We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Quick Stay at Casa Opuntia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Quick Stay at Casa Opuntia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2015

After we had a fantastic time aboard the La Pinta yacht, we stayed in San Cristobal for two nights. The hotel is located in a great place right in the center of the town, very close to at least two great restaurants. The two rooms we rented for me and my kids were extremely spacious and comfortable. The service was good and it felt very homey. For example, there were hammocks on the balconies, which we all clamored to sit on. There are many interesting places to go to not very far from the hotel. If you take a short twenty minute walk from hotel you will get to a great snorkeling place where we went once and had a great time. Our stay was short but we definitely had a fantastic time! If we ever go back to the Galapagos we'll certainly think of coming back to Casa Opuntia!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have it, but be sure to get a room with a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYork168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    69
    32
    12
    9
See reviews for
34
82
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

The staff were incredibly welcoming - San Cristobel is a very relaxing island, and we felt well looked after during our stay. I loved the dining area, overlooking the sea. You can walk from the hotel along the seafront of shops and sea lions, I could have stayed longer.

The rooms were comfortable, the laundry service was prompt and the kids enjoyed the pool. The hotel needs to do a more thorough cockroach sweep, as that was a bit off-putting but that is perhaps part of the Galapagos wildlife experience!

Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rhubarb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampico, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2015

The view is great, location is defenitely what you are paying for, because the hotel itself lacks Cleanness there was some insects in the walls... It was not that many but still for the Price you are paying it is way too bad that this happens, the beds are not confortable... The town is ok but the people is rude, so please if you go there go in a cruise, DO NOT STAY IN THE ISLAND!!! And whatever you do please do not take the ferry to the other islands, it is the worst trip EVER!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2015

We really like this Hose/Hotel the location couldn't be better, the view from our ocean front room was nice. The service at the hotel was very nice, the person handling our reservation made few mistakes but she apologized and offer a 10% discount so that was good. The breakfast that was included with the room its delicious. The rooms are old and need maintenance, walls are dirty and haven't been painted in a while, one part of the ceiling was coming off and the air conditioning its very noisy. But as a whole experience we loved this hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: They make you feel special at breakfast service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepecarmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2015

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful hotel, the service was great and the staff was very helpful. Alex & Jennifer at the front desk were kind the Manager was able to answer any questions also gave to us his personal number for emergency
We really enjoyed the meals here especially Paella, the accommodations were comfortable and the hotel far exceed our expectations.

Room Tip: #2 is the best place to enjoy the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable. It is situated at the quieter end of the main street with lovely views of the port. The main disappointment was that even though we had paid for a room with an ocean view there were none available.

Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lin602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2015

This hotel is in a good location, right on the main strip (if you can call it that not much there). The hotel has 2 nice pools and a restaurant. The alcohol is self serve honor system - you write down what you took. The beer was priced well at $3.50 but the wine was $10 a glass, which was bizarre as that is how much a bottle costs in the corner store. The room was spacious, clean and nice. The beds were small (double) and thus not comfortable for North american standards (we are both skinny btw). The AC was either full blast or off. When off the room smelled a bit so freezing is better. The views from restaurant are really nice. The breakfast was great. Dinner was really disappointing and hugely overpriced. Wifi worked at lobby area only. But at least it worked. I would not return to galapagos. It is highly over rated. Perhaps boat cruise is the only way to go. Jennifer at front desk was nice.

Room Tip: Our room was old, try to get a newer room
See more room tips
Green Features: Surprisingly I don't think galapagos is really into the environmental practices
  • Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
#2 of 14 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Opuntia Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Property: Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Address: Charles Darwin S/N | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 179217, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Opuntia Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Casa Opuntia is our landmark hotel in San Cristobal Island. We offer 13 comfort class rooms, some with ocean front balconies, as well as a common seating and lounging area overlooking the boardwalk. You are only a few meters away from Playa de Oro Beach and from the small, lazy port town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno. Take a refreshing dip in our small, fresh-water swimming pool while you enjoy a cocktail before sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Opuntia Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Hotel Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing