We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Nearby Hotels
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa(Puerto Baquerizo Moreno)
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miconia(San Cristobal)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$334
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Galapagos Sunset(Puerto Baquerizo Moreno)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chatham(Puerto Baquerizo Moreno)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mar Azul(San Cristobal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pikaia Lodge(Santa Cruz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
80
83
38
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
83
38
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionscevicheadventure lifehot waterstaff was very friendly and helpfulbreakfast tablethe hotel managerbathroom sinklaundry serviceour tour guidelovely spotthe ocean view roomremote islandclean hotelfull service hotelblue footed boobiesroom number
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed on the top level of this hotel right on the waterfront. We had a great view and even a hammock on our deck. We had a single and a double bed, plenty of room, a nice bathroom and an in room safe with both a key and a combination to be used together. Everything was safe there. There is no elevator so if you have trouble walking up narrow steps be aware, of course most people that go the Galapagos are pretty hale and hearty as we are! We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and it was all made to order in a small kitchen next to the pool. The ceviche is wonderful as is the fresh fruit and fish dishes. There is wifi if you need it although I decided to be unconnected on this trip by choice! The rooms were clean and we had plenty of fresh purifed water for us to use. There were sea lions on the steps leading to our hotel entry which I thought was very charming.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms on the very top of the hotel so you can look out towards the sea.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwomanDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear travelwomanNewMexico,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us a comment, on behalf our team we are happy you chose us to enjoy your vacations in Galapagos. We are glad you had a good time at Casa Opuntia and also to hear you founded everything nice and charming. You can be sure next time you visit us it will be even better.
We will be waiting for your soon return,

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This hotel is part of a group of hotels, but the "feel" is mom-and-pop. The property started out small but is being added to on a daily basis. There may be some light construction noise during the day, but mostly this property is very quiet. There are only 11 rooms and each is air conditioned. The rooms are all quirky, clean, and well equipped. I was in room 11 and it looked like it was new. It had a large balcony that had a view of the waterfront with sail boats in the distance. Floors are tile and this room had a nice large shower area and a room safe. I must have been far away from a water heater because it took a long time before hot water reached the shower, and it continued to be hot for a short time. (hint: take a quick shower!) There are unmarked dispensers in the bath and I had to ask which was shampoo and which was soap. When I came back after my tour they were labeled! Other guests with me said they had an occasional teeny ant in their room, but this is a remote hotel with lots of open windows so some ants come with the ambiance.

Meals are served to order and not buffet, but were ample and served in courses. Even breakfast had several courses of wonderful food. Be sure to check out the lady in the outdoor kitchen and tip her well if you enjoy the food. Only one staff person spoke fluent English, but everyone understood some English.

This hotel is right on the waterfront and along a nice "boardwalk" of sorts for strolling. You'll have to walk around sea lions, which are all over the boardwalk and on the steps leading to the hotel. You'll definitely have a chance to see wildlife up close and personal.

Rooms do not have a hairdryer, but if you email them ahead of time they will have a hair dryer waiting on you at checkin. WIFI is available if you are in the area of the reception/office. Beer and wine are available on an honor system; you order at dinner and then pay at the office.

If you want a quiet place to stay that is not overrun with tourist and has a friendly staff then this is your hotel on San Cristobol Island.

Room Tip: Go for room 11 which has one queen bed and a beautiful view of the water.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela M, customer service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Westgalady:

Thank you very much to take a time to write this review, on behalf of our team we want to thank you for staying with us. We will make sure to share your words with all our staff, as I can say also that your opinion is extremely important for us to improve our service. Our Quality Service supervisor will take immediate actions in order to make your next visit an unforgettable experience.
We will be waiting for you to return soon to Casa Opuntia.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The rooms are very nice, clean and spacious. View breathtaking. Food and staff excellent. The only thing that could use some help are the bathrooms. Need some maintance- handles fall off, nowhere to put anything, need some shelves.

Room Tip: The top rooms have the best view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveler2012195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerService C, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Worldtraveler2012195,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review! On behalf of our team we want to thank you for staying with us. We will make sure to share your words with our staff. Kindly note that we are in the process of maintenance, and every suggestion to help us improve our service is very much welcome. Our Quality Service supervisor will take immediate actions.
We will be waiting for your soon return to our idyllic seventh heaven!
Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

To be honest, when we first arrived, we were surprised and dismayed at the room we were given. Located in the back of the establishment by the pool, we found our room to be in serious disrepair - broken fixtures, tattered walls and linens, etc. We understand September is the time when repairs are usually made, and perhaps maintenance of this room was overlooked prior to our arrival. But even if the room had been clean and well maintained, be aware that its location is next to the kitchen where breakfasts are made, so you will be awakened early in the morning (before 7 am) by the clang and clatter of pots and pans, etc. There also seemed to be a lot of chatter late in the evening, possibly amongst those working on/at the hotel during this time.

That being said, we were lucky that for our second night, we were able to move to one of the
upstairs, ocean-facing rooms, which was nicer. It had been more recently maintained, and is the reason i give a rating of 4 stars above. If i had to rate our stay based on the first room, i would have given 2 stars. The rooms upstairs are nicer, and worth the price. The breakfast is very good - fresh juice, fruit, pancakes or quiche, coffee, etc. The place also offers laundry service at a reasonable price and free wifi.

We did have issues with the plumbing, however - no hot water from the bathroom sink, and the shower water temperature fluctuated frequently from cold to scalding hot. To be fair, we've stayed in many hotels throughout South America, including upscale 4 and 5 star hotels, and found this kind of plumbing problem.

Room Tip: Only reserve the upstairs ocean-facing rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mh_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerService C, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear Mh_traveler,
Thank you for your sincere review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the delicious breakfast we offer to our guest, we try to pay special attention to these kind of details in order to make every guest experience unforgettable. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with the first room assigned to you. We are aware that our rooms require some maintenance and indeed September has been assigned to do improvements. We usually offer rooms with ocean view to our guest when they are available; unfortunately they weren’t available for the whole period you wanted to stay with us, that is why a different room was given to you at the beginning.
Thanks again for choosing us and we will await your return to our precious islands!

Kind Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Spent two days at this hotel and loved it. A basic but very clean room with a million dollar view.
The meals were fantastic and the location was perfect. The service was what really made our stay fantastic. Every employee along with the owner not only made us feel special but also made us feel like family. The view from the room as well as the dining area was "the million dollar view".
Hats off to the staff.

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerService C, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Kathy P,
Thank you for your fantastic words! We are proud to count with top-notch professionals, who are working in every area of our Casa Opuntia and their passionate work is reflected day by day with the services provided to our guest. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff.
Again thank you and we will expect your return to our paradise.
Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews