We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy Bueno!”
Review of Hotel Ninfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ninfa
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Lima
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

acabo de tener unas lindas vacaciones!! el hotel muy bueno y la comida tambien, no me puedo quejar, dentro de lo que pague estuvo mas q suficiente! no entiendo todos estos malos comentarios, muy a pesar de lo que decian me arriesgue y tuve una buena impresion. Gracias Hotel Ninfa

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsraelLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    70
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
55
64
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were booked into this hotel by EC Travel, but the actual tour company was Ninfa Tours. It was dirt cheap, so I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. The location is right by the port, so very convenient for leaving for morning tours.

Rooms are small, bathrooms are worn, but are cleaned well each day. There was no hot water while we were there. One night, there was a great deal of noise from the town and it was hard to sleep. On Sunday mornings, the church crowd will definitely wake you up. But, you'll probably have a tour to go on, so I guess that doesn't matter.

There were tour briefings every night by a man who spoke Spanish quickly and would not speak any English. He was not friendly and quite abrupt. Tour guides were ok, but spoke limited English. The boats they took us on were of good quality.

Food was simple, but very fresh and healthy. Kitchen staff were always very friendly and hard working.

The pool area was really nice. So nice, that it seemed out of place with the run down rooms.

I recommend this hotel if you are willing to sacrifice luxury and comfort for a low price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkeith03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent 5 days on a tour at Ninfa in a suite. We enjoyed a lot our stay and were very happy of the accommodation. As we selected the tour, punctuality was the keyword including for the meal time. The food was basic but tasful and the waiters were friendly as soon as you speak spanish... The hotel has a very slow internet connexion but a very enjoyable bar closed to the swimming pool. The guided tours were very interesting and well organised. If you want to spent an agreable time in Galapagos for an affordable price, this is the good option !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie_Guns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at La Ninfa. We had several problems: no hot water on the first day, unfriendly staff, the pool was used by (veeeery loud) kids from the elementary school nearby and breakfast was very basic (fruits, eggs and juice).
It was OK as a base for our diving excursions and we also enjoyed the free billiard table as well as the sundeck. I think there are better options to stay at Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elfarolillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Old building should be torn down; cracked tile floors; floor always wet due to water from shower on bathroom floor; dust webs on door frames; electrical wires hanging from walls; door locks not secure; screen only on bathroom window; rusty refrigerator; barely functional toilet; always damp, even when we had air conditioner on. Photos available on request. We saw the rooms in the new building - nice rooms, (they call them suites, but they aren't what we call suites), but they are $60 extra plus tax.
Breakfast poor; pool water very cold; bar often not open; difficult to communicate what you needed due to not having any staff member able to speak English; no internet access. Location to main street is good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovemanatees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
7.9 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#19 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ninfa

Property: Hotel Ninfa
Address: Calle Los Colonos y Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ninfa Galapagos, located in the heart of Puerto Ayora, is more than just a hotel. We are pioneers in Galapagos tourism. No one is better equipped or has more experience to help you fully enjoy your adventure on the Enchanted Islands. Stroll along the harbor, visit the shops and galleries, or simply lounge around in our comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ninfa Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing