We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed at Casa Opuntia for a couple nights in February 2010.
This place is located right at the harbor, very convenient.
The broad walk is right in front of the hotel.
Our room was okay, very basic. It was clean.
We had a patio right outside our room. The patio faces the harbor, so nice view. The pool is in bad shape. The two days were were there, we didn't see anyone using it.
We had lunch and breakfast at Casa Opuntia. The meals were actually pretty good. There were only a few employees working there. I think there were a couple ladies who cleaned the room. One guy was the cook and another who seemed to do everything (shopping for groceries, served food during meal, and cleaned the common areas); he was the most helpful among them, so we tipped him well. By the way, if you don't speak Spanish, it may be tough to communicate with any of the staff. It may help if you prepare and bring along some common phrases or words in Spanish.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OU_Grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolinaOpuntia, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2010

We certainly appreciate your positive comments on our location and rooms. Indeed, the pool was not working properly during your stay in Febraury due to a breakdown at the pool system. Very unfortunately we were not able to fix this right away, mainly because we are on an island, and spare parts coming from continental Ecuador take at least 4 days to reach San Cristobal. We are glad to inform that now the pool is in optimal conditions with crystal clear water. We also like to let you know, that new management has join the hotel and our customer services has been straightened to guarantee improved English skills for best guest satisfaction. It is important to know that Galapagos island laws do not allow non Galapagos residents to live or work in the islands for this reason it is not easy to find English speaking employees. Thank you again for the opportunity of allowing us to improve our service, with your feedback we have taken the corrective measure to guarantee an excellent experience for all our guests.
Sincerely,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal - Galapagos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank k0n0max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María José A, Guest Experience at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kh-in-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gonzalo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Opuntia_Hotel, Coordinador de Marketing at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
85 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Opuntia Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Address: Charles Darwin S/N | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 179217, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range: £94 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Opuntia Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Casa Opuntia is our landmark hotel in San Cristobal Island. We offer 13 comfort class rooms, some with ocean front balconies, as well as a common seating and lounging area overlooking the boardwalk. You are only a few meters away from Playa de Oro Beach and from the small, lazy port town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno. Take a refreshing dip in our small, fresh-water swimming pool while you enjoy a cocktail before sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Opuntia Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Hotel Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing