We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, wonderful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
rakishah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, wonderful place.”
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We absolutely loved Teppy's place, from the amazing view of the port (and his luxury sailboats), the the over the top service & hospitality. The rooms were spacious and had a quaint, small atmosphere, Teppy kept tabs on our trip plans so always helped us make us feel at home. The breakfasts there were ridiculous -- enough to feed a small army. They also probably cleaned our room several times a day. Taking the water taxi into Puerto Ayora was not an issue, they were available around the clock.

A highlight was definitely in chatting withTeppy. He filled us in on the amazing history of his father and uncles (one of the first on the island), the mystery of Floreana, and his own interesting life.

Great stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakishah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    82
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
91
163
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Wonderful. The food, service, rooms - most with a view - for all different rates are all great. Breakfast sometimes feels like it never ends with the number of courses. The rooms are clean and relaxing. Some of the other hotels i considered booking may have been right downtown but not on the water and not in the best condition. You can feel like you are in the galapagos but still have the amenities and action you need. It is 2 minutes away from downtown via water taxi and the water taxi runs 24 hrs a day. This place was hard to leave.

  • Liked — the location, rooms and staff - all wonderful.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adventurepegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2008

The very first thing about this place is that it has a very welcoming appeal which is supported by wonderful people from the person that swipes the floor all the way to the owner who gives you this warm feeling that all your expectation will be met and exceeded. Many places I have travelled wish that you should be happy with the standard way of serving customers. At the Angermeyer everything is done with such precision, ease to please attitude and anything is possible just ask, everything is performed with a positive smile and willingness to help & more... It feels like home except you don't need to do anything, you just look at someone and they come right away and ask if you need something...wow!

To top it all up it is coupled with a wonderful class "A" restaurant and the food is done with elegant touch and detail and if you require any additional cooking style you can just go and ask the Chef and he will respond with a wink assuring you that everything will be perfectly done.

I strongly recommend this place and it will surprisingly impress anyone at all levels. Enjoy, it's worth every day you will spend on the Galapagos Island.

Johnny

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank gentlewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The Hotel was the best we have seen in 2 months Ecuador. Wonderful, very clean rooms (go for the Booby room) , amazing location with cool view to the port and animals. The breakfast was excellent plus very good and friendly service. Very private atmosphere.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GermanTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Absolutely perfect. Huge, delicious breakfast. Beautiful views. Big clean rooms. The people who run the place are incredibly helpful and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBethConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Being a ex-Peace Corps Volunteer who lived in Ecuador from 1976 to 1978 and my wife being from Guayaquil, I have visited Ecuador over and over in the past 32 years. Teppy Anglemeyer is a very interesting person who happens to own the best hotel in Ecuador.....very nice, beautiful.....

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank orharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The staff was respectful, helpful and courteous. The owner is a colorful and engaging guy who lives part of the year in Denmark. He gave us a great deal of information about the history of the Galapagos and some insight into what is going on in the Island of Santa Cruz. The grounds are right on the waterfront and a 2 minute water taxi from the main street in Puerto Ayora. The rooms are immaculate and luxurious - we had a cute balcony with a gorgeous view! We went during the low season and got an upgraded room for the standard room price. The included breakfast was absolutely delicious - not like the typical Ecuadorian free breakfast. We had fresh fruit, homemade rolls, banana pancakes, cheeses, fresh juice - all served on a lovely patio with a spectacular view of the harbor. This is the first hotel that I have gone out of my way to review I have no idea why it is not listed in more travel books. We use Lonely Planet religiously, but just lucked out on this find. We went to the Galapagos with a tour during the low season and decided to tack on a few days at the end of our trip. We didn't have reservations so we just went looking around at the hotels in Puerto Ayora. We visited several other surrounding lodges including the Red Mangrove Inn and Finch Bay Hotel before we stumbled across the Angermeyer. The Angermeyer was superior in every way and better priced to boot. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise9474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
6.2 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
9.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Property: Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angermeyer Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the Galapagos islands, you will want to experience the special “Galapagos spirit” – and there is no better place to do that than here in our exclusive waterfront location. Using materials such as lava rocks and drift wood, we have created a unique atmosphere and the feeling of being close to nature. We are situated right on the waterfront in the area known as “Punta Estrada”, where we offer beautiful and relaxed surroundings for your dream holiday – on a piece of Galapagos history. Placed across the bay from Puerto Ayora, the hotel’s location ensures total privacy and undisturbed quiet. If you want to go to town, water taxis will take you to and from our private pier, 24 hours a day. Enjoy the sun on the terrace, a drink in our cozy cafe, have lunch or dinner on the waterfront deck, experience a beautiful Galapagos sunset and feel the enchantment of these unique islands together with family and friends. Our main aim is to make your stay one that you will always remember. We look forward to welcoming you at the ANGERMEYER WATERFRONT INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angermeyer Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angermeyer Waterfront Hotel Puerto Ayora
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing