We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price for a very touristy place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gardner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gardner
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great price for a very touristy place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were really happy to find a room here with no reservation. Great price and clean room with wifi and tv. There was a nice terrace on the top floor where we could enjoy some sun or sit and relax and surf online. Hot water isn't a given in this part of the world, so it was nice to have that here too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
14
38
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in total on two separate occasions. The rooms are bit old fashioned but clean with private bathrooms for $15 a night per person. Wifi worked well and the rooftop area was a nice bonus.

Well located close to the main town, just a few minutes walk to the pier. Overall good value for where we were.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RobYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a few problems here, mostly due to noise when on the lower floors, but it's still the most reasonably priced place we've seen. Unfortunately, that noise comes from the hotel next door, so there's nothing Gardner can do about it.

The young woman who runs the desk in the morning is incredibly kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely a hostel not hotel, this has been set up incorrectly on Tripadvisor.
We stayed here recently as a group of friends sharing a large 5 bed room. For $15 each per night for bed, wifi and hot water we didn't think was too bad for Galapagos. The wifi works best on the rooftop terrace. No breakfast included despite there still being signs up advertising times available?!? Great location though

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NaiomiMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

After shopping around for a while looking for a mix between central location, affordablility and room quality, I choose for Gardner.

They offered me (as a single) a large high floor triple bedroom with lots of windows, so there was a bit of a view and a breeze at night thanks to which I didn't needed to use the aircon. Together with a decent price, I was happy with it and slept well.

Still my rate is less than average because it just was just not a clean place, the floors awefully sticky and filthy. The showerwater did not really sink, or just very slowly. The rooftop patio "praised" in LP is potentially great but the owners left it totally rundown. The hotel is in need of new owners who clean it thoroughly, and refurbush it. But that would come at a price.

Until then, some good bargains can be had for travellers who are easy sleepers and can look away from the downsides.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

California, USA
Level Contributor
1,123 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked a tour from a Quito Travel Agent with a Hotel and they put me in this Hostel instead of a Hotel. Legal issues pending. Rooms 6, 5 and 4 are an extension of the reception and day and night people walk by yelling and laughing. I was in room 4 where you can NOT lock the windows to the hallway, the A/C is connected with an extension cord along the wall where you sleep. The curtains can NOT be fully closed and people walking upstairs have a nice view of you laying in bed etc. The bathroom needs a major scrub down. The local travel agent JOY BE on the main street did not follow my request to be moved to a Hotel, so I cancelled the remainder of the package. Legal issue pending too, they have my money for the whole trip and i filed a claim with the local tourist office. BE AWARE!. The Hostel moved my stuff out of room 4 without my authorization. They forgot to move my Samsung Galaxy charger (value $35). After i tried to connect my S.G. i realized it was missing. I walked over to the Hostel and they searched in some drawers while another person left the Hostel and came back with my charger. NOT recommended at all, watch your belongings. MeuterMedia

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memmingen, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

One of the cheapest hotels on santa cruz, so don't expect too much. Rooms are a bit shabby, bathroom always wet, air conditions outside make a lot of noise all day long. Though, its in the city centre, people are nice and water pressure of the shower's good! You get what you pay for!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grinsekat z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#19 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galapagos Garden
Hotel Galapagos Garden
#15 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardner

Property: Hotel Gardner
Address: Galapagos Islands | entre Bolivar Naveda y 12 de Febrero, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Number of rooms: 213
Also Known As:
Gardner Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Gardner Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing