We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodations & helpful, knowledgable owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galapagos Eco Friendly
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in March. This place was a bit out of our normal price range but in this case was well worth the extra costs. The room was new, spacious and spotless. The breakfast on the upper terrace was fantastic and the family and staff were very helpful. Taking the advice of Harry and Lucretia made for a great stay on San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLB123go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Friendly, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Your remarks and support of our hotel are so appreciated. We've made every effort to provide the amenities, service, comfort and extras of a luxurious five-star hotel at affordable prices. The result has been incredibly gratifying to us. We don't know anyone's expectations or experiences before they arrive. We have found consistently, however, that travelers, like you, who "stretch" beyond their normal budgets, as well as those who usually spend more and have some trepidation because they are under their usual budgets, leave here feeling hugely satisfied and even surprised. Yes, it's possible to give first-class service and to get even more than what you pay for. The Galapagos Eco-Lodge is our family's labor of love to our guests from all over the world. Thank you for review. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Galapagos Ecolodge is a fabulous place to stay and very reasonably priced. Harry and Lucretia go "above and beyond" to ensure each guest enjoys their stay on the beautiful island of San Cristobal. We especially loved the safe, quiet and convenient location, nestled on the hillside in a friendly Ecuadorian neighborhood, just a short walk. bike ride (bikes available for guest use) or speedy taxi ride (only $1.00 and always available) from the boardwalk...no nighttime city noise or smells of sea lions in our rooms! The air conditioned rooms are spacious and immaculately clean with comfortable beds. A full and delicious Ecuadorian breakfast is served daily (including fresh fruit parfaits, pancakes, omelettes, french toast, etc.) on the veranda with stunning views overlooking the city and shoreline. Harry is an accomplished wildlife photographer and his photos are a beautiful addition to the decor in the rooms and courtyard walls. Outdoors in the courtyard, there are nice spaces to gather and relax with covered hammocks, tables and lounge chairs. Harry is a park naturalist, very knowledgeable about the islands and was a great resource in scheduling excursions, arranging transportation and suggesting great local places to eat. Harry and Lucretia are wonderful hosts and welcome each guest as family. We look forward to our next visit to the Galapagos Ecolodge!

Room Tip: We had three ground floor rooms that faced the courtyard and they were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcreedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Friendly, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

It was a delight hosting you and your family - not to exaggerate, but we thought you were "fabulous" too! Lucrecia certainly does put on a spread each morning in order to start your day and nature does the rest by granting us the most stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. As you mention, our new restful patio and hammock area has been a big hit with all of our guests who enjoy the peace and quiet in the shade at the end of a day full of hiking, snorkeling and sight seeing. Our newly completed endemic geological lava gardens represent the volcanic flora of the Galapagos. We always make sure that the rooms remain clean, perfectly maintained and pollen-free, so the plants are located in the front of the hotel. San Cristobal was initially a very poor village. Now, with hard work and effort by all of its citizens, the island is becoming more attractive every day. With that development, downtown Puerto Baquerizo Moreno inevitably has grown to be - by Galapagos standards - a busy, noisy and bustling city. That's the reason we built our hotel just a few moments away, high on the hill with easy access to town, but the benefits of a gorgeous vista and quiet serenity. At the Galapagos Eco-Lodge we provide these considerable amenities hand-in-hand with conservation of our stunning environment. Thank you for your complimentary words about the room decor. We hope that by adding personal touches even indoors you never lose the sense that you are situated in the Galapagos Islands. We appreciate your thoughtful remarks, but not quite as much as we appreciate having you as new-found friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Galapagos Eco Lodge is a truly wonderful place. The rooms are new and immaculate, hot water is plentiful and the view from the breakfast terrace is stunning. Breakfasts are delicious and very large. Most people will not need lunch after one of Lucretia's breakfasts. Harry and his family are really wonderful, helpful people that understand what customer service is. They are always doing things to make their property more attractive. The new shaded area with hammocks is wonderful. The mattresses are of the highest quality, unlike many hotels. I have stayed several times and will continue to return to and to recommend Galapagos Eco Lodge. The hotel is located at the top of town but it is a short safe walk down to the harbour. The tranquility of the place is well worth the walk. Do not let the location deter you. It is not far and transportation is readily available. They now have bicycles for those that don't want to walk down into the centre of town. The Eco Lodge is excellent value and Harry is very knowledgeable about the islands and the wildlife. You won't find better hosts or better service in San Cristobal. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Wifi in San Cristobal is never very reliable or fast. Ask for room 1 or 2 to be closest to the route...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southern_stingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Friendly, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Wow! How do I respond to such a generous and supportive review? Your comments are exactly on point and show that you do really appreciate and understand the purpose and direction of the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. Of course, customer service is always number one. We get delight and motivation from providing delicious, satisfying and versatile breakfasts, arranging trips and excursions, seeing to our guests' particular needs and anticipating their wants (thus the additional of bicycles). You've even taken the time to recognize details such as high quality fixtures, plumbing extras and mattresses. I'm glad that you mention wifi service as well. Throughout Galapagos, wifi is at a premium and, to those of us who were born here, the fact that there is internet is a miracle. In fact, Galapagos had no wifi service at all until recently. If it's a little "iffy" from time to time, that's just part of the charm of being in this remote living museum we know as paradise! Thank you for visiting San Cristobal and writing such a lovely review of the Galapagos Eco-Lodge, a natural destination! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lucretia, Harry's wife is a great cook, didn't need lunch, French toast, pancakes and more! Great view only at breakfast, if you have the bottom units. There is an area to sit outside and hammocks.
Harry is helpful organising trips and very friendly. The place is up a hill but easy to walk down town
And if need to, catch a taxi $1.00 and available always.

Room Tip: If you don't want to drag bags upstairs ground floor is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wally5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Friendly, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Our guests come from around the world and often, like you (coming from Australia), make a long and arduous trip to get to the Galapagos Islands. That effort deserves to be rewarded and the comfort, pleasure and service provided at the Galapagos Eco-Lodge is meant to be one such reward. It was my pleasure to help you with travel plans and itineraries and to contribute to making your vacation to this destination worthwhile. Also, at the hotel we are dedicated to providing the best and freshest food, sourced from local purveyors whenever possible. We appreciate that you recognized Lucrecia's fulfilling breakfasts as the perfect start to a day of touring and adventures. The view is indeed a luxury that can exist only at the top of the hill and having that vista is well worth a little walk into town. Thank you very much for your thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Galapagos Eco Lodge. Harry (the owner) and his wife were very helpful with our booking, transportation and accommodation.
Our room was clean and cozy. The breakfast was delicious and the view from the dining veranda was breath taking. I wish we could stay there longer.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for the Galapagos visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AngelaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry J, Owner at Galapagos Eco Friendly, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Lucrecia and I appreciate your comments about the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. We wish you could have stayed longer as well! It was our pleasure to help make your trip to Galapagos, and particularly to the beautiful island of San Cristobal, memorable, happy and relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Galapagos Eco Lodge. Our room was clean and comfortable and even had a small refrigerator. Breakfast was delicious and had a fantastic view over the ocean. Harry, the owner, organized for us wonderful outings. He even picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to go to the Galapagos.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank barton04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Friendly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Galapagos Eco-Lodge. I've said many times that I get my greatest pleasure from introducing our guests to the remarkable beauty and diversity of the Galapagos Islands and learning from them that I contributed to a memorable experience. We are able to do this by planning the best trips for you, giving you lodging that is clean and equipped with modern and comfortable amenities, providing you with a gorgeous vista, feeding you delicious food and anticipating your needs. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again some day. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We completely enjoyed our stay here. From the booking process on, Harry (the owner) could not have been more helpful. He advised us on tours and scheduled activities to help us get the most out of our 4 days stay. We booked 2 rooms which were both very clean and comfortable. Lucretia's breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the view from the restaurant situated on the 3rd floor was spectacular. You won't be disappointed in your stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open onto the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galapagosecolodge, Owner at Galapagos Eco Friendly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

It's easier to be a "fabulous" hotel when we are graced with fabulous guests such as yourselves. Seriously, I enjoyed every minute with you and planning your days was my privilege. Galapagos is a special destination and it is critical to me that our guests and friends are introduced to experiences that match and exceed their expectations. So, I am committed to doing everything I can to make your stay memorable and meaningful by contributing comfort, luxury, service and a gorgeous view. Of course, I can take no credit for that phenomenal breakfast; Lucrecia really does a wondrous job in the kitchen as well as in maintaining the hotel in pristine condition. Thank you my friends for writing and praising the hotel on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.5 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#3 of 8 in San Cristobal
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Zayapa Hotel
La Zayapa Hotel
#3 of 16 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Eco Friendly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Eco Friendly

Address: Av. 12 de Febrero and Jaime Roldos | San Cristobal Island, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 200150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galapagos Eco Friendly 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Galapagos Luxury, Ecological Integrity" - These are the words that best describe Galapagos Eco Friendly. A family-run hotel and bed and breakfast in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno on San Cristobal Island, we are dedicated to being environmentally friendly and to ecological sustainability, and pride ourselves on our consistently high level of personal service. We are certified as an eco-tourism destination by the Galapagos Ministry of Tourism and a Green Leader with TripAdvisor. Guests from around the world enjoy combining the services of a personalized boutique hotel with all the comforts and luxurious amenities of home. Located on a hill with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean and sunset, we are just moments from the harbor and center of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, the provincial capital of the Galapagos Islands. Our owner, Harry Jimenez, is a guide certified by the Galapagos National Park Service and will personally help you arrange your tours and excursions to some of the most important, scenic and dramatic visitor and tour sites in the Galapagos - indeed, anywhere in the world. Be sure to visit Harry's personal and extensive blog for an introduction to the wonders of our Galapagos Islands paradise and to help you plan your trip of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Galapagos Eco Friendly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Eco Friendly Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing