We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ocean views!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Ocean views!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2015

Best location on the Boardwalk. We got room 2 which is on top level with ocean view and hammock in balcony. The view was absolutely beautiful with views of the pier, and sounds of sea lions. Just minutes from the ferry, shops, and restaurants. Hot water really does work in shower. Use the left knob and just slightly open it and it gets hot with good pressure. Jennifer was very nice to us. Free drinking water, coffee and tea all day. Free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was nicely presented with hot toast, butter, jam; a pitcher of cranberry juice, large omelet, fresh fruit.....all served with an ocean view!!!

Room Tip: room 1 and 2 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyHNLGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, 12 November 2015
Dear Scotty,
We, at Casa Opuntia, truly appreciate your kind words and are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. The views, the ocean breeze, the exuberant tamed wildlife and the exquisite food are the perfect elements to create unforgettable moments. We hope to have you back as our special guest in the near future.
The Casa Opuntia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    69
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
82
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2015

Overall not a bad place but when paying $150/night I did expect hot water for a shower. Nope, never had a hot shower over the three days that I stayed here. My friends stayed in a place at $60/night and had how water. I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2015, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, costumer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, 27 October 2015
Dear Don G.
Thank you for taking your time to review Casa Opuntia Hotel! Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
Kindly note that we have started a maintenance program in our hotel to find a viable solution to continuously provide hot water on the showers! I really hope you had informed us about this during your stay in order to solve the issue immediately and avoid an unpleasant situation.

Thank you again for choosing our services and we assure you that every comment written is seriously taken to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2015

This hotel is located right on the waterfront, near the end of the main road. This means your views over the nearby sandy bay are excellent. You can easily hear the sea lions from your bedroom. Our room was on the top floor at the front of the building with a little balcony and hammock.

The room is quite bland, but large enough with a double bed and a single. Large windows, so the room was bright. Oddly, when the wind blew (and if all the windows are shut), it sounds like gale-force winds outside, when in fact, it's just a breeze.

This hotel seems to cater to large groups, but accommodates them in a separate building out back. So, couples can easily enjoy a quieter stay at the front. Breakfast is served in the patio garden area, often at communal tables. Wifi is only available here. Breakfast was good, with a different variety of food served each morning.

We would stay here again, as it appeared to be one of the better choices on San Cristobal.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Axe,

We truly appreciate your comments and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Galapagos is a magical place and we hope to have you back soon!
The Casa Opuntia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2015

San Cristobel is an amazing little town, with seals just hanging out anywhere where there is shade. This hotel was in an awesome location right by the water and the view from the eating area was great. We stayed there one night before our dive live aboard and then one night on our return. The room we stayed in first was OK but the bed was fairly uncomfortable and the room was stuffy as we could not get the air con to work properly.. On our return though we were upgraded and had an awesome room and did not need air conditioning as we had a lovely through draft. The main issue with this hotel generally is that the shower water was never hot, only tepid at best. After our live aboard we were so looking forward to a good hot shower!

Room Tip: Get a room with a couple of windows which creates a nice through breeze.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel was very environmentally friendly with the usual requests for re using towels etc
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Richard M,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear you had some issues on your first stay and hope your second stay was pleasant at the upgraded room! Being an island there are always some problems with the provisions of fresh water in San Cristobal, that causes some inconvenience with our showers and having hot water. We are working on solving that for good.

We really hoe you enjoyed your stay at Casa Opuntia and hope to have you as our guests again soon.

The Casa Opuntia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKLEY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days and have no complaints about this hotel. Staff was friendly, they had a Fantastic breakfast with homemade juices,granola and yogurt plus more. Other meals here were also great. The rooms all had air conditioning and there were several small pools on the grounds. I didn't use the pools but they looked nice and clean.

Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank irishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthEasternUS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2015

This was brilliant, it was walking distance from the collection point for the end of the tour for everyone to return to the airport for their onward flights. I wanted to spend a few days relaxing before we returned to the mainland to catch onward flights to Peru. This turned out to be an act of genius on my part, because after 7 days on a boat, we literally were practically falling over when we walked and were in no shape to fly much less climb a mountain!
The location is just as pictured, our room had an uninterrupted view of the ocean (not all rooms do) from the 2nd floor (no elevator). The staff collected our things, carried them up, opened up the room and let us be. With the intention of freshening up and going out for a bite, we collapsed on the comfortable beds and slept for hours in the middle of the day. The temperature was perfect, the room was quiet and no-one bothered us during this unexpected nap. We were directed to a "local laundry" around the corner where we dropped off all of our soggy and smelly clothes from our trip (it was a Sunday) and they told us we could come back either later in the day or the next day to pick them up. This was fantastic as we weren't likely to have a chance to get laundry done prior to the next leg of our trip. Oh and it was cheap.
Since it was Sunday not much was opened, but we were able to find food and were basically the only tourists in town as this was the lull time between the tour departures and the new arrivals. The locals were very friendly and everyone spoke Spanish and English, mostly everyone had a business, yet no-one hounded you for tips or pushed you to buy things (the cruises make too much of a point of reminding you about the tipping, so although as American's it is our custom, this starts to rub you to irritation after awhile) The hotel staff, restaurant staff, shop vendors, etc have a very relaxed attitude about everything, as a result we were able to truly relax too.
Breakfast was on the back porch outside, very lovely, but the birds are tricky and bold, so watch your food! The seals are everywhere, which is kind of cool and a bit wacky.
The taxi from the hotel back to the airport was about $5 USD. I hope to return for another boat trip (different islands) and would definitely stay a few days before and after again. The only con was the water pressure in the shower, more like a dribble, but in all fairness we never said anything so they never had a chance to correct.

Room Tip: For a room with an unobstructed view ask for a higher floor; Check water pressure at checkin. Ground...
See more room tips
Green Features: None that I noticed that I can comment on, took no notice.
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPro2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to our Galapagos cruise and were so delighted wit everything about this hotel. Our room was so bright and spacious, clean, great view, a deck with a hammock...we loved it. Breakfast was very good. We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff but they certainly seemed accomodating and pleasant. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ndallisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann Hotel
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann Hotel
#2 of 14 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Opuntia Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Property: Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Address: Charles Darwin S/N | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 179217, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Opuntia Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Casa Opuntia is our landmark hotel in San Cristobal Island. We offer 13 comfort class rooms, some with ocean front balconies, as well as a common seating and lounging area overlooking the boardwalk. You are only a few meters away from Playa de Oro Beach and from the small, lazy port town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno. Take a refreshing dip in our small, fresh-water swimming pool while you enjoy a cocktail before sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Opuntia Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Hotel Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing