We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Couples/Family Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 March 2014

After months of crashing in hostels we decided we needed some peace and quiet and chose Semilla Verde based on the great reviews. We were not disappointed and I was impressed with Robert's attention to detail. A bit of a perfectionist myself, I appreciate when someone's looked into every detail of their operation.
Although it's a cab ride into town, it's worth it when you wake up in the morning only to hear birds chirping rather than people and cars/trucks. Catching a taxi into/out was never an issue. The food that we had for Breakfast/Lunch was amazing and I even emailed Robert asking for one of the recipes.
Overall, if you're a couple or a family, even solo traveler looking to relax, I'd highly recommend staying at Semilla Verde.

Room Tip: Room #1 if it's available. Best view on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank langan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The guest house was beautiful, built with european standards! They have a coffee plantation on the back of the house, where you can see giant tortoises wondering around. The view from the terrace is spectacular. Overall you feel at home, in a very cozy atmosphere. The staff is really helpful. They helped us plan a half day trip to the highlands (Los Gemelos, the tunnel and Rancho primicias) with one of their taxi drivers (Angel) as a private guide, and it turned out being cheaper and better than with an agency.

They made the best breakfast ever (fresh juice, eggs, fresh baked bread, yogurt with granola and fresh fruit, pancakes and bacon! The hotel is 15min from the city in car so you'll have to take a cab ( 6$ during the day). You will get one cab ride reimbursed per day at the end of your stay. Robert (the owner) is very helpful and very involved in the local community.

Room Tip: If you ask for a top room you'll have a great view, but if you are on the bottom floor, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank IsabelHoffmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just returned from the Galapagos after a week-long trip, having stayed in Semilla Verde the entire time. It is an amazing place to stay! Our room (room 1) had the best view ever - overlooking the grounds (tortoises, coffee plants, trees, birds) and the ocean in the distance. The food was incredible every day - Daisy and the staff are incredible cooks, with tasty fish, chicken, and vegetarian dishes. Robert was readily available to help out whenever needed - whether to arrange transport, clarify the itinerary, or just answer a question. He was also wonderful in making sure everything was in place prior to the trip even starting, being flexible in adjusting our activities after discussing with him what we were looking for. The only drawback is the location, which is a very small and in the grand scheme of all the other amazing things Semilla Verde has to offer, insignificant. We never felt like we were trapped waiting on transport to or from Puerto Ayora or the other activities and Robert made sure to have the transportation aspect figured out ahead of time.

Overall, it was an incredible place to stay and one of the best ever!

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Our family (kids 15, 12 and9) stayed in rooms 4and5. As others have said this adds a downstairs seating area. The pool was just right for kids to splash and the spacious grounds added more run around area...Needed after travel time and daily "commute" on buses and boats. The food was great, staff friendly and Robert was there to see us off every day and take care of every question or concern. I highly recommend for any family looking for space and a sense of adventure.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank MichiganPartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I just returned from a week staying at Semilla Verde on Santa Cruz. This was my second visit to the Galapagos. The first time was on a ship, this time I decided to try a land based stay. We booked over the internet with Robert the owner, who was more than happy to answer a million questions that we (3) bombarded him with. Finally we arranged an entire week long tour through him. We had two rooms at the lodge, both were gorgeously appointed with tv/dvd players, wifi (a little slow but due to the island not the lodge) private patios, pretty decor. The property is located near the town of Puerto Ayora on a coffee plantation. It is lush and tropical, set on a hilltop offering a nice breeze at times from the sweltering heat. You are welcomed to roam the property that has many interesting plantings and huge Tortoises roaming the property. Robert made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. He arranged transport to and from the airport which was flawless. He pays for all taxi rides to and from town, which is just a short ride and only $6 each way. He also arranged all of our tours which were really great, including scrambling to get us on a last minute tour we decided we really wanted to take. One of the other great things about staying here are the meals and staff. He arranges family style sit down dinners with all of the guests, so you get to meet fellow travelers. The food is outstanding. Robert's wife and a couple of other ladies prepared really gorgeous dinners and breakfasts. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, granola, yogurt, homemade fresh juices, then the ladies ask you if you want eggs and bacon and will prepare it to your liking. Dinner is also a treat with interesting and tasty meals beautifully prepared and presented. I would highly recommend this place if you are interested in a land based stay on the Galapagos. Thanks Robert and Daisy!

Room Tip: Swimming pool is a kids pool but I used it anyway! There is also a yoga room on the property which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMCINNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

No doubt about it. When visiting Puerto Ayora on Baltra there's one quiet haven... Semilla Verde set in the highlands above the madding crowd is a getaway after a busy day around the island or under the sea. Robert Grimstone and family are wonderful hosts who'll personally take an interest in you making sure you get the best out of your stay. Set on an organic coffee plantation populated with tortoises with a view over the verdant landscape with the sea beyond, it's hard to beat. Wifi works fine (it's slow all over the islands). The location is a blessing, but be aware it is a 15 min drive (about $7 by taxi) out of town, At circa $200 a night it's pricey for the Galapagos, but all things considered you'll sleep better here with windows open and birds singing in the mornings than almost anywhere else. Take a walk on the trails winding through the large property and visit giant tortoises. Food is excellent, made to order fresh with a nice local variety. Comfortable firm beds, TV and so on are standard, although frankly, a TV is almost the last thing you'll think about watching here. Those looking for lots of distractions resort-style will be disappointed. Ask for a room on the upper floor if available. Thanks to everyone for a memorable stay... we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy_skydives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

To stay at Semilla Verde Lodge is to have an experience of a very different sort at Galapagos: you are in the wooden higlands (about 500 meters), with another climate and vegetation than on the coast (rainforest: humid, but not so hot). The people that attend you are extremely nice, the owners helpful and buisy to get you everything you dare for, the rooms and surroundings are comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast is enormous, with lots of varieties of fruits, bread, marmelades, and of course the home grown organic coffee. All in all, very recommended to stay a couple of days, relax and live another authentic Galapagos feeling.

Room Tip: there are suites that are very nice, with marvellous views down to the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wolfbongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.4 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
891 reviews
5.9 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
673 reviews
6.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel

Address: Km 12, via a Baltra | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador (Formerly Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: £158 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Semilla Verde is an exceptional hotel with the customs and personality of a traditional guesthouse." We believe your experience in the Galapagos Islands should be as unique and natural as you are. So, here at Semilla Verde we offer you the chance to stay somewhere far removed from your busy life and the standard hotel offering you may be used to. We invite you to step into another world, the original Galapagos, the true and enchanting islands. And, to experience the wonders of a rural forest dwelling and life alongside the unique wildlife you came so far to see. Your stay will be based in an original and idyllic rural retreat where peace, privacy and Galapagos wildlife abounds. You will enjoy one-to-one personal service, traditional home cooking, panoramic views from private terraces and exclusive access to nature trails through twelve acres of private forest where giant tortoises lumber freely and native birds thrive. At night, gaze up into the unspoilt majesty of the milky way. Nine comfortable en-suite bedrooms with AC, WiFi and DVD just 15 minutes taxi ride from Puerto Ayora town, costing just $7 e/w. All in all, an authentic and genuinely friendly and authentic land-base for your Galapagos adventure and an all encompassing alternative or add-on to a traditional cruise ship experience. Semilla Verde works with a local tour agency to offer complete hotel & tour package options too. You will visit outlying islands and local sites with qualified naturalist guides and experience first hand the beauty of Galapagos and it's unique flora and fauna - from giant tortoises and lava lizards to marine iguanas and playful sea lions, from volcanic landscapes to cloud forest. Return to the hotel at the end of an incomparable day and share your travel stories around the main dining table with other guests, whilst enjoying dinner freshly prepared in our kitchen. Indeed we don't work from a fixed menu rather we generally prepare one recipe for the group, but each guest receives a serving according to their individual preferences. The location is secluded but convenient and very safe. There is not another residence within hundreds of meters of this oasis. Semilla Verde remains true to the philosophy on which it originally built for good friends and family, ensuring a level of intimacy, small number of employees offering very personal service and home cooking your will only find in a traditional guesthouse. Semilla Verde comprises two hotel builidings some 100ft apart - the Semilla Verde Lodge (Rooms 1-6) and the Finch Wing (Rooms 7-9). They can work in unison or as separate entities for separate parties. betwen the two there is a fully equipped yoga studio where you can enjoy individual or group practice. Galapagos is famous for it's volcanic landscapes and unique wildlife, but it can also be somewhere for you to rediscover your true and unique nature, somewhere you can feel yourself again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semilla Verde Galapagos Hotel Puerto Ayora
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing