We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa(Puerto Baquerizo Moreno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orca(San Cristobal)
View Hotel
Galapagos Sunset(Puerto Baquerizo Moreno)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miconia(San Cristobal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mar Azul(San Cristobal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Chatham(Puerto Baquerizo Moreno)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pikaia Lodge(Santa Cruz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
78
82
38
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
82
38
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionscevicheadventure lifehot waterstaff was very friendly and helpfulbreakfast tablethe hotel managerbathroom sinklaundry serviceour tour guidelovely spotthe ocean view roomremote islandclean hotelfull service hotelblue footed boobiesroom number
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location of the property is fabulous and the the wait staff is so friendly! The hotel itself needs some help. Junk around the pool, worn rooms. Management/owners spent money embroidering the towels and putting their logo on the highly overpriced bottles of wine (neither of which are important to me as a traveler) rather than into the property itself. Bath water is luke-warm at best. Beds were very firm and comfortable. Was nice to have drinking water in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline C, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mr. 1Sandlover,

Thank you for taking the time to review Casa Opuntia Hotel! Let us share with you that we have started a maintenance program in our hotel to update the façade, rooms and surroundings, some corrective measures have been already implemented and we will continue this process until we cover every corner. We will make sure to find a viable solution to provide hot water on the showers. Regarding the price of the wine, kindly note that in our country there is a high tax on imported luxury items such as wine and any licuor, therefore a bottle of wine may seem overpriced to your eyes. However there is nothing we can do about it.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we assure you that every comment written is seriously taken to improve our service.

Warm Regards,

Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal- Galapagos Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked a room through their website several months ago and received an email stating that they confirmed our reservation for 5/27/2014 and 5/31/2014 at such and such rate for such and such rooms. Upon arrival I presented photocopies of the reservation to help them with knowing which reservation we were. They said we didn't have a reservation and that their email confirming our reservation wasn't a "real" reservation because they hadn't sent a subsequent confirmation email following the first confirmation email. The hotel was booked and he had no rooms for us. he said the room we requested was available for the day we were coming back on the 31st and he took our passport information and reserved it for us. We then had to stay at a hotel nearby that was $25 more.

When we returned for the last day of our trip, we were once again told we didn't have a reservation and that the rooms were not available. Once again we had to go to a different hotel.

Very frustrating experience. I'm sure the rooms are decent and the views are good but their reservation department is terrible. We ended up staying at the Miconia next door which has views that are just as good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank dapperdanarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline C, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Mr. Dapperdanarnett,

Thank you for your comment. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences this situation may cause you. However, I believe it necessary to clarify some points related to our reservation process. According to our policies, in order to reconfirm a reservation we request to receive an initial nonrefundable deposit, which is calculated as 20% of the total cost of the trip and we require full payment 60 days prior to the date that services are scheduled to begin. Unfortunately we didn’t receive response from your side so we understood that you were no longer interested in reconfirming the reservation and you booking was released. Once you were in Galapagos our team tried to assist you, but it was impossible as the hotel was fully booked, we let you know we had rooms available for your next stay but you did not want to pay in advance, so we just made an optional booking. Once you came back you didn’t want to stay and you decided to book other property, please notice that we didn’t reject your reservation. We are truly sorry about what happened and the miscommunications.

Every comment of our guest is welcome and we make sure this kind of situations won’t happen in the future. Again thank you for your time and we sincerely hope that you enjoyed your stay in the enchanted islands.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal-Galapagos Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My family and I had an incredible experience staying at Casa Opuntia Galapagos. Everything was first class from the food to the room acamodations to our daily adventures. The guiding was top notch and the tours with Ecuador Adventures were incredible to say the least. I would highly recommend this company to anyone who is considering visiting the Galapagos Islands.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank panamasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely spot, walking distance to everything. Ocean views. Great breakfast, more than the standard continental breakfasts, eggs cooked fresh. Nice swimming pool out back. Shower in the room not so great, water wasn't always hot and you couldn't adjust the spray so it was a challenge. I would definitely stay here again though. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Not wheelchair friendly, many stairs both to get to the hotel from the main street and to get to the upper rooms; no elevators.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms were very nice. Only choose upper rooms if you are okay with stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for one night at end of April. Initial impressions were very good and staff friendly and helpful. Our room (No 7) along with another (6?) was situated on slope under the main building and just below the level of the swimming pool. Arrived back from a local restaurant to find it infested with ants and we did not leave a light on! Nobody about and we had to be up early to get the speedboat to Santa Cruz so put up with our lot! Agents said it was best on the island! Certainly not, in our view. Can't comment on much else although they did have a nice light breakfast for us before we left.

Room Tip: Try a room above ground level!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews