We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great coffee, great cake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Lago Lodging House
Ranked #28 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Unfortunately the accommodations at Casa del Lago were a little out of our budget as long term backpackers, but luckily it was a minute walk down the street from our hostel and so has become our breakfast and afternoon coffee and cake haunt. I am incredibly surprised to read the earlier review about this lovely café. The staff have been absolutely wonderful - really warm and friendly and have always stopped to chat with us and regale us with stories of the islands. On top of that the lady there has given us really great tourist advice on places to go and things to see. The atmosphere there is lovely, with seating inside or outside (lovely to catch the afternoon sun) - the very reasonably priced ($1.25) coffee is 100% organic and grown on Galapagos (a fantastic treat when it seems difficult to avoid instant nescafé everywhere), the chocolate cake is really great, and breakfast is generous and tasty. Go and visit them, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We didn't stay - but the place is very well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire_sa_turas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We went to this restaurant for breakfast one morning on a friend's recommendation, and it was a terrible mistake. The place is cute and the food itself was decent, but our waitress was atrocious! I don't know if she had some sort of memory loss problem, or it if was her first day on the job, or maybe she didn't feel like dealing with customers so early in the morning, but she was a complete disaster. To start off, she got our drink orders all wrong (we ordered juice--pretty simple). Then my husband asked if it was possible to replace the veggie omelet with a ham and cheese omelet, and she looked completely confused, then said it was possible, then 15 minutes later brought out a boiled egg for each of us with no explanation. We thought it was a part of the meal that had not been listed on the menu, so we didn't ask questions until about 20 minutes later, when I asked the waitress if she was going to bring our omelets. She gave a look like we had just asked her to bring her firstborn on a plate with some ketchup, then said that they didn't have any ham so she thought we didn't want omelets. Like I said, the cook was fine (came out to review the order with us), and the owner/manager stopped by to say hi, but this waitress was the worst. And we speak fluent Spanish, so language was not a problem (at least on our end....). Save your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank traveler2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013
Google Translation

Estimados Huespedes
En este momento me encuentro fuera de mi Pais y de mi negocio , he leído su comentario y me apena mucho la experiencia que han tenido con el servicio de la Cafetería , por lo cual pido disculpas no está por demás hacerles saber que la Camarera tiene muy poco tiempo trabanjando con nosotros y que no llegó a concluír su tiempo de prueba porque está ya despedida . Muchas gracias por su comentario , pues esto nos ayuda a crecer tanto a los empleados comoa los Propietarios.
Elena Albarado
Propietaqria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Ms. Elena Albarado is an artist singer and architect of this fine boutique hotel. She spent two years hand building the guest house herself. The four apartment suites are spacious and include kitchenettes with a mini fridge and small appliances. A comfortable stay for a night or as long as you like. This quiet hotel is a few blocks from the main strip only steps away from a turquoise lagoon. The relaxed style and cozy amenities make this value lodge the best find in the Galapagos!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccajcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Many thanks Rebecca for your comment

I am very happy too that you enjoy not only my place , but also my music , y hope you had a great return to home ... Any other questions or help about Galápagos you know now how to find me.
My regarts
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed there for three nights in July 2013. It's a lovely place with nice atmosphere but since it's located next to a street with relatively busy traffic gets slightly noisy at times. Wifi works but the connection is just awful. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. And the morning coffee is just superb!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mataforgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario.
Para nosotros fue también un placer tenerlos en nuestro sitio y compartir aunque sea un período corto . Esperamos hayan llegado a su destino sin ningún problema y que Galápagos haya llenado también sus expectativas.
Saludos
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stay in CASA DEL LAGO for 4 days. It´s a really nice lodge, and good location, near de ninfas lake and tortuga bay. The rooms are confortable and they are served very nice breakfast.
Elena, help me a lot with differents tours and she give to me very nice recomendations. I am very grateful for everything.
I highly recommend this place to stay for a great holiday. Rodrigo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodriGo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Rodrigo por su comentario

Para nosotros fue también un gusto tenerlo en nuestro sitio y saber que Casa del Lago llenó sus expectativas . Esperamos poder servir de la misma manera a todos sus recomendados.

Que haya tenido un feliz retorno
Saludos
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent four pleasant nights at this b&b. Great location and comfortable rooms. Elena, manager, welcomed us very well and helped us to orient ourselves in the complicated logistics of galapagos excursions. We were fine and if we return to puerto ayora will return to the casa del lago.
Marco

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank w4lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Hi Marco

Thank you very much for your opinion .
It was a pleasure for me to have you here in my place and to help you too. I hope you had a great time in this paradise . If is not you the next time , probably can be your friends or family , they will be also very wellcome.
My regards
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Honestly, I would have given the place a 4 or 5, until Elena started giving us prices for day trips to the other islands. She was anywhere from $15-$45 more per person per ticket. We went through her on a day trip to Floreana and paid $115/person (low season) and asked other couples on the trip what they had paid, which was $70-$75. I confronted Elena after the fact, and after a couple of days, she said it was the company's mistake, not hers, and she did refund me $80. I felt betrayed as a guest staying a week at her hotel, that she had no problem in making a hefty commission on her clients that I didn't even trust her to book our taxi back to the ferry. We booked several more day trips through the agencys in town and had great adventures. We use Lonely Planet as our guides and it listed Casa del Lago and prices that include breakfast...NOT TRUE, she said b'fast was NOT included. She also wanted us to leave early the day we flew out
saying the ferry's only travel so often, NOT TRUE, we got there way too early and found out the ferrys travel back and forth for all flights. You cannot hide from Karma my friend. Good luck and do your research on days trips.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancyinhermosabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Firstable this opinion has a bad translation in Spanish and as a result can be bad interpretation too. But fortunately i can read and speak English that is why i know exactly what this opinion tries to say.
I am not the manager of a travel agency, i am the manager of my own hotel, in Galapagos, hotels and travel agencies, restaurants, we help each other with information… and my intention was to be useful for you, as i believe many local people in town always try to help to our customers with their requirements. In my case the time , the phone calls i did ( with no charge ) to different travel agencies looking for the tour that you required …and finally finding out the visits to Floreana $75 and Seymour Islands $115 (low season price), seems like was not appreciated . My dear guest, i am not the person who can put prices in this tours because is not my business i just was making the connection between you and the travel agency , but also i can consider and accept that people make mistakes in any business, and travel agencies too and that is what happened with you … they charge you $115 thinking that you made first Seymour island , i explained this to you , and also fortunately i called the agency in front of you, and find out what was the mistake …and to the next day the manager of the travel agency came to my place and ask apologize for the mistake and return $80 back for you with the receipt , you saw the receipt and you had the money back .
in Galápagos tourist can see easily publish prices in windows or desks , the agencies of taxis also have a regular prices for everybody, and if i call a taxi as usually do for my guest .. is just thinking in their comfort, for obligation in the hotels we have our information on the desk prices, services, what includes and what not ,and you saw all the information in my desk too and i don’t have there that my price include breakfast , ….i am really sorry if you read in lonely planet old information about facilities in my place and i am thinking when you decided to stay a week with us i assumed that you were completely agree with all my services and prices you saw.
finally about itineraries in the islands, works the same for everybody , this means the check –out in some hotels is at 9: 30 am and others at maximum 10 : am , so we suggests to our guest the time they have to live the hotel according with the flight they have . in your case you wanted a short visits in some touristic areas in the way to the airport that is the reason i suggested to go early because i really didn’t know how much time you are going to spend in your visits….and probably not been on time for your flight. Usually visitors think because they have 12:45 am flight this means they can stay until 11 am in town. Is not easy to get to the airport we have to take a bus, later a ferry, later another bus, and besides that everybody knows around the world , the airlines ask us to be minimum two hours before our departures in big cities, so i have to let you know many things in the islands will not probably work as you desire.
With all my respect karmas nothing has to do with this case, i am living from my hotel and not from commissions.
Thanks for your opinion.
Elena A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
5.4 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
3.5 mi away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
326 reviews
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
453 reviews
4.8 mi away
Twin Lodge Galapagos
Twin Lodge Galapagos
#9 of 58 in Santa Cruz
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Lago Lodging House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Lago Lodging House

Address: Moises Brito 185 | and Juan Montalvo, Entrance to the Ninfas lake, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA DEL LAGO LODGING HOUSE (THE LAKES´HOUSE) locate at 40 meters of the beautiful Nymphs Lake, 40 minutes of Tortoise bay beach the most beautiful beach we have near town, Is a house with gardens and terraces, constructed with reciclyng materials. Magic site for pairs, families and friends ,equipped kitchen, private bathrooms hot water FROM SOLAR PANELS, potable water dispenser in the reception area , private terraces with gardens, great location in town , wifi-Tv-cable, air conditioners. Coffee place are open from 7a.m. till 1p.m and from 4 pm. till 7 p.m with the unique aroma of the organic and filter coffe from Galapagos and vegetarian food, book exchange corner is available too. We speak English and we help you to make your tours inside / outside the island. And finally because your visit in CASA DEL LAGO is already part of this paradise call GALAPAGOS ISLANDS!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Lago Lodging House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Lago Lodging House Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing