We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in San Cristobal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Iguana Mar y Sol
Ranked #3 of 27 San Cristobal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are planning a trip to San Cristobal, Galapagos, this is a great place to stay.
The 5 rooms hotel is designed and built by owner Mr Luis. All the wood carving it's truly art.
Also, owner is great chef and brings a few organic products from his farm (which is located up in the mountain)
Highly recommended to stay at casa iguana!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a lovely B&B! Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious with great coffee hand-picked and roasted by the owners. The location is very convenient to walk into town or to the beach and it overlooks the bay. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EmilyB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

How do I start—how about “this place is really cool.” It is perched on a hillside overlooking the San Cristobal bay; sunset is directly ahead as you stand outside your room. My wife and I had the Lobo Suite on top, which includes a sun deck and sitting area. As described elsewhere, the physical premises are beautiful and immaculately maintained. The co-owner, Luis, did all the woodwork using what we in the States consider to be exotic woods. I am a woodworker, and I know quality work when I see it. This is truly a one-of-a-kind place.

We spent two nights here waiting for the start of a 7-day diving cruise on the Galapagos Sky. Although we thought about local excursions (you can go just about anywhere in a cab for $2 US), we were happy just walking around looking at sea lions. Downtown—the waterfront—is a 5 minute walk away where you can get a good meal or drink at reasonable prices. Most of the hotels you see advertised are down there, but be a little leery of the pictures you see on their websites—most of them really don’t look that good. Further, between young tourists and honking sea lions, downtown can be a bit noisy.

Go up the hill 100 ft. from the Casa Iguana, turn left, walk another 300 yards and you are at the Galapagos Interpretation Center, where you can see the history of the islands; one of the Galapagos tortoises lives there also. Across the road from the Center is Playa Mann, a popular local and tourist swimming beach. It has a complement of sea lions that play with the swimmers.

Luis, an amiable guy, cooks a great breakfast for guests (included with the room): fruit, cereal, eggs, toast, and very good coffee. Our first morning, the electricity was out all over the island, so he did the entire breakfast on a barbeque grill outside. It was amazingly good.

If you plan a trip to Galapagos, consider San Cristobal as a base of operations because you can get just about anywhere in the southern islands cheaply and quickly. Further, there is local diving, snorkeling, and hiking on San Cristobal itself. We were actually sad to leave to get on the boat, and really sorry we didn’t book a couple more days at the Casa Iguana upon our return.

Room Tip: The Lobo suite offers the best view, but all are good because the hotel is on a hillside overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank addoinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Beautiful room, sparkling clean, gorgeous bathroom, unbelievable views, lovely sea breezes, perfect location for port and town, great overhead fan, never had to use a/c, tastefully and spaciously decorated, windows everywhere, fantastic beds. But best are the hosts: Patricia and Luis. They made us feel at home; we felt they were old friends from the time we arrived. We can't rave enough about our stay there. In fact, we switched our flight home from Baltra to here just so we could spend more time at this home. Both are terrific people - generous, helpful and warm. My husband roasted coffee with them. Our stay there was the highlight of our trip. This is an island you can spend quite a few days on. Best stay in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thomaspaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Beautiful property, views of the ocean to die for, gracious host, Luis, and wife made us feel like family and treated us like royalty, large comfortable and very clean bedrooms, gave valuable information during our visit about the local sites, Luis spoiled us with fresh breakfast and the best coffee. we look forward to returning the this "gem". This IS the place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1588trololo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

So don't waste any more time looking for a place in San Cristobal. You won't find anything better than this. Just book it now! The 3rd floor deck has the best morning coffee view we have ever had, and the coffee is grown, dried, roasted, ground, brewed and poured by Louis. Yum.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank escape066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at Casa Iguana for 2 nights in February before leaving for a 7 day cruise. The B&B was lovingly built entirely by Luis and it shows in every detail-from the Iguana carved into the front door to the beautiful rooftop deck. The view to the harbor is priceless and it is a five minute walk to the center of town. Patricia and Luis are the nicest, most generous hosts we have ever encountered in many stays. We had chosen to stay in one of the second floor rooms which would have been lovely. However, Patricia upgraded us to the Honeymoon Suite at no extra charge because it hadn't been rented. It was beyond gorgeous and spotless. The shower was great and the mini-fridge was stocked with bottled water. The breakfasts that Luis cooked were delicious. We can't imagine a nicer stay anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snorkel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#3 of 8 in San Cristobal
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galapagos Eco Friendly
Galapagos Eco Friendly
#1 of 16 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana Mar y Sol

Address: Barrio Playa de Oro, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Mar y Sol Hotel San Cristobal
Casa Iguana Mar y Sol San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing