We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
93
85
38
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
85
38
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions ceviche hot water breakfast table the hotel manager hotel is in a great location juice lovely spot staff were incredibly helpful full service hotel laundry service room number crepes blue footed boobies ocean front nice pool the ocean view room
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Overall not a bad place but when paying $150/night I did expect hot water for a shower. Nope, never had a hot shower over the three days that I stayed here. My friends stayed in a place at $60/night and had how water. I cannot recommend this place.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 567dong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, costumer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Dear Don G.
Thank you for taking your time to review Casa Opuntia Hotel! Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
Kindly note that we have started a maintenance program in our hotel to find a viable solution to continuously provide hot water on the showers! I really hope you had informed us about this during your stay in order to solve the issue immediately and avoid an unpleasant situation.

Thank you again for choosing our services and we assure you that every comment written is seriously taken to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This hotel is located right on the waterfront, near the end of the main road. This means your views over the nearby sandy bay are excellent. You can easily hear the sea lions from your bedroom. Our room was on the top floor at the front of the building with a little balcony and hammock.

The room is quite bland, but large enough with a double bed and a single. Large windows, so the room was bright. Oddly, when the wind blew (and if all the windows are shut), it sounds like gale-force winds outside, when in fact, it's just a breeze.

This hotel seems to cater to large groups, but accommodates them in a separate building out back. So, couples can easily enjoy a quieter stay at the front. Breakfast is served in the patio garden area, often at communal tables. Wifi is only available here. Breakfast was good, with a different variety of food served each morning.

We would stay here again, as it appeared to be one of the better choices on San Cristobal.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Axe,

We truly appreciate your comments and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Galapagos is a magical place and we hope to have you back soon!
The Casa Opuntia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

San Cristobel is an amazing little town, with seals just hanging out anywhere where there is shade. This hotel was in an awesome location right by the water and the view from the eating area was great. We stayed there one night before our dive live aboard and then one night on our return. The room we stayed in first was OK but the bed was fairly uncomfortable and the room was stuffy as we could not get the air con to work properly.. On our return though we were upgraded and had an awesome room and did not need air conditioning as we had a lovely through draft. The main issue with this hotel generally is that the shower water was never hot, only tepid at best. After our live aboard we were so looking forward to a good hot shower!

Room tip: Get a room with a couple of windows which creates a nice through breeze.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Richard M,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear you had some issues on your first stay and hope your second stay was pleasant at the upgraded room! Being an island there are always some problems with the provisions of fresh water in San Cristobal, that causes some inconvenience with our showers and having hot water. We are working on solving that for good.

We really hoe you enjoyed your stay at Casa Opuntia and hope to have you as our guests again soon.

The Casa Opuntia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days and have no complaints about this hotel. Staff was friendly, they had a Fantastic breakfast with homemade juices,granola and yogurt plus more. Other meals here were also great. The rooms all had air conditioning and there were several small pools on the grounds. I didn't use the pools but they looked nice and clean.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank irishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This was brilliant, it was walking distance from the collection point for the end of the tour for everyone to return to the airport for their onward flights. I wanted to spend a few days relaxing before we returned to the mainland to catch onward flights to Peru. This turned out to be an act of genius on my part, because after 7 days on a boat, we literally were practically falling over when we walked and were in no shape to fly much less climb a mountain!
The location is just as pictured, our room had an uninterrupted view of the ocean (not all rooms do) from the 2nd floor (no elevator). The staff collected our things, carried them up, opened up the room and let us be. With the intention of freshening up and going out for a bite, we collapsed on the comfortable beds and slept for hours in the middle of the day. The temperature was perfect, the room was quiet and no-one bothered us during this unexpected nap. We were directed to a "local laundry" around the corner where we dropped off all of our soggy and smelly clothes from our trip (it was a Sunday) and they told us we could come back either later in the day or the next day to pick them up. This was fantastic as we weren't likely to have a chance to get laundry done prior to the next leg of our trip. Oh and it was cheap.
Since it was Sunday not much was opened, but we were able to find food and were basically the only tourists in town as this was the lull time between the tour departures and the new arrivals. The locals were very friendly and everyone spoke Spanish and English, mostly everyone had a business, yet no-one hounded you for tips or pushed you to buy things (the cruises make too much of a point of reminding you about the tipping, so although as American's it is our custom, this starts to rub you to irritation after awhile) The hotel staff, restaurant staff, shop vendors, etc have a very relaxed attitude about everything, as a result we were able to truly relax too.
Breakfast was on the back porch outside, very lovely, but the birds are tricky and bold, so watch your food! The seals are everywhere, which is kind of cool and a bit wacky.
The taxi from the hotel back to the airport was about $5 USD. I hope to return for another boat trip (different islands) and would definitely stay a few days before and after again. The only con was the water pressure in the shower, more like a dribble, but in all fairness we never said anything so they never had a chance to correct.

Room tip: For a room with an unobstructed view ask for a higher floor; Check water pressure at checkin. Ground floor will not likely have of a view
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelPro2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews