We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Cucaracha!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Indifferent service, children allowed to run riot all night (not much exaggeration), using the
pool table and the indoor pool in an inside atrium with room balconies opening to the noise.
The best part was when my room partner pulled the sheets back and revealed a huge, squished cockroach. When my roomate went to complain to the front desk the non-english speaking late night worker sent a young man to the room with a can of bug spray. He seemed slow to pick up that we needed more than that. If it was earlier and if we spoke any real spanish I would have insisted we change rooms, but a change of bedding sufficed for the time being. Breakfast service was less than stellar. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoronIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

A/C barely worked, Room dirty, no room service, no internet, bad smell. Must I go on I'm trying to forget!!!! Stayed one night and left. Charged us $125.00!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

First, its one of the cheaper hotels that is in the proximity of the shore. It did have musty rooms and seemed to have an inordinate amount of screaming kids. However, if you do the sensible thing and check out the room before you rent it, you stand a better than average chance of having a good nights sleep. Check the bathroom and make sure the water works...turn on the air conditioning and make sure it blows cold air...turn on the bedside lamp and make sure it has a lightbulb.

With a fixed amount of airline flights to the island there will always be rooms. If you are going for a 4-5 star experience, read the reviews and book your stay in advance. If you are on a budget, go without a reservation. When you arrive at Baltra, hire a cab to take you into town ($6) and have him take you to some of the budget hotels you have found in Tripadvisor ($10 and hour). Take a look at some of the rooms in each hotel until you get a feel for the locations, prices charges, quality of the hotel, etc. Then make your decision and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

This is a very nice hotel with a superb location. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but it allows you to experience the real Galapagos. Owned by locals, and operated by locals, unlike many surrounding hotels, it offers clean rooms, decent food and a very welcoming atmosphere. Walking distance, you will find a variety of restaurants, the market and the central plaza. I recommend a trying a Concha Ceviche and going to the plaza in the evening as you will be able to interact with the local people. it is also walking distance to the Charles Darwin Station, the pier, and everywhere you'd want to go.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greattripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

This hotel couldnt find any ice, has no elevators (4 floors, so plan on schlepping your bags up to your room, and has a bar but is not staffed. Rate it 1/2 star , I'd rate it lower
but they did change the sheets evewry day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Myself, my husband, and two friends stayed at this hotel for one night in October 2009.

When we arrived at the hotel initially, we had no reservation and were able to secure the rate of USD $85 including taxes and breakfast. The room we booked was a quadruple one with four single beds, and we signed in the names of four people.

A couple of hours later, we were informed this was a ¨mistake¨ and that we never said the room was for four people. Of course this was a lie, since the names of four different people were recorded. What had really happened is that one staff member had quoted us a small discount on the Ecuadorian local rate for the quad room (normally $98 per night). Foreigners like us are supposed to pay about 50% more than this again.

Rather than admit the mistake and try and come to some other arrangement, the manager refused to speak to us and kept sending out an employee with his messages to us. The message was, get out of the hotel if you aren´t willing to pay the extra.

Since we weren´t willing to pay the extra, we stayed for one night only and had to book the remainder of the accommodation we needed elsewhere in Puerto Ayora. This meant packing all our things again and moving which was pretty inconvenient.

A second complaint is that the swimming pool and billiards table area seems to be the personal recreation area for the hotel management and their friends. The group loudly partied until 6am, and one of our friends, who was going diving the next day, barely got any sleep the entire night.

The rooms at full rate are also pretty shocking value in my opinion. There is nothing wrong with the rooms themselves but we found an almost identical room at Hotel Salinas for USD $16.50 per person including tax (no breakfast or swimming pool but also no noise!)

All in all I would definitely suggest going elsewhere in Puerto Ayora. If you are thinking of spending pretty big money brand new Hotel Sol y Mar looks absolutely spectacular (the pulled down the old hotel of the same name and built a new one).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We booked a trip to Ecuador and the Galapgos Islands through a travel agency. The hotel in Quito was fabulous, The Mercure. When we arrived in The Galapgos we were assigned a room on the third floor. There are no elevators, and no one at the hotel would help my husband and me with our luggage (note...we are in our late 50's)
When we got to the room the TV and the air conditioner did not work. We went back to the front desk, reported these problems, and also asked for 2 extra pillows. Five hours later, nothing was done. We again complained and were given remotes for the TV and a/c, so that problem was solved. The pillows never arrived until we made a scene the next day.We wanted to lock our valuables up for our day trips. We were given a manila envelope and then our items were put in the hotel safe. Note: no individual safe deposit boxes in rooms or in the lobby. When we wanted to retrieve our items we were told to come back hours later because only the owner had the key, and his schedule was "erratic". Every morning the staff would remove the tiny sliver of soap in the room and fail to replace it, so every day we would have to beg for more soap (and often, towels).There is no telephone or alarm clock in the room. Since our tours left very early, we had no way of feeling assured that we would wake up in time! We asked the receptionist to have someone knock on our door in the morning. Only one of the three mornings that we were there did someone do so. Breakfast is included in this hotel. The eggs are served ice cold, the waiting time is ridiculous, and the staff is rude. One morning my sons and I were served breakfast, but my husband was not. He waited 25 minutes, repeatedly requesting his meal, because our tour was about to leave. I finally had to snatch a plate of eggs out of the hands of a waitress just to get him fed. This was not a language barrier situation either. Both of my 19 year old twin sons (who were traveling with us) speak Spanish. Upon departure from the hotel there is no assistance with luggage either. This was a very unpleasant experience and I warn other travelers to AVOID this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Judy1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar

Address: Galapagos Islands | 12 de Febrero y Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £61 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Puerto Ayora
Grand Hotel Lobo De Mar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing