We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Flowers & Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Lago Lodging House
Ranked #30 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We needed a last minute place to stay one more night in Puerto Ayora. We walked up the day before we needed to check in to make a reservation and booked a room for $90. The price included breakfast, but we had to leave at 6:45am to catch the 7am ferry to San Cristobal Island. The hotel did not accommodate an early breakfast so we left the key in the room and walked down to the pier before they opened. It seems odd they couldn’t meet our early check out needs with breakfast considering half the island is up and moving at 6am, and the ferries always leave very early at 7am. It would have been nice if they had given us a muffin or something for our little kitchenette in the room the day before.

Despite paying for and not getting any breakfast the room met our needs. It was clean and comfortable with air conditioning, wifi, mini fridge, & hot shower. I think the price was just right and it was very close to our scuba center, Tip Top Diving near Tortuga Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FangirlBritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Unfortunately the accommodations at Casa del Lago were a little out of our budget as long term backpackers, but luckily it was a minute walk down the street from our hostel and so has become our breakfast and afternoon coffee and cake haunt. I am incredibly surprised to read the earlier review about this lovely café. The staff have been absolutely wonderful - really warm and friendly and have always stopped to chat with us and regale us with stories of the islands. On top of that the lady there has given us really great tourist advice on places to go and things to see. The atmosphere there is lovely, with seating inside or outside (lovely to catch the afternoon sun) - the very reasonably priced ($1.25) coffee is 100% organic and grown on Galapagos (a fantastic treat when it seems difficult to avoid instant nescafé everywhere), the chocolate cake is really great, and breakfast is generous and tasty. Go and visit them, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We didn't stay - but the place is very well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire_sa_turas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We went to this restaurant for breakfast one morning on a friend's recommendation, and it was a terrible mistake. The place is cute and the food itself was decent, but our waitress was atrocious! I don't know if she had some sort of memory loss problem, or it if was her first day on the job, or maybe she didn't feel like dealing with customers so early in the morning, but she was a complete disaster. To start off, she got our drink orders all wrong (we ordered juice--pretty simple). Then my husband asked if it was possible to replace the veggie omelet with a ham and cheese omelet, and she looked completely confused, then said it was possible, then 15 minutes later brought out a boiled egg for each of us with no explanation. We thought it was a part of the meal that had not been listed on the menu, so we didn't ask questions until about 20 minutes later, when I asked the waitress if she was going to bring our omelets. She gave a look like we had just asked her to bring her firstborn on a plate with some ketchup, then said that they didn't have any ham so she thought we didn't want omelets. Like I said, the cook was fine (came out to review the order with us), and the owner/manager stopped by to say hi, but this waitress was the worst. And we speak fluent Spanish, so language was not a problem (at least on our end....). Save your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank traveler2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013
Google Translation

Estimados Huespedes
En este momento me encuentro fuera de mi Pais y de mi negocio , he leído su comentario y me apena mucho la experiencia que han tenido con el servicio de la Cafetería , por lo cual pido disculpas no está por demás hacerles saber que la Camarera tiene muy poco tiempo trabanjando con nosotros y que no llegó a concluír su tiempo de prueba porque está ya despedida . Muchas gracias por su comentario , pues esto nos ayuda a crecer tanto a los empleados comoa los Propietarios.
Elena Albarado
Propietaqria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Ms. Elena Albarado is an artist singer and architect of this fine boutique hotel. She spent two years hand building the guest house herself. The four apartment suites are spacious and include kitchenettes with a mini fridge and small appliances. A comfortable stay for a night or as long as you like. This quiet hotel is a few blocks from the main strip only steps away from a turquoise lagoon. The relaxed style and cozy amenities make this value lodge the best find in the Galapagos!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccajcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Many thanks Rebecca for your comment

I am very happy too that you enjoy not only my place , but also my music , y hope you had a great return to home ... Any other questions or help about Galápagos you know now how to find me.
My regarts
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed there for three nights in July 2013. It's a lovely place with nice atmosphere but since it's located next to a street with relatively busy traffic gets slightly noisy at times. Wifi works but the connection is just awful. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. And the morning coffee is just superb!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mataforgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario.
Para nosotros fue también un placer tenerlos en nuestro sitio y compartir aunque sea un período corto . Esperamos hayan llegado a su destino sin ningún problema y que Galápagos haya llenado también sus expectativas.
Saludos
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stay in CASA DEL LAGO for 4 days. It´s a really nice lodge, and good location, near de ninfas lake and tortuga bay. The rooms are confortable and they are served very nice breakfast.
Elena, help me a lot with differents tours and she give to me very nice recomendations. I am very grateful for everything.
I highly recommend this place to stay for a great holiday. Rodrigo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodriGo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Rodrigo por su comentario

Para nosotros fue también un gusto tenerlo en nuestro sitio y saber que Casa del Lago llenó sus expectativas . Esperamos poder servir de la misma manera a todos sus recomendados.

Que haya tenido un feliz retorno
Saludos
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent four pleasant nights at this b&b. Great location and comfortable rooms. Elena, manager, welcomed us very well and helped us to orient ourselves in the complicated logistics of galapagos excursions. We were fine and if we return to puerto ayora will return to the casa del lago.
Marco

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank w4lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Hi Marco

Thank you very much for your opinion .
It was a pleasure for me to have you here in my place and to help you too. I hope you had a great time in this paradise . If is not you the next time , probably can be your friends or family , they will be also very wellcome.
My regards
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
1.8 mi away
Galapagos Native
Galapagos Native
#6 of 50 in Puerto Ayora
67 reviews
0 mi away
El Bambu Galapagos Inn
El Bambu Galapagos Inn
#23 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lonesome George Ecolodge
Lonesome George Ecolodge
#26 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Capitan Max B&B
Capitan Max B&B
#5 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lava House Hostal
Lava House Hostal
#6 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
106 reviews
0 mi away
Mi Caleta Inn
Mi Caleta Inn
#7 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Lago Lodging House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Lago Lodging House

Address: Moises Brito 185 | and Juan Montalvo, Entrance to the Ninfas lake, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £63 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA DEL LAGO HOTEL (THE LAKES´HOUSE HOTEL) located at 40 meters of the beautiful Nymphs Lake, 40 minutes of Tortoise bay beach the most beautiful beach we have near town, Is a house with gardens and terraces, constructed with reciclyng materials. Magic site for pairs, families and friends ,equipped kitchen, private bathrooms hot water FROM SOLAR PANELS, potable water dispenser in the reception area , private terraces with gardens, great location in town , wifi-Tv-cable, air conditioners. Coffee place are open from 7:30a.m. till 1p.m and from 4 pm. till 7 p.m with the unique aroma of the organic and filter coffe from Galapagos and vegetarian food, book exchange corner is available too. We speak English and we help you to make your tours inside / outside the island. And finally because your visit in CASA DEL LAGO is part of this paradise call GALAPAGOS ISLANDS!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Lago Lodging House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Lago Lodging House Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing