We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of eden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A slice of eden”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

What an amazing place. Come and go by water taxi. Cruise ships (small) and fishing vessels float in the harbor. The staff was beyond helpful. With the watchful eye of the owner overseeing everything. The ambiance for meals was lovely with birds, geckos and the splash of water below.
This place made the whole family wish we could stay for another week just to get into the rhythm of the island. We would return again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    80
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
91
159
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We went to the restaurant after a nice walk around that side of Puero Ayora. It's in a beautiful setting where we watched various birds nearby along with the comings and goings of the harbour. My partner said it was the best meal he'd had in the Galapagos. I'm vegetarian and mine was lovely too though slightly bland. I'd definitely eat there again though and would also consider staying there as looked lovely and had more character than standard hotels on the main stretch and others nearby like Finch Bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PringleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed with my wife recently (May 2012) and can only say ,,,,,,,,this is the place to stay!! Elsie offered us a larger / more comfortable room at the expense of the view , has any one else turned down a free upgrade for the sake of a view ? we did !!, Our only regret is we didn't reschedule to spend more time there and went on to other places . We wont make that mistake when next we visit , The service was really good , the staff were always around without being intrusive , a rare quality , dont go anywhere else it's not worth it !!!!

Room Tip: You need A/C and we liked the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We only stayed one night at the Angermeyer, but were very glad we chose this hotel. It is absolutely gorgeous, with beautiful views of the harbor. Teppy and Elsie both provided wonderful service and gave us extremely helpful, direct information. No beating around the bush or sugarcoating, they both advised us like it was, which was much appreciated! We arrived very early in the morning, and they got a room ready for us asap. Teppy seems to run a really tight ship, with the workers being on top of everything at a moment's notice. At checkout, we had two guys ready to take our bags to the docks for us, and when we declined and walked by the main restaurant/reception, a third immediately saw we were carrying our own things and rushed out to assist. Very customer service oriented. While there, we saw a group come in who had purchased their own fresh fish - Teppy got the chef, who proceeded to find out exactly how the group would like their food cooked, and did so for them. Even though access is by water taxi only, the taxis are very convenient. This point just had a different feel from the rest of Puerto Ayora, and the whole feel was relaxing. Very much recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuracaoBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 - what a location! - To reach the establishment is by water taxi - very easy, available at all times and very quick - so close to downtown - considering that Ecuador has year round equinox it is so great to sit on your balcony or deck to enjoy the view over bay and harbor even after dark - food, gardens, design and ambiance very enjoyable - a swim right from the steps is a lovely experience. The owners and staff are very welcoming - like family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The location of the Angermeyer gives it an almost Greek feel. It's built into the craggy cliffs overlooking the turquoise waters of the Galapagos. Elsie provided no-nonsense, excellent service, and went above and beyond to ensure our group was comfortable and satisfied. Each room is different and has its own charm. The hotel has an entirely romantic feel. The breakfast spread is impressive. A stellar choice of a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I arrived by water taxi at this 5 star, very comfortable hotel overlooking the water with the Blue Footed Boobies, marine iguanas, sea lions on the colorful boat-filled waters. The place was teaming with protected wildlife. Best were the little penguins! The location was perfect and the staff very friendly, especially Teppy, who told me he inherited the place from his father Gus who founded the Island. Teppy's sister wrote the book, "My Father's Island." Teppy was the first and only person ever born on "the Rock" and is considered a US citizen, as it was at the time a US naval post, where the airport is now located to the north. The food, especially the lobster thermodor was to die for. The snorkeling in cavernous waters was exquisite, crystal blue, just a 10 minute walk from Angermeyers, around Fire Island formed by lava flow millions of yea rs ago. Lonesome George, the Island's mascot, is a 158 year old tortoise. Don't miss the trip! Fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777frankh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
6.2 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
8.2 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
9.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Property: Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angermeyer Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the Galapagos islands, you will want to experience the special “Galapagos spirit” – and there is no better place to do that than here in our exclusive waterfront location. Using materials such as lava rocks and drift wood, we have created a unique atmosphere and the feeling of being close to nature. We are situated right on the waterfront in the area known as “Punta Estrada”, where we offer beautiful and relaxed surroundings for your dream holiday – on a piece of Galapagos history. Placed across the bay from Puerto Ayora, the hotel’s location ensures total privacy and undisturbed quiet. If you want to go to town, water taxis will take you to and from our private pier, 24 hours a day. Enjoy the sun on the terrace, a drink in our cozy cafe, have lunch or dinner on the waterfront deck, experience a beautiful Galapagos sunset and feel the enchantment of these unique islands together with family and friends. Our main aim is to make your stay one that you will always remember. We look forward to welcoming you at the ANGERMEYER WATERFRONT INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Angermeyer Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angermeyer Waterfront Hotel Puerto Ayora
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing