We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy, but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Lago Lodging House
Ranked #27 of 56 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our experience at Casa del Lago proved to us that it is indeed possible to find a nice hotel on the Galapagos without any advance booking, even in late July. We walked into the hotel, which is just two streets away from the harbour and were offered 3 nights for the price of 2. And as we arrived at 11 a.m., we were even offered a free breakfast with excellent coffee, a tasty omelet and fresh blueberry juice. It was a very nice welcome.

The first two nights we spent in the room on the corner of the building. It was very spacious and had its own kitchen and a big supply of filtered water. Since this room does not have glass windows, but only insect screens in the window frames, we were happy to have brought earplugs to be able to ignore the cars passing by and the neighbours' party. As there were holes in the insect screens, our bug spray also came in very handy. We were also greeted by a friendly lizard one morning.

The last night we had to move as our first room had been booked by another group. We were given a much better room, on the ground floor next to the owner's residence. It had glass windows and our bed was placed in a second room at the back, far away from the street. Unlike the first room, it also had a separate bathroom. It was by far the best room we had during our stay on the Galapagos.

Big plusses: the awesome, homemade breakfast, the friendly staff and the discount you can get by just booking on the spot. Minuses: the noise from outside, and the internet only works within a one meter radius of the computer in the restaurant (which is closed in the evening, so you will have to stand outside).

The staff have a day off on Sundays, but will serve you breakfast if you ask for it. Make sure to inform them in advance at what time you want to have breakfast that day or they may be a bit late and you'll go on your trip with an empty stomach!

Room Tip: The more expensive room downstairs is much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were at Casa Del Lago with our two daughters. it isa great place for families. We stayed in the Enfante Suite which is two levels and has a small kitchen perfect for cooking light meals if you are tired of eating out. Elena was very helped and Sra. Luz were very kind. Casa also seems to have one of the better priced menus in Puerto Ayora which simple delicious food. After three days of having the same breakfast (one egg, juice, bread, coffee, tea or hot chocolate) we would have liked some varied options of breakfast choices.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank hghilzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in Ecuador 3 weeks and we tried to save the best for last, however, the hotel was ruining our plans (we changed hotels by 2 night). 1st the weather on the island is SOOO hot you need air conditioning, all we got was a tiny fan that didn't do much. 2nd mattress smelled like (BO) sweat. 3rd very tiny apartment with little ventilation, only kitchen window could be opened. 4th cracks along doors/windows which allow bugs/mosquitos/ants in.- Not sure if the bug bites we got were from bed bugs and/ or mosquitos in our place, could be both. 5tth Internet service rarely worked. 6th staff not well trained on customer service or information about island. 6th the 60 day cancelation should have been a warning as NO other hotel has this. 7th the reviews were OK when I originally booked, but when I checked again before our arrival they had gone down. 8th Only double beds, not ideal for solo traveler/ friends/ or anyone who can't stand sharing a bed on a stuffy/ hot night. There are much better options not listed on-line which you can just walk into and check out the rooms. LOOK for a place with caring stafff, but most important AIR CONDITIONING and better priced.
Oh yeah don't let the pictures fool you like they did us. Max stay a night and check for yourself, this way you don't have to commit to paying once you don't like it, and you have a chance to look around the island for better places not listed on line.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ohtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thanks for your comment, really helps me to grow up as a business:
Fortunately now every apartments has their own router so you can have internet without any problem, at less we have some technical problem with the main antenna in town.
Galápagos has two seasons: summer and winter. In winter for the rains and high temperatures you will expect all kind of bugs, ants, mosquitos , many lizards on the walls, geckos’ etc. And about this, I can’t do anything because this is nature … I am sorry.
We have a new personal now that are taking care the hotel.
About beds in this place, is very clear what trip advisor publish in the web page we have only doubles suites ( one double bed) triple ( one double bed plus one single bed) and family suite for 4 people ( two doubles beds plus one double sofa bed).
We had been keeping carefully the standard regulation about contamination in Galápagos that is why we have only fans, but seems like new kind of air conditioner is going to appear in the market ( more ecological equipments) and for sure I will get those ones . My intention is to be responsible as much as I can, for the place I am living , and for the health of every customer who are enjoying my place.
Thanks
Elena A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our family spent a week in the delightful Casa del Lago and loved it. The property sits less than five minutes walk from the waterfront,and the colorful two-story Ninfas suite was more than roomy enough for four adults, with firm comfy beds and a kitchenette that came in handy when we had to miss Luz 's delicious breakfast due to a tour. Elena (the proprietor) will help you make the most of your time in the Galapagos, and will happily help you set up your excursions. The Care del Lagos is part of the property, and where we began our day with the included breakfast provided by Luz, our host. Everything we tried was delicious! I highly recommend you come back in the afternoon for a humita, our family's new favorite dish. Luz ensured we had everything we needed and pointed out highlights of Puerto Ayora we might have otherwise missed. We enjoyed every day of our stay, and will be sure to return.

Room Tip: Do tell Elena who comprises your group as there several styles of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aasenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a group from the recent Polynesian Voyaging Canoes stay at an Apartment at Casa del Lago, and we loved it. Elena has become our friend and while we were there she helped us organize our days and made us feel at home. The setting is nice with plants and balconies, making for nice evenings relaxing on the balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAtherton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

It's so beautiful place, all made with love and patient! The most important - Helena, she's took care of us like of old friends, helped with so many things!!! We feel gratitude for this staying! Breakfast is very individual and very tasty!
Thank very much!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We only booked one night to check things out as the price was quite high. I'm glad we did, there was no a/c, and the screens had numerous holes allowing insects inside. The apartment was a good size with cooking facilities if you wanted to prepare your own meals. The construction and decor are quite neat, but way overpriced. It is only a short walk to the harbor, but on a fairly busy street. The owner is a very nice lady. We left early for an excursion so not sure how breakfast is, The vegetable soup is quite good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
1.8 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
351 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
El Descanso del Petrel
#22 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Peregrina
La Peregrina
#9 of 56 in Puerto Ayora
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Galapagos Chalet
Galapagos Chalet
#24 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
9 reviews
1.7 mi away
La  Mirada Del Solitario George
La Mirada Del Solitario George
#3 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostal Estrella de Mar
Hostal Estrella de Mar
#10 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Lago Lodging House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Lago Lodging House

Address: Moises Brito 185 | and Juan Montalvo, Entrance to the Ninfas lake, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £67 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA DEL LAGO LODGING HOUSE (THE LAKES´HOUSE) locate at 40 meters of the beautiful Nymphs Lake, 40 minutes of Tortoise bay beach the most beautiful beach we have near town, Is a house with gardens and terraces, constructed with reciclyng materials. Magic site for pairs, families and friends ,equipped kitchen, private bathrooms hot water FROM SOLAR PANELS, potable water dispenser in the reception area , private terraces with gardens, great location in town , wifi-Tv-cable, air conditioners. Coffee place are open from 7a.m. till 1p.m and from 4 pm. till 7 p.m with the unique aroma of the organic and filter coffe from Galapagos and vegetarian food, book exchange corner is available too. We speak English and we help you to make your tours inside / outside the island. And finally because your visit in CASA DEL LAGO is already part of this paradise call GALAPAGOS ISLANDS!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Lago Lodging House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Lago Lodging House Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing