We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent affordable hotel, great helpful owners, clean rooms.”
Review of Hotel Gardner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gardner
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Stayed in Hotel Gardner 6 days in June, 2009. I can't say enough great things about the owners As a family of 5 with 3 daughters (21, 18 & 17), we were traveling on a budget and Janet was very helpful. There is no ocean view as depicted in a previous review from 2008 but it is located 2 short blocks from the main street. The second floor rooms have A/C and all rooms are equipped with a TV and DVD recorder. Hot water is plentiful. If you have difficulty climbing stairs, request the first floor, but there is no A/C in first floor rooms. Janet helped us obtain a hotel on Isabela (Hotel Sandrita) and helped negotiate another economic rate. Janet also got us a guide to take us around to see the "high land" or "parte alta" on Santa Cruz. They also own a travel agency so they can help set up land tours. After a while it felt like you were with family. Breakfast was great. Juice, coffee, cocoa, warm bread, eggs (fried or boiled depending on the day) cheese and fruit. The girls serving breakfast are very young so you just have to have patience. The terrace was a great place to relax. You can grab dinner where all the locals go which is around the corner to the right and to the left at the top of the hill. A great place is William's where you can get "encocada de langostino" which is a very tasty dish. When you make your reservation, go on TAME Airlines as AeroGal's planes are older and I heard a comment about not having really good pressurizing. We were also able to get internet access on our laptop from a neighboring hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cecilia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2009

I'm just back from Galapagos!! Thanks to you all who help me to decide what to do , where to stay and what to bring! (it does rain in galapagos winter season- which is the dry season), i had the best holidays ever. Everything was perfect from the start to the end.
Well I stayed at the Gardner Hotel 8days 7 nights at a huge room with tv, fan not a/c, private bathroom, breakfast included for 25 dollars a night taxes included. I felt more than happy here, Janina was in charge of the hotel at that time, and she was great and helpful more than expected cos she did her best on everything and even she lend me snorkel , fins, and weatsuits for my day trips- they rent them for 3 dollars a day only fins and snorkel.
The service was good but a bit slow they have their own pace on setting the breaksfast- you must cope with it. The continental breakfast means - coffe, tea, cocoa,or dry milk and a jug of hot water and you help yourself...they give you, 2 hot rolls of sweet bread, butter and marmalade, crumbled eggs or fryed or boiled it depends on the days , fruit juice, and sometimes a piece of fruit or cheese.
The beautiful terrace, have a welcome committee and you are allowed to tip them with crumbs!- they are a couple of funny little birds.
The breakfast is served in this terrace which is half covered so you can get the breeze but not the drizzle, they had in the solarium area 3 or 4 sunbeds and some chairs where you can relax and get tanned and also in the covered area, coffee tables and comfortable chairs where to play cards, read some magazines or just relax , this is also a good place for those ones who want to smoke.
The hotel its so well located , that you have to walk only two block to the malecón, and from there you find your own way to the left , to Charles Darwin Foundation and Galapagos National Park..the Bank of Pacific and Casher Machines!! good and cheaps restaurants, dive-centres- art galleries, jewleries, handicraft shops, fisherie... and if you turn to your right hand you will find of course many good and cheaps restorants, the Ticket Office to trips on boat to everywhere in Galapagos, ( day tours, bay tours, taxi boats, etc.) and the walking way to The Ninfas' Lagoon and Tortuga Bay.
I really felt like home everytime i went back to the Hotel. Thank you very Much Janina and Wilmar.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Just returned from staying at the Gardner. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable..especially Janina. Booked nice day trips with her and the prices were the best we found. 45 a nite is what you get...decent rooms, could use an extra towel or two , but otherwise ok. No frills here, but not in the room all that much anyway. Communication not a problem either. No beach view..on the street . I stayed in second floor room. Was quiet. The rooms on the first floor seeem nice, but also seem a bit noisier. Family run, you will see them there. Go to the top(terrace) for free breakfast 7AM -9AM. nothing special, warm bread, eggs, fruit. Juice was ok? nothing great about the breakfast. but 45 a nite.....book daytrips with Janina.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Archie914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This was a great place to relax after a hectic 10 day Galapagos cruise in the heat. The rooms were extremely clean. The terrace on the upper floor had a nice view of the ocean. It was fantastic for an afternoon card game, or a nice place to relax and read a book. The location is 2 small city blocks from everything (tourist shops, restaurants, beach front, main street, and harbour). The staff was very helpful and friendly. They do arrange tours and rent snorkel gear and shorties as well) NOTE: Check out the street vendors on the kiosk street after 6 pm where the majority of locals eat. As well, we found 3 different sets of ATM's in Puerto Ayora (on up the hill on main street, one on the beach front road, and one at the supermarket by the main wharf). A sight to see, is the fisherman at the cleaning station/market on the main beachfront street at approx noon (only on Saturdays I think)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank proudalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We'd been looking for a good value place to base ourselves while in the Galapagos. Gardner was the right price and was clean, comfortable and provided a good rooftop breakfast. It is centrally placed handy for everything in Puerto Ayora. Check it out.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottartanfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed at Hotel Gardner for almost two weeks when our cruise of the Galapagos Islands cancelled at the last minute. Janet and Wil, the husband and wife management team, were extraordinary in helping us save our “trip of a lifetime” by dealing with the defunct tour operator, booking us trips to other islands, supplying us with a guide to show us the highlights of Santa Cruz, and even changing our airline reservations. They went above and beyond what was expected. Wil went so far as to walk us to the dock to make sure we got onto the correct boat for a trip to Isla Isabela. The hotel was spotless, cool and quiet. The rooms were just as lovely as on the internet web site and there was a fabulous open air deck on the top of the building with cushioned lounge chairs, couches, hammocks, and tables for enjoying the cool ocean breeze and views. Janet and Wil made our trip to the Galapagos Islands memorable through their genuine caring, sincerely welcoming nature and determination to help us make the most of a bad situation. They saved us over $5000 and we had a better trip! We felt completely at home and comfortable at the Hotel Gardner.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sv_makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#12 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
100 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#20 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardner

Address: Galapagos Islands | entre Bolivar Naveda y 12 de Febrero, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Number of rooms: 213
Also Known As:
Gardner Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Gardner Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing