We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous spot in the Galapagos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galapagos Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot in the Galapagos”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here two nights as an add-on to a cruise. It's a magical place with very comfortable safari tents, an amazing chef, and an unbelievably attentive staff. The sunsets a incredible and Michael and his crew went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for our group.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
58
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Safari Camp is a paradise at the heart of Santa Cruz Island. It's beauty is beyond words, its unique tent-based atmosphere makes and the detailed-orientated service makes the whole experience just espectacular.

Michael and Catherine, the owners, are excellent managers who will make sure your stay is wonderful and will provide with great travel tips.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ikuska_Sanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Galapagos Safari camp is a wonderful place located in the dry forest of Santa Cruz Island in the Galapagos. The owners of the place who are in the lodge most of the time have been able to obtain a delightful concept of an African Safari Camp with a luxury touch and magnificent service. This is for your a treat for passengers staying in this place and exclusivity is offered for families and large groups.
If you are visiting the Galapagos Islands in a cruise and you want to relax in a luxury ambiance after your extreme activities of a cruise, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galapagos-Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband now refers to "eco-lodges" as luxury suffering! This is very true even for the safari camp - you are hardly suffering camping, that's where the luxury comes into play! From a family-welcome, gourmet meals, beautifully appointed tents, serene property, attentive staff, to a refreshing pool. Great experience one night in the tent and then we changed rooms to the suite (not a tent) where we had more space. Liked exploring the area on the ATV to the tortoise farms and lava tunnels. Spent a sunday afternoon in the nearest town "bellavista" for a locals lunch. The hotel manager arranged for us to visit an organic coffee and sugarcane plantation who prided themselves on their artisan ways (rightfully so!) - a highlight of the Galapagos trip. Glad we spent a few days exploring the highlands and the diversity that it offered from the coast. The camp is a halfway point between the airport and the main town Puerto Ayora which are both easy 30 minute drives. A unique experience - the owners certainly have created a thoughtful property in paradise. They should all be like this!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flavorQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Safari Camp at the beginning of our Galapagos island hopping trip for three nights.
The setting of the camp is spectacular. The service is very personal and having Katrien help with daytrips was an extra bonus. The safari camp is a mix of comfort, outdoors, nature, views and gourmet food. We recommend to stay here and enjoy safari camp not only as a base for trips but as a destination by itself!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JWM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The only way to camp, Galapagos Safari Camp is the perfect place to stay if you're looking to escape from it all and be in tune with nature. There are only about 10 tents total which are nicely spaced and offer wonderful views of the surrounding brush and the ocean off in the distance. The lodge - where all meals are served - is a short walk uphill, and there's a beautiful new sunset viewing meditation deck where you can relax with a cocktail or book and take it all in.

The tents are built on platforms about 5' above ground which helps reduce the impact on the land and at least gives you the impression that it separates you from the creepy crawlies. Each tent has a spacious deck off the entrance with a hammock, table & chairs. Inside the tents are sufficiently large with room for a small desk, coffee/tea station, queen bed and bureau (which was very musty therefore went unused). There's a privacy flap that separates the bathroom area from the bedroom, however it's just a nylon wall, so for any shy bathroom users, note that any noise made in the bathroom will easily carry over into the bedroom and the trail that connects to the other tents. There is electricity in the tents as well as a small space heater/cooler. Our only complaint regarding the tents is that the sheets were always damp which made it very difficult to sleep comfortably. We even tried leaving the the space heater on all night and that didn't help. I'm not sure if this can be avoided given the humidity in the air, but it's hard to rate the accommodations as '4-star luxurious' when you're sleeping on wet sheets.

The lodge is beautiful and offers a great variety of indoor & outdoor seating whether just lounging around or eating meals. The views from the lodge are fantastic and inside there's a beautiful stone fireplace with plenty of seating where you can read or enjoy a cocktail along with complimentary water, tea, coffee & snacks. Meals are typically served in a group setting, although if you prefer to be seated separately that can be arranged. The food was very good, but dinner was always a single set menu, which meant that picky eaters who didn't like what was served went hungry. Since there's nowhere nearby to grab food, we would have greatly appreciated having at least one other option to choose from at dinner (portions for the men could have been larger as well). Breakfast was always a great spread with plenty of variety.

Regarding activities, on the island of Santa Cruz we greatly enjoyed seeing the huge tortoises, visiting the Charles Darwin station and kayaking in Tortuga Bay. The marine life in Tortuga Bay is astounding - while kayaking we encountered dozens of sharks, sea turtles, manta rays of several varieties, marine iguanas and even a blue footed booby.

North Seymour Island is about a 1.5hr boat ride and is a nice nesting site for Frigates and Boobies. There are also land iguanas on the island. Sea lions and marine iguanas can be seen on the shore.

Bartolomé Island is about a 3hr boat ride and offers a nice short hike to the top of the old volcano where you'll be treated to stunning views. Most of the island looks like the surface of Mars, but there are some gorgeous beaches on both sides of the island. We were dropped off on a small strip of beach that was separated from another beach on the other side of the island by a small strip of green vegetation (it's the one you can see from the top of the volcano). There's a trail that cuts across which is well worth the short walk as we encountered several sharks and sea turtles (as well as turtle nests) on the other side. There was also a lone penguin that greeted us on the opposite beach.

Plazas Island is a 1hr boat ride where you'll find a large colony of sea lions and their pups. You might even see a large shark prowling the rocky shore for a meal. The landscape on this island is very different from the other 2, making it a nice stop. You'll also see plenty of marine iguanas.

If you're looking for penguins, we were told that Isabela Island is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TruthIsThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We just returned from a Christmas visit to the Galapagos and the Safari Camp. I would recommend staying either before or after a Galapagos cruise. We used the safari camp as our homebase for exploring the Galapagos and I felt the Safari Camp was a little too remote for this to convenient. However, we made it work and we explored the Galapagos with a wonderful guide and returned to the Safari Camp each afternoon/evening for relaxation.

The staff is amazing and will do whatever is possible to accomodate a need or request. The meals are good and served in a romantic setting either on their terrace, inside in a wonderful dining room or even at your tent. Just ask and they'l make it happen.

The tents are very nice - especially the shower and sink area (very stylish and well designed). The actual bedroom area was okay (nothing great but nothing bad) and our deck had a wonderful hammock and a great place to enjoy a drink while relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OgoCinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
12.4 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
858 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#12 of 25 in Santa Cruz
178 reviews
6.0 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
659 reviews
9.1 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
48 reviews
12.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Safari Camp

Property: Galapagos Safari Camp
Address: Finca Palo Santo, 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GSC provides an authentic inland experience by offering 9 luxury safari tents – all with oceanview balcony- in an exclusive natural environment, both as an alternative or in addition to a sea-based travel itinerary. Tents are spacious with private bathroom and hot water. Guests gather by the fireplace in the main room to view the sunsets, taste our chef´s creative dishes in the panoramic dining room or enjoy the tranquility of the infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Galapagos Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Safari Camp Hotel Santa Cruz
Galapagos Safari Camp Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing