We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooms, location, views”
Review of Casa Blanca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Blanca
Bologna
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing rooms, location, views”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Great owner, very friendly.
The place is very nice, kept very clean and has a perfect location and views.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    33
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
52
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Very centrally positioned, a short walk from the wharf (if you are arriving by boat) and a short walk from restaurants and tour operators.
Jackie, the owner, was very nice and helpful and recommended a very good taxi driver to take us on a tour of the highlands.
We got a 2nd floor corner room which was relatively cheap, but if we had of known better we would have got the top floor 'cupola' style accomodation which looked quite interesting and was only slightly more expensive.
The rooms are very eccentrically decorated in kind of a new-age/Spanish mission fusion style (if that makes sense)
We were happy to get air-conditioning, but less happy with the street noise, lack of view, and slightly poorly maintained room (toilet needed fixing and room was slightly dirty).
The other reviews mention the relatively small open-plan rooms, electric shower heads and so on.
It is fine for a night or two, but again we would go the top floor cupola or choose another hotel if we were going to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick__255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The location and external appearance are both great. However, we did not have any water at all for three of the seven nights we stayed here. Even allowing for the poor water supply on San Cristobal, this is unacceptable. Electric shower heaters are very dangerous (neighbouring hotels do not use these). Owner Jackie is very sweet and pleasant but seems unable to deal with complaints. Rooms attractively decorated, but dust everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

First up, I found it difficult to get information about this place, so here is some contact details you might find useful: www.casablancagalapagos.com, [--].

I stayed here with a friend after a dive liveaboard on the Aggressor II, having chosen the place after reading Tripadvisor reviews. The location is absolutely perfect – right on the Charles Darwin avenue in front of the main jetty. I stayed in the Floreana room on the second level, which has a QS bed with clean sheets, air conditioning, ceiling fan, only one power point (which is fine as I bring my own power board for devices), small desk & chair, window seat, shelving & plenty of hooks to hang clothing. The room is open plan with the bathroom situated behind the ‘bed head’ wall – so beware there is very little privacy. The bathroom is very pokey – only one person at a time. Bath towels, floor mats & hand towel are supplied. Water pressure & temperature were bleak. The shower has a tap to turn on but temperature is controlled by three buttons: hot, cold or half/half (see pic of shower head). Ventilation was somewhat poor – no windows you could open at night nor flyscreen on the door. It was noisy at night – but that is what happens when you stay on the main street of town (simple remedy: ear plugs).

I had full next G mobile phone reception. No wifi is offered by the hotel – but you can get free reasonable wifi reception in most of the Galapagos Islands supplied by the government (REDGAL – there are some variations to the name depending on whereabouts you are & on what island). Otherwise, there are internet cafes along the Charles Darwin Avenue. Luggage can be stored upstairs in reception. A quick note when flying out: check your luggage in at the airport in the morning, then taxi it back to town/your hotel (most taxi fares are US$1/person) & spend the rest of the morning cruising around the cafe strip. You only need to be back at the airport 45mins before your flight with your carry on luggage – check in staff will advise you of the exact time you need to be back. The website advises they offer a laundry service.

Jacqui Vazquez is the owner of the Casa Blanca (which is tended to by her & her three daughters) – she originates from Quito but moved to the Galapagos as a child. She is an artist & this is clearly evident through her stunning hotel (built in 2004) which has 4 levels: street level has a gallery/souvenir store with a great cafe/restaurant (where breakfast is usually served – otherwise it is served on the third level, straight out of Jacqui’s personal kitchen!). The second floor has some rooms with the remaining rooms on the third level, along with the hotel reception/Jacqui’s office & personal quarters. The fourth floor is a private dome room. There are a total of seven individually themed & decorated rooms – each with different bedding configurations. Jacqui & her daughters were always happy to help & full of information. They definitely went out of their way to make sure all guests were truly satisfied.

The Charles Darwin Avenue foreshore (similar to a main bay at the end of the tourist strip); has many cafes/restaurants, bank & shops (plenty of souvenir options) - all a short stroll away which becomes lively in attracting tourists after 5pm. It was safe for me to walk this area alone at night. The Charles Darwin Avenue foreshore has stunning cactus gardens and is full of animal life: pelicans, marine iguanas & the infamous sea lions are everywhere basking in the sun! A local resident recommended Rosita Restaurante for dinner (corner Ignacio de Hernandez y Jose Villaml), which was wonderful: US$15 for a drink, garlic bread & scrumptious chicken main meal – highly recommended!! Not to mention the cafe on the street level of Casa Blanca –serving great drinks & delicious meals in a wonderful relaxing island atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

great place to spend the night, maybe two. right across the street from the departure point for most boats, cruises and dive live aboards.
simple accommodations, decent cafe and an exceptionally charming owner.
you may be woken early by the sea lions but that's kind of cool?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My husband and two daughters stayed at this hotel the first two days on San Cristobal Island. Ours was a 'matrimonial' room - why? because there is no door between the bedroom and the toilet area/shower. OK - we're married but geez- a little privacy is still nice. If the bar is busy - it comes right through the floor - very loud! The room behind us was quieter. The room our daughters had was rreat- Two beds, large bathroom with door. Much better - ask for that room if you go. Shower is desalinated water - as on all the islands - so you end up smelling like a sea lion by the end of the trip. Which is an advantage since you'll be swimming with them, too. Food was great! Our guide was incredible, making sure we ate at safe restaurants. Hotel is right next to the ocean so walking at night is fun - lots of iguanas and sea lions. Location excellent. People on San Cristobal are very nice, unassuming but learn some Spanish. Not many English speakers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catgetsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed here one night before we headed back to Ecuador. It is located right across from the boat dock so no taxi is needed if you are coming or going by boat. It has nice views of the harbor with all the boats anchored.
The rooms are comfortable with air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Ours even had a Hammock and a cool mural on the wall. The bathrooms are small with electric on-demand heat for the showers. Our worked fine. It is a little odd having the bathroom only separated by a low wall.
There is a restaurant and bar downstairs. We only had drinks here as we were on a tour with Active South America and our dinner was planned at one of the local restaurants. The town itself is very nice, clean, and safe. Lots of chances for close encounters with sea lions and sea birds. Many small local places to eat along with shops.
Hard to answer the value question as we stayed as part of a 10 day package.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.4 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca

Property: Casa Blanca
Address: Charles Darwin St, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 200150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blanca is an original and artistic Bed & Breakfast located in San Cristobal Island,Galápagos, just in front of the touristic pier and the seafront boulebard. It has six rooms and one suite (dome)with ocean view, an art gallery downstairs and breakfast included at the cafeteria of the house. Each room has its own character and hand made details of the islands. Personalized attention and heplful information for the guests who are always welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing