We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“plenty more hotels on the Island”
Review of Hotel Gardner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gardner
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
AUS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“plenty more hotels on the Island”
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Good terrace Spacious room Bathroom open ceiling Noisy air con Insects in bed! Breakfast items given sparingly Views from some rooms over next hotel, covered with vertical blue plastic sheeting - that hotels outdoor area below can be noisy

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquadreamAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
14
38
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We were truly disappointed with Hotel Gardner. Rooms were very basic, linens were not clean, fan loud, and water in shower was lukewarm at best. Very overpriced for $45/night. I would recommend staying next door at the brand new Espana Hotel for $30/night. They have a nice courtyard with hammocks and a great English speaking front desk that can arrange tours, boats, etc. Puerto Arroyo is not much of a town, especially if you arrive on Sunday as everything is closed. The town comes alive on Wednesdays and Thursdays when the boats come into town. A better choice is to take a water taxi to Isabella - beautiful beaches, lots of wildlife (iguanas, penguins, sea lions, white tipped sharks).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starburst4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Gardner for 7 nights while in the Galapagos and it was great. The staff were so accommodating and kind! Our hot water was out of service on the first day and they fixed it immediately. When we wanted to stay an extra night, they not only allowed it but also called TAME to change our flight with no problem at all! The rooms are spartan (the bathroom has an open ceiling to the main room) and the beds are hard, but we had the room pictured in the main review and it was huge and absolutely spotless. There is cable tv and the breakfast is quite good (best bread we had on Puerto Ayora, but if you stay on the island you will learn quickly that's not saying too much!). We didn't use them for tours, but I'm sure they would have been terrific given how great they were with everything else. If you are not looking for anything fancy -- just a place to rest between day tours -- this is a GREAT and really cheap option for you. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5ContinentBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Stayed in Hotel Gardner 6 days in June, 2009. I can't say enough great things about the owners As a family of 5 with 3 daughters (21, 18 & 17), we were traveling on a budget and Janet was very helpful. There is no ocean view as depicted in a previous review from 2008 but it is located 2 short blocks from the main street. The second floor rooms have A/C and all rooms are equipped with a TV and DVD recorder. Hot water is plentiful. If you have difficulty climbing stairs, request the first floor, but there is no A/C in first floor rooms. Janet helped us obtain a hotel on Isabela (Hotel Sandrita) and helped negotiate another economic rate. Janet also got us a guide to take us around to see the "high land" or "parte alta" on Santa Cruz. They also own a travel agency so they can help set up land tours. After a while it felt like you were with family. Breakfast was great. Juice, coffee, cocoa, warm bread, eggs (fried or boiled depending on the day) cheese and fruit. The girls serving breakfast are very young so you just have to have patience. The terrace was a great place to relax. You can grab dinner where all the locals go which is around the corner to the right and to the left at the top of the hill. A great place is William's where you can get "encocada de langostino" which is a very tasty dish. When you make your reservation, go on TAME Airlines as AeroGal's planes are older and I heard a comment about not having really good pressurizing. We were also able to get internet access on our laptop from a neighboring hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I'm just back from Galapagos!! Thanks to you all who help me to decide what to do , where to stay and what to bring! (it does rain in galapagos winter season- which is the dry season), i had the best holidays ever. Everything was perfect from the start to the end.
Well I stayed at the Gardner Hotel 8days 7 nights at a huge room with tv, fan not a/c, private bathroom, breakfast included for 25 dollars a night taxes included. I felt more than happy here, Janina was in charge of the hotel at that time, and she was great and helpful more than expected cos she did her best on everything and even she lend me snorkel , fins, and weatsuits for my day trips- they rent them for 3 dollars a day only fins and snorkel.
The service was good but a bit slow they have their own pace on setting the breaksfast- you must cope with it. The continental breakfast means - coffe, tea, cocoa,or dry milk and a jug of hot water and you help yourself...they give you, 2 hot rolls of sweet bread, butter and marmalade, crumbled eggs or fryed or boiled it depends on the days , fruit juice, and sometimes a piece of fruit or cheese.
The beautiful terrace, have a welcome committee and you are allowed to tip them with crumbs!- they are a couple of funny little birds.
The breakfast is served in this terrace which is half covered so you can get the breeze but not the drizzle, they had in the solarium area 3 or 4 sunbeds and some chairs where you can relax and get tanned and also in the covered area, coffee tables and comfortable chairs where to play cards, read some magazines or just relax , this is also a good place for those ones who want to smoke.
The hotel its so well located , that you have to walk only two block to the malecón, and from there you find your own way to the left , to Charles Darwin Foundation and Galapagos National Park..the Bank of Pacific and Casher Machines!! good and cheaps restaurants, dive-centres- art galleries, jewleries, handicraft shops, fisherie... and if you turn to your right hand you will find of course many good and cheaps restorants, the Ticket Office to trips on boat to everywhere in Galapagos, ( day tours, bay tours, taxi boats, etc.) and the walking way to The Ninfas' Lagoon and Tortuga Bay.
I really felt like home everytime i went back to the Hotel. Thank you very Much Janina and Wilmar.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Just returned from staying at the Gardner. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable..especially Janina. Booked nice day trips with her and the prices were the best we found. 45 a nite is what you get...decent rooms, could use an extra towel or two , but otherwise ok. No frills here, but not in the room all that much anyway. Communication not a problem either. No beach view..on the street . I stayed in second floor room. Was quiet. The rooms on the first floor seeem nice, but also seem a bit noisier. Family run, you will see them there. Go to the top(terrace) for free breakfast 7AM -9AM. nothing special, warm bread, eggs, fruit. Juice was ok? nothing great about the breakfast. but 45 a nite.....book daytrips with Janina.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Archie914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This was a great place to relax after a hectic 10 day Galapagos cruise in the heat. The rooms were extremely clean. The terrace on the upper floor had a nice view of the ocean. It was fantastic for an afternoon card game, or a nice place to relax and read a book. The location is 2 small city blocks from everything (tourist shops, restaurants, beach front, main street, and harbour). The staff was very helpful and friendly. They do arrange tours and rent snorkel gear and shorties as well) NOTE: Check out the street vendors on the kiosk street after 6 pm where the majority of locals eat. As well, we found 3 different sets of ATM's in Puerto Ayora (on up the hill on main street, one on the beach front road, and one at the supermarket by the main wharf). A sight to see, is the fisherman at the cleaning station/market on the main beachfront street at approx noon (only on Saturdays I think)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank proudalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#19 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#11 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galapagos Garden
Hotel Galapagos Garden
#15 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardner

Property: Hotel Gardner
Address: Galapagos Islands | entre Bolivar Naveda y 12 de Febrero, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Number of rooms: 213
Also Known As:
Gardner Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Gardner Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing