We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fabulous, 5 stars!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
DETROIT, MI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just fabulous, 5 stars!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

After researching several places online, we booked this inn for its great reviews and amazing help from staff before coming. Elsie was absolutely wonderful in helping us book a room, organize tours, and help us with anything we needed throughout our stay. The rest of the staff and owners were also very friendly and attentive.

This place is more like a small luxury hotel, which can be difficult to find in the Galapagos. You take a small watertaxi from the main town, which adds to the specialness of this place. The breakfast buffet is very tasty, and the rooms are just amazing and clean, with views of the ocean. There is an adorable patio restaurant and tiki bar to hang out and dine in through out the day. The decorations are wonderful too! All in all, you will not be disappointed in choosing this place, so don't look any further!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxeTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    82
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
93
163
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Form the moment you reach this hotel you know this place has a rich history. You are greeted by a very friendly manager. She tells you the story of the hotel and the role of the German family in the development of the island. The rooms are large and the amenities are excellent. The food is very good and the Internet is reliable. You have the opportunity to talk to the friendly staff, and are only minutes away from the town with the gourmet food and the nightlife. I had a great time. I wont hesitate to recommend this hotel to my family and friends and plan to return soon.
I will always remember how friendly both the owner of the hotel and the manager were with me and how they made me feel right at home. The views from the rooms are striking. This is a prime honeymoon spot. The German’s beach offers a nice experience and you can mingle with South American and European tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlosbeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

What a wonderful hotel this is. My sister and I came across the hotel by chance after checking out the Las Greinatas by water taxi. I sadly made the mistake of staying at another hotel for 1 night which falsely advertised as a "boutique hotel" Upon stopping in for happy hour we were greeted by Elsie who was very friendly and informative about the island. It took no longer then 1 minute to decide we would change to this hotel.

The room was beautiful, very clean and plenty of hot water. My sister and I loved eating the yummy breakfast(amazing banana pancakes) in the morning while watching the water.

Elsie, Monica and Teppy were great. I think that a lot of people who visit the Galapagos on Cruise ships/Boats don't get to experience or converse with people who have a history and genuine interest in the islands. Hearing local folklore was great and really added to our overall experience.

I highly recommend this hotel and wish that I could be back there today!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Place was amazing location and ambiance. Eat dinner and have a balcony that overlooks the beautiful harbor with some older sailing ships close by and view of the marine life. The place has a new, but yet still unique and island feel. The owner was very welcoming and friendly to all. The rooms were clean and there was hot water. The best part is that it at a location that is a short boat taxi away from the main port so you don't have to stay on the crowded part of the island and get a great isolated and calm feel. The only reason that there isn't a top score is because while the breakfast and appetizer was delicious for food, the main course for dinner was a choice between dry fish sticks and rubbery beef, very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Angermeyer as part of a tour with Adventure Life. Since it was part of a package I am not sure of the cost but it certainly was a spectacular setting!!! The rooms were clean and nice with a good shower and balconies with a waterfront view. Staff was very friendly and helpful. You really feel away from it all as you need to take a water taxi (short ride at minimal cost) to get to the town. The waterfront setting is so relaxing and we enjoyed Happy Hour cocktails overlooking the harbor watching the pelicans and blue footed boobies fly by. The only disappointment was the food as I did not think our dinner was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLNYC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Beautiful hotel, friendly managers. They even asked every morning what time we needed to head out, to have our breakfast ready on time!
They put chocolates and flowers in our beds every time we left the hotel.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenRBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Beautiful setting overlooking the bay. Outside covered seating where we saw large pelicans, blue footed boobies, manta rays and sea turtles while having a drink before dinner! The hotel is designed to look a bit like a cave, all white with fans in the rooms and everything bright and clean. You can't drink the water out of the tap, but fresh drinking water is provided. They also take special care to rinse salad in filtered water, and they keep filtered water available at the bar so you can refill your water bottle. One of the best breakfast buffets we had on our trip - a typical European type offering of meats, cheeses, breads as well as fresh fruit and cereal. There are no roads to this hotel - you must take a water taxi to reach it, which adds to it's special ambiance.

Room Tip: we had a large room with a king-sized bed and one twin for the 3 of us. Our room also had a safe for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleOutdoorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.2 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Property: Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angermeyer Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the Galapagos islands, you will want to experience the special “Galapagos spirit” – and there is no better place to do that than here in our exclusive waterfront location. Using materials such as lava rocks and drift wood, we have created a unique atmosphere and the feeling of being close to nature. We are situated right on the waterfront in the area known as “Punta Estrada”, where we offer beautiful and relaxed surroundings for your dream holiday – on a piece of Galapagos history. Placed across the bay from Puerto Ayora, the hotel’s location ensures total privacy and undisturbed quiet. If you want to go to town, water taxis will take you to and from our private pier, 24 hours a day. Enjoy the sun on the terrace, a drink in our cozy cafe, have lunch or dinner on the waterfront deck, experience a beautiful Galapagos sunset and feel the enchantment of these unique islands together with family and friends. Our main aim is to make your stay one that you will always remember. We look forward to welcoming you at the ANGERMEYER WATERFRONT INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Angermeyer Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angermeyer Waterfront Hotel Puerto Ayora
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing