that was out of this world, blueberry pancakes one morning and omelet the next morning. The coffee was the best I have ever had and the fresh squeeze juices were superb. Highly recommended. The shower had hot water and the rooms were very large with a family room. Our room had a fish theme decorated with fish pictures and carvings.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Casa Iguana is a fantastic B&B with great service and delicious breakfasts and helpful info about anything you could possibly need ! The rooms are beautifully finished with hand crafted furniture and extremely clean , We would go back tommorrow!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We would definitely stay here again, and based on everything we saw on the island while we were there (6 nights), this seems to be the highest quality, private operation in town. Worth the extra money we paid to stay there compared to some of the cheaper options in town, and they even gave us a slight discount since we stayed longer than expected.

Great location (really VERY happy we stayed here and not at the casa blanca or one of the hotels right on the waterfront, where it smelled terribly of sea lion poop)! Short walk to everything in town, and extremely convenient for getting to the beaches, taking hikes, etc.

Good breakfast varying daily (french toast, pancakes or omelettes with juices, excellent homemade coffee and fresh papaya from their own trees).

Clean (room cleaned properly on a daily basis, fresh towels whenever we requested them, clean kitchen and common areas).

Good service! Patricia and Luis are extremely nice owners who stay out of your way when you're busy, and who are also very sociable when you want tips, ideas and advice. Even though we weren't able to speak Spanish, we found our own unwritten language with Luis, and when we left, we felt like we were leaving friends behind. I even left him my brand new, treasured, 1914 style, Chicago cubs, baseball hat.

Comfortable bed & pillows. Good bathroom with nice shampoo.

The only small area where we struggled minorly was the shower. It's a bit of a challenge getting used to the system, which is common across the island. Ask for advice so you can work it out right from the start, and if for any reason it's not working, don't hesitate to talk to the owners. They'll help if needed.

Wireless is only accessible in the common areas (living room and kitchen). It would have been nice to have access from the room and rooftop terrace, but heck. When you are in such an amazing, exotic location, who wants to spend that much time using the internet anyway? The upper terrace is just awesome for winding down with a beer and watching the sunset at the end of the day.

When we go back to the Galapagos islands - and we will after this amazing trip - we will definitely stay with Luis and Patricia again. I rarely give places a 5 star rating, but for the price we paid and the overall levels of service and homeyness there, they deserve it. Keep doing what you're doing, Luis and Patricia. We appreciated your welcome for a wonderful week visiting my niece during her study abroad program.

Room Tip: The difference between the cheapest room and most expensive room is significant. If you want the full luxury, go for the room on the top floor. We saw it and it was amazing. However, if you're trying to save money, the cheapest room is great too. We stayed in the Lobo and thought it was just perfect for us.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We (my two teen age daughters, my wife and myself) did a Galapagos Island hopping excursion is August 2013 and our first stop was on San Cristobal Island. We stayed for 3 nights with Luis for 3 nights at the Casa Iguana Mar Y Sol. We enjoyed every second we stayed there and were so pleased at how Luis took care of my girls and me. We loved his morning breakfasts with his hand picked, fresh roasted coffee. In short, we love the Casa Iguana!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeF1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a great time at Casa Iguana Mar Y Sol! Patrice and Luis were so friendly and helpful. We arrived earlier than we expected, way before check in time. We figured we would just ask if they could keep our bags and we would go find some where in town to eat breakfast. Instead they invited us for breakfast and got us to our room right away! The hotel is beautiful, and our room was very comfortable. I loved having a hair dryer and nice shampoo! We enjoyed relaxing with some beers (a lot cheaper at the hotel) and watching the beautiful sunset from the hotel balcony every night. Luis cooks a wonderful breakfast every morning. You will be so happy if you choose to stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lobo room which is perfect for a couple.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOMOtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiralstaircase, Owner at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

When guests come to stay with us.....we don't know if you are a multi-millionaire or just a hard working person who has saved for 10 years to visit Galapagos, and stay with us. It doesn't matter. EVERYONE who stays here is a VIP. Thanks for the fantastic photos. When those "pink bananas" were going to be a little too ripe.....I baked a 10 # banana nut bread....using 16 bananas........so they arrived early..... HOUSTON we can handle it....we DON"T have a problem. Patricia and Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews