We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice part of a highlands tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerto Chino Beach

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice part of a highlands tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was the last stop of a half day highlands tour. Bring plenty of water and snacks. It was a nice beach that was fun to body surf and watch birds. If you take this package tour make sure in includes the GIANT TREEHOUSE stop on your way up. It is so spectacular and sad that it's not advertised well. There is so much more than meets the eye....up, down, underground,...etc.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    59
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Combine with a trip to the highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We combined a trip to Puerto chino beach, junco lake and the tortoise reserve in one afternoon. We arranged this with a taxi driver who took us for the whole tour for $75 for 2 people. We spoke little Spanish and he spoke little English but we got along fine and had a great afternoon. If you learn a little Spanish before you go to the Galapagos you will learn a lot more. Some tour operators organise this from town (highlands tour) but we were able to do it ourselves to go straight away. Puerto Chino beach was beautiful with white sand and clear water. There is a 15-20 minute walk on a paved pathway from the carpark. We saw Blue footed Boobies on the cliffs at the end of the beach and were able to walk quite close to them. We also saw turtles swimming.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was the last stop of our Highland Tour. Very nice snorkeling from a sandy beach. From a short easy climb up a cliff you can see plenty of Blue-footed Boobies.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horsefly alert”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

White sand powder beach, turquoise waters, BUT very wavy, lot's of grass and HORSEFLIES will eat you alive. It's near impossible to be comfortable for 1 minute. You can skip this beach for others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dnkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beach beautiful, but far from town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I went there on a trip to Galapaguera and el junco, not worth to go just for the beach, you can find similar one near town

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Chino Beach also viewed

Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal
San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands
 
Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal
San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands
 

Been to Puerto Chino Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing