We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing Nelly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Nelly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de Nelly
East Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Nelly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is fantastic in every way! Recommended to us by our guide Rick at "Come to Galapagos". Our room was on the top floor with an amazing view of the harbour. Beds are very comfortable and shower is hot which is not always the case in South America. Great location! Close to main boulevard of bars and restaurants and university beach. Nelly cooked us breakfast every morning which was amazing(this isn't standard but you can ask when booking). Can't wait for my next trip to San Cristobal and staying at Nelly's!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Natandymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Location at NE end of this village is distant from eating places but being in a small village not a big issue. Nice room. Top floor has partial harbour views. No breakfast. Kitchen not open to guests. Manager sometimes disorganised but always cheerful.

Room Tip: Top floor has harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed three nights at Casa de Nelly to kick off our Galapagos vacation. The Casa is about a 20 minute walk from the airport and a very short 5 minute walk from both the main boardwalk/downtown area and the Interpretation Centre/Playa Mann area. Great location overall, as you're close to everything.

I booked with Nelly by emailing her directly and in Spanish. She agreed to hold a room for me on a few weeks notice without a deposit. The staff at Casa de Nelly do not speak any English nor did they attempt to provide us with any "tourist services". We pretty much showed up, they gave us a key and we didn't see them again until we checked out. They did have bikes to rent for $4/hour.

Our room was on the top floor, right next to the "kitchen" and rooftop patio. The kitchen is really just a fridge, sink and kettle. They have minimal cutlery and dishware available for use. Not enough of a kitchen to make a meal but sufficient for self-catering a cold breakfast/lunch. The rooftop patio is wonderful, has a very comfortable hammock and great views of town. In fact, in reflection, the rooftop area really made this place worth the money.

The room was very nice - comfortable bed, shelving unit to put some stuff and private bathroom. Our room had two private balconies overlooking other parts of the city. The shower had hot water eventually after running the water for a few minutes first. The room had TV and AC - we didn't use either of them.

I only have two complaints - 1) Wifi at the Casa did not work even though there was a router in the room - I was able to connect to the network but nothing would load. 2) The room had a very minor ant problem, particularly concentrated around the bedside table. Not a huge issue though, we were in the Galapagos after all!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have balconies and easy access to the kitchen and rooftop patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbsfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were booked in this hotel by for our land-based Galapagos tour by Come to galapagos.com. They made an excellent choice with this hotel. It's just one block or so to the main boardwalk area. Nelly herself greeted us and provided excellent breakfast each morning. Room was large and clean. Towels were plentiful. We had a two-bedroom apartment-type room with a full kitchen. Showers were hot. Free wifi in the room. It was a little noisy at night, in that we could hear neighbors chatting and laughing. But, it didn't disturb us enough to make a difference in our stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thyme8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed at Casa de Nelly for 3 weeks early last year. I was on my own, but had a room with two beds and a private bathroom. Nelly was like a mother, she always made sure that I had everything I needed. The area where her house is situated is perfect: in the middle between beautiful Playa Man (and Punta Carola) and the lovely town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno. In the nice courtyard you can chill in the hammock or sit at the stone table and chat with other travellers.
Highly Reccommendable!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank nalujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
between Netanya and Caesarea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We arrived from Guayaquil at San Cristobal and didn't have enough cash to pay the 100 $s per person.....a very nice taxi driver took us to 3 banks....no mashine gave us money! We had to leave our passports at the airport and on the next day it wasn't easy to get money from the bank without a passport....But the taxi driver brought us to Casa de Nelly and we got one regular room and one very nice room with a large veranda upstairs with sea view. The couple is very friendly and helpful! The beach was near by (a few min. after the Man Beach (i don't remember if that was the name). We got a last minute price of 80$ for both rooms and where very happy - Thanks again ! The beach was full of sea lions and we had a great time snorkling. The village is very nice and we got on a great day trip for 50$ a person with 3 diferent snorkling places, the gide "Wiliam" was phantastic!( on all the day trips from Santa Cruz the gides were horrible they treated us like school kids and did not get into the water snorkling with us!!) The first 3 days on San Cristobal were my best!!

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs with the veranda and the sea view. We cooked and ate outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeannette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We spent last april a few days at Casa de Nelly while waiting for our flight to the continent. The rooms were clean, safe and Nelly helped us with all the questions we had. Close to the beach and the museum and only 5' by foot to the bustling town. No special view but quiet. A big kitchen to cook your own food at your disposal. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 4evilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Cristobal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Algarrobos
Hotel Los Algarrobos
#1 of 12 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann Hotel
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann Hotel
#2 of 14 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Nelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Nelly

Property: Casa de Nelly
Address: Playa de Mann Street, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Nelly San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing