We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We spent just two nights here before our cruise in the Galapagos. It was a pretty hotel and the owner was happy to help us with whatever we needed. The hotel was undergoing restoration, and the business center was converted into a restaurant throughout the renovation which was a pain because it was nowhere near our room. We did get upgraded to a two bedroom suite, but it was dirty and bugs were everywhere inside. The hotel was a distance from the main town on Santa Cruz island, Puerto Ayora and if I came back to the Galapagos, I would stay somewhere else closer to town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decontagg, Manager at Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment; we are delighted that we were able to make you feel at home.
We hope to see you in a near future,

Warm Regards from the Galapagos Highlands,

The Royal Palm Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Alas, our stay here was just one night at the start of a cruise of the Galapagos Islands...and one night is certainly not enough at this charming resort in the highlands of Santa Cruz Island. Accomodations were in very handsome and roomy individual villas facing the ocean in the distance. The villa had four "to die for" rooms, including a pavillion room with a cathedral ceiling and a Jacuzzi tub with wrap around large windows framing a stunning water view and a grand, luxurious bathroom with a drenching shower room featuring a giant sunflower-style shower head. Also the large king size bed faced adjoining doors leading to a living room area with fireplace, desk, table and comfortable upholstered seating. The villas are connected back to the main lodge, dining hall, swimming pool and other common areas by a series of walking paths with well maintained landscaping to view along the way. Beautiful place overall and absolutely peaceful at night. Very good food, too, including fresh local fish, deliciously tender and perfectly cooked. If there ever is a next time for a return trip to the Galapagos, my note to self: "stay longer here"!

Room Tip: All the villas seem to have nice distant water views, but ask for one as close as you can get in the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabin2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decontagg, Manager at Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment; we are delighted that we were able to make you feel at home.
We hope to see you in a near future,

Warm Regards from the Galapagos Highlands,

The Royal Palm Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Royal Palm makes its visitors feel absolutely AMAZING and like royalty. We were able to stay in one of the villas and it was NICE. It seemed like we were literally the ONLY people staying there! We may have saw one other person our entire stay. Due to our budget, we were only scheduled to stay one night. Even that night was priced extremely well due to the construction that absolutely didn't bother us. However, we didn't want to leave and stayed another night!

Arrival to Galapagos was made extremely comfortable by their pick up service, which is only a few dollars more than doing it on your own. However, the driver has a sign with your name on it, waiting for you at the airport. He carried all of our bags, WOW! This was great, because you have a bus, boat and van transfer to get to the resort.

Their staff is VERY attentive, especially Gustave and Victor! We would literally call any time of the night for the fireplace to be lit or order food, even juice and someone would arrive very soon. Speaking of the food, it's only one of the 2 "cons" that I have about the place, everything else is a PRO! The only reason I have to complain about the food is because this place is so amazing that they should invest in better food. The food wasn't good at all and it was very overpriced to be practically be inedible.

The other "con" is the fact that the place is so far out. By staying another night, we missed opportunities to go to town and bargain for excursions. The place is pretty far from everything. So most fun, especially after dark, has to be held in your room. We had the best driver ever, the hotel called him for us. We hired him for a whole day for $100. Although he didn't speak any English, we were able to communicate very well.

All in all, this place is def worth the money. We couldn't find available reservations online, but we emailed and received an amazing price to stay here! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ascoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is a hotel that once used to be proud but is now run down and dowdy. Like a Queen well past her age.

It is 20 minutes from town and within a large property. The villas are isolated and look good on the outside. But once you come in you notice that not much maintenance has been done in ages.

The bulb for our toilet was not working and changing it did not do the trick and they had to replace the socket. Our desk lamp bulb also did not work. The place was not inspected before it was rented to us - cannot believe that. The shower did not have single hook for the towels and with a family, it is is difficult to come out naked into the hall to get the towel. What a disastrous planning on their part. And one reviewer had pointed it out in 2010 yet they had not made an attempt to correct it. The door to the toilet was creaky and did not even close fully.

They claimed they had internet for free but the 4 days we were there we did not get any internet connection. And they blamed it on the IT person - luxury hotel making such stupid excuses. There was no coffee or tea in the room and to bring even hot water to the room was $8 extra.

The food was good though the service was very slow. With small children food ordered at 8 PM came in at 9.30 PM. The kitchen and wait staff were attentive and was the best thing about this hotel.

About the front desk - the less said the better.

One has to walk on the driveways to see the lose stones / shingles and creaking from them to know that there is no money for upkeep of this hotel. That is a shame.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenvillehybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel has 2 MAJOR problems, 1: The hotel is 20 min by car from the city, so you can no even see the coast from it. 2: The location is in galapagos "highlands" so the weather is completely different that you could expect in Galapagos. It was all the time foggy, cold and raining.
Apart from that is "suppose" to be Galapagos best hotel, but when we arrived at the airport, they came to pick us up 1.5 hours late! We called the hotel and they keep saying some one is going to pick us up, but they would tell us how long would it take.
The rooms are kind of OK, but shower is quite problematic wetting everything around: floors, steps, which makes is a little bit dangerous. Also the internet is quite slow (when it works).
What I can say is that the staff was nice and food was very tasty, but completely overprice!
Overall... It does not worth the price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paoladsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

A great place to contemplate suicide. The property is located 20 minutes from any services , restaurants, or the beach. We just returned (11/25/2012 , having discovered it's a dump located in a seasonal fog bank. One reaches the property by driving down a bone rattling, unmaintained dirt road that practically requires four-wheel drive.That was the least of our problems. The property is being renovated although there were no workers in sight and no advance warning from our travel agent. Our "bungalows" which were the "best rooms in the house" were filthy, the windows streaked, the furniture worn and spotted, the towels paper thin, electrical wires dangerously strung,etc., etc. The restaurant was closed, the spa and health club were closed, the tennis courts covered with dirt. The "temporary" restaurant was actually OK and the minimal staff(one bellman) intent on pleasing. We would have moved but nothing else was available on the island. Either the manager isn't up to the task or they lack the resources to maintain the place. Leading Hotels of the World should be ashamed of their endorsement.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, preferably at the beach
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Royal Palm is beautiful, serene and romantic. It is in the middle of a plantation, so it is in the middle of a vast empty space. You can see the ocean from your breakfast or from your villa or room. It is small, unique and exclusive by its very nature. We spent a week there and many times felt that we had the place to ourselves. The staff was very professional friendly and spent a great deal of time making us feel welcome. The concierge made our stay even better by arranging much of the sight seeing on our behalf. We were introduced to the property manager and he spent some considerable time discussing how best to enjoy our stay in the Galapagos.

Book in advance and you will find the place quite affordable. Would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Try the villas if you can get them.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Parenthetical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
8.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
663 reviews
9.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
870 reviews
2.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
9.1 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos

Address: Km. 18 Via Puerto Ayora | Baltra Isla Santa Cruz, Ecuador (Formerly Royal Palm Resort Hotel)
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £244 - £626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm Hotel is a private family-owned hotel enjoying the quiet seclusion of its own 190 hectare estate in the lush Miconia Highland Forests of Santa Cruz. Located adjacent to the Galapagos National Park, the Royal Palm was built in 2002 and combines elegant colonial style with traditional island design. This boutique estate comprises 21 Casitas and Villas including family accommodation; the largest villa is named in honor of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales who stayed at the hotel in 2009. The hotel has the relaxed and informal charm of an Ecuadorian Hacienda offering a unique sense of natural space. The Hotel is a member of Leading Hotels of the World and is the perfect location for both land and sea exploration of the Galapagos Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing