We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOKING FOR A BETTER PLACE??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Los Algarrobos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOOKING FOR A BETTER PLACE??”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was my 4th time visiting galapagos and since the first time I have never doubt staying here...everytime I go back the hotel gets better! This time I stayed for 8 days and I found out that they were just working on installing new things in the rooms and painting them and everything that, but this was not a big deal because the owners normally authorize the workers to work (noisily) when all the guests are out having trips or whatever.. one day I came back early and they inmediately ordered the man to stop working..and they continued the next day, this was a very polite and considerable thing from the owner. They took me for free to a city tour around the island, they are very nice and kind people, all the staff is very helpful and they are always trying to make it feel like home. Breakfast is so delicious. The location is great! 7 minutes away from the airport and 3 minutes away from the beach and harbour (walking), rooms are so neat and clean, very comfortable. Wifi, tv, hot water, refrigerator etc works perfectly. You will feel like home, relaxed and the best part is that the owner is always there trying to solve any problem with a lot of patience. I couldn' t imagine a better place in San Cristobal, I guarantee you that if you are good turist just looking for a great relaxing and homelike hotel..this is the one.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Arianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    38
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
29
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This guesthouse while sporting a good location and with a pleasant outside decor is not the most appealing option to stay in San Cristobal. Most of the rooms are under construction here making for a rather noisy stay. The rooftop deck while nice in the pictures is actually being repaired so completely off-limits to guests. The young male receptionist is friendly but that's about where the complements end. The owner of this guesthouse is extremely rude. She goes out of her way to be unfriendly to guests. Whether its lying about the guesthouse being at capacity when it clearly isn't, cursing at guests over not palcing the key at the left side of the reception desk, or refusing to help elderly people with luggage, she does not understand what customer service is all about. The worst bit from my experience dealt with my medicine. I have ulcers and as such, need to take shots every two weeks. These shots have live cultures in them and thus have to be refrigerated. The medicine is quite expensive (several thousand dollars) and not easily replaced. After explaining this to the owner, she luckily agreed to store my medicine in the downstairs fridge as the room refrigeraters werent working. Yet on the second day when the power went out she refused to let me into the kitchen to check on my medicine. I was forced to enter anyway and take my medicine prematurely as keeping my medicine longer would have ran the risk of it becoming deffective. The owner cursed at me once again for this which is purely wrong. When it comes to somethign serious as taking ulcer shots this is not the way to behave towards company when owner a B&B. I will NEVER stay at this gueshtouse again and highly recommend you to do the same.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms here are uncer construction or near construction. Get one that is not near any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuermadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarrobos H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Los Algarrobos, responded to this review, 26 March 2015
Google Translation
Gracias por sus observaciones, estamos trabajando para mejorar cada dia, esperamos muy pronto su visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here during our visit to San Cristobal and were really impressed by the helpfulness of the staff and everything the place had to offer.

We just showed up at this place without reservations and exhausted after a long boat ride from Santa Cruz. The owner/manager at the front desk didn't speak English well but she immediately had one of her English speaking employees come help us out. We were shown the room that had A/C, which was a boon to tired travelers and we proceeded to take an hour nap right away. Also the cost was only $25 per night and we had a 5 bed room all to ourselves (between the 3 of us) and were told that they would not add any more people during our stay there, which was great for privacy and security.

Further, they gave us free cab rides to the nearby beaches which was going the extra step.

Also they have a computer in the lobby that has a relatively fast Internet connection (especially as cmopared to the places we went to in Santa Cruz)

Finally they did a great job arranging taxi cabs etc. for us for the day tours.

The beds were comfortable, the shower had relatively hot water and great shower pressure.

We felt very welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chazmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Good hostel within walking distance of everything. Breakfast was great on the first day and good on the second day. Hot drinks and water available for free all the time. A/C in the room worked really well. Only complaint is the lack of hot water but we didn't ask how to use it like previous reviews.
Adid on reception gave us great advise on things to do and was really friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Borange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I actually liked staying here and there are so many things that are good about this hotel, that given a cheaper price and some other things, I could have give a "very good" or "excellent" rating instead of just "average". I just really have to be fair because I had such a good experience at other places.

THE GOOD:
- Front desk is great, a very helpful English speaking girl provided lots of info about the area
- Location is good, pretty much walking distance to everywhere, if you want to save the $2 that a typical taxi ride costs.
- The triple room I stayed was spacious and definitely spotless clean. The A/C and the fridge worked just fine.

THE BAD:
- I did not like the breakfast.
- Shower has no proper hot water. See explanation below.
- Rooms could use a paint job.

The breakfast selection is very limited and other than the cereal and milk everything else needed to be ordered and once you order something that's it, no other selection. When we visited the hotel it was either scrambled egg, or a ham and cheese sandwich. No orange juice just some other juice that was so bad we could not really drink it. Call me picky but I left the hotel hungry. There could have been some communication problem with the lady and when I checked at the front desk they told me that the next day they would be offering pancakes too, but it turned out that they could not buy pancake in the supermarket so it was back to ham & cheese sandwich (only 1 per person)

The hot shower in day 1 did not work and we only had cold water (not too cold because we were there during the hot season). The following day they came and fixed the hot shower which is an electric flow through system. The SECRET is that the higher the water pressure the colder the water is. So if you want hot water you need to make sure that the water pressure is low enough so that the electric heater could keep up and warm up the water while the water flows through the pipe. The instruction says to turn the knob 1/4 way but that's really not case.

Hopefully the above description will be helpful for the folks wanting to stay here.
The hotel otherwise is pretty decent if you can live with the breakfast and the hot water situation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ucipass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Owners are great, took us on a quick tour in their own car and showed us places nearby to go to and left us at a nice restaurant on our request. Rooms clean and comfy, hotel spacious and has decent wifi. Best hotel we been in during our one weeks stay in the galapagos. Short walk to the harbour front where the sea lions sleep at night. Breakfast good for its price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Zayapa Hotel
La Zayapa Hotel
#3 of 15 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galapagos Eco Friendly
Galapagos Eco Friendly
#1 of 15 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Algarrobos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Algarrobos

Property: Hotel Los Algarrobos
Address: Av. Quito y Av. Alsacio Northia, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 200150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Los Algarrobos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Los Algarrobos located near the airport of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno on San Cristobal Island, and also its beaches and boardwalk of the island where you can observe sea lions in the wild. It is a modern building with comfortable and cozy rooms have hot water, cable TV, wifi, air conditioner inverter, small fridge, private bathroom. The hotel has a cafe on the terrace with the best view of the shipwreck bay and throughout the City. From here you can enjoy a unique sunset in Galapagos so also observe the arrival of the aircraft to the airport and the arrival of vessels relizan trips to other islands. If your passion is surfing from here can see the waves on Tongo Reef and tip Carola. No doubt we have the best view of the coast. Thanks for choosing us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Algarrobos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Algarrobos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing