We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Galapagos home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchidea

Orchidea consists of two apartments: one upstairs and one downstairis in a fine neighbourhood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchidea consists of two apartments: one upstairs and one downstairis in a fine neighbourhood
Upstairs - Balcony Upstairs - Main Double Bedroom with queen bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Orchidea consists of two apartments: one upstairs and one downstairis in a fine neighbourhood
Upstairs - Balcony
Upstairs - Main Double Bedroom with queen bed
Upstairs - Main Double Bedroom with queen bed
Upstairs - Main Double bedroom
Upstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Upstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Upstairs - Bathroom
Upstairs - Bathroom
Upstairs - Bathroom
Upstairs - Living room
Upstairs - Living room
Upstairs - Kitchen
Upstairs - Balcony
Upstairs - Private entrance
Upstairs - Entrance patio
Upstairs - Private entrance stairway
Upstairs - Private entrance patio
A plan of Orchidea! Both up and down have the same rooming plan.
Orchidea's position within Puerto Ayora.
Downstairs - Living area
Downstairs - Main Bedrroom with double bed
Downstairs - Main Bedrroom with double bed
Downstairs - Second bedroom with twin bunk-beds.
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - bathroom with shower unit and small bathtub
Downstairs - Dining room
Downstairs - Dining area with kitchen behind
Downstairs - Living room, dining area with the kitchen in the background.
Downstairs - Kitchen
Downstairs -  Private back garden. There is a sheltered area with hammocks here and also an outdoor table with four...
Downstairs - private entrance
Downstairs - private front garden
Downstairs - private front garden
Downstairs - front sheltered patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

DKT18
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Galapagos home away from home”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Spacious, airy, clean 2 bedroom apartment. Top floor. Good security. Cool breezes in the afternoon. Owner hung a hammock for us - lovely to relax in after a day of diving. Easy walk into town. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Owner gave great suggestions for activities and restaurants. Good communication. Cleaned daily.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Self contained private apartment. Hammock.
Liked least: A little noisy on the street in the early morning and early evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browncoat...
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous apartment for extended or short term stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My husband and I stayed for 10 days in the upstairs apartment. We could not have asked for a nicer place. Everything was just as described on the owner's Galapex web site and in excellent condition. We found the apartment to be very comfortable and safe. The apartment has an abundance of natural light and air. It was wonderful to leave the sliding french doors to the porch open and enjoy the cool ocean breeze. And with all the storage we were able to unpack all of our suitcases and feel at home.
The owners were very helpful without being intrusive, and the maid popped in every other day to take care of the apartment. It was nice being less than a 10 minute walk into town or the Tortoise breeding center. It was fun to walk over to the center and watch the tortoises being fed around 9am Monday, Wednesday, or Friday.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cool ocean breeze.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Reviewed 9 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Date of stay: October 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marywebb2...
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Orchidea is absolutely wonderful. Close to all the town but far enough away to get away from the town. It felt more like a home and not like a rental. The owner was great. There were no issues during my extended stay. The housekeeper is wonderful with plenty of information to help with those things that are for the locals. The information provided at the rental is very helpful. The owners have put together a book to make choices much easier. It was safe, comfortable, and clean

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The liked the location
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0urfamily...
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Orchidea met all of our needs and it's location can't be beat!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 4, we have two children 8 and 10. Our accommodations were perfect for our family. The kids loved their bunkbeds. The kitchen is large and so are the bedrooms and bathroom. We enjoyed the private outdoor areas in the front and back, especially the hammocks. The owners have a housekeeper that kept our place clean. She is available for cooking and laundry for a small fee, and well worth it! The owners Paul and Gaby were incredible. They are so friendly and helpful. Paul is very passionate about the Island and is an amazing guide. If you want to do any excursions, definitely book them with him. He has lived there for 20+ years and knows the island like the back of his hand. We stayed at Orchidea for 5 weeks and it wasn't long enough. Be careful booking with outside companies for scuba, excursions etc. Definitely trust in Paul to help find the right fit for you. The only negative experience we had was because we prebooked our scuba trip and didn't check around first.

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect, you are close to the Darwin Station and Beach and the walk through town to the pier is safe and scenic. Something you would miss from other rentals on the island.
Liked least: If I had to complain, it would be the shower temperature. We learned that a lot of rentals don't even have hot water, so I hate to complain that ours was too hot - it was either hot, hot or cold and took a lot of adjusting.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.