We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, Affordable, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galapagos Suites
Ranked #1 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Affordable, Comfortable”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Galapagos Suites is a wonderful, clean small hotel near the heart of Puerto Ayora. It appears to be brand new and is kept in wonderful condition by a full time maintenance person. The walls, windows and floors were immaculate. The rooms were very good sized and had beautiful balconies with chairs and hammocks. The A/C worked great and the water was plentiful and hot. (The water temperature was inconsistent and did require some vigilance while showering.) The architecture was very nice and the building looked marvelous. The included breakfast was very nice and the service was excellent (Jocelyn). The portions were light by American standards but normal, from my experience, in South America. The ladies in our group thought them to be perfect including a lovely cake every morning.

The only drawback was the neighborhood is somewhat broken down. Not the fault of the owner just something to consider before booking.

Overall, we would highly recommend anyone to come and stay at this lovely boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendorbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
261
33
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Galapagos Suites in Puerto Ayora of the Galapagos Islands in March 2012. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and pleasant. The air conditioning was a welcome addition as the humidity took some getting used to. There was also a nice porch with a hammock for relaxing - however, the view was just of other buildings, so not a highlight. We had breakfast prepared every morning (coffee, tea, fruit juice, bread with jam, breakfast cake, and some sort of cheese and meat sometimes with eggs). The location is just a few blocks back from the main downtown area and an easy walk. Great stay!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyfamilyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It was a difficult decision where to stay in Puerto Ayora, Galapagos Suites or sea front hotel. We were extremely happy that we chose and stayed here. We were in Ecuador for 26 days and stayed in various accommodation from B&B to 5 star hotel. Galapagos Suites was our best accommodation in Ecuador.

We booked through Hotels.com quite some time in advance and soon I got email from the owner and everything was confirmed.

We stayed 2 nights in March. From the public pier, we walked pushing our suitcases. Although it was a pleasant walk, taxi was the better option if you have luggage. It takes 20 minutes if you just walk from the pier but we always walked looking at the shops and birds. Always enjoyed to walk back to our B&B from anywhere in Puerto Ayora, anytime of the day.

Our room was on the second floor. There are only 2 rooms on the floor. The room was very big, exceptionally clean and bright. It has a big comfy bed, bedside tables, sitting area, writing desk, lots of storage, spacious bath room and in-room safe. Reliable wifi is also free in the room. Outside the door, we had a fridge to share with other guests and cold water to fill our bottles. There was also shoe rack outside the door so that we could take our shoes off. The only thing missing in the room was a chair for the writing desk but I sat on the suitcase rack and it worked.

What I liked the most was the brightness of the room with lots of windows and the huge balcony. There was a hammock for us to use but we removed it and put my washing line instead. With the sun and fresh breeze, our wet clothes always dried well there. As it was outside, we didn't have to worry about water dripping from the wet clothes. I really appreciated that space (balcony) with the strong sun and nice breeze.

We had our breakfast on the ground floor in the patio/garden setting. It was a time to meet other guests and talked about each other's amazing experiences in Galapagos. Breakfast was simple but very adequate.

The owner was very kind. She reconfirmed our excursion booking and when we left she called taxi for us. We came back to Perth last week and found she sent an email asking about our opinion of her hotel. That is why I have decided to write a review wanting to express our appreciation to her and her entire team. They are all hard working people to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

It was a great pleasure for my husband and I to spend a week in your B & B.
Everything was perfect : the large and clean bedroom, the patio for breakfast and so on…
Our hostess was very kind and helpful that is very important for travelers.
Nicole et Jean-Claude de Paris France

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN_CLAUDE110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The room I had was spacious, very comfortable (with a nice balcony) and immaculately clean. The whole property is beautifully maintained and a pure joy to come back to after a long day of touring the island(s). I naturally gravitate towards warm people and, not surprisingly, had a great rapport with Josy (the owner/host). I felt very safe in Puerto Ayora at any time of day and/or night and was not at all bothered by occasional noise coming from the outside during the day (the nights were always very quiet). Dear Josy, big hug and - I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Galapagos Suites was the first B&B on our 6 months worldtrip. Now, after all this time I honestly can say that this was our best experience of all the B&B´s and hotels we have stayed in during our trip. Beside the fact that the rooms are spacious, clean, tasetfully decorated and modern, the owner/host - Josephine - made our stay perfect! She is such a warm and lovely woman, she really made us feel at home! She makes the best breakfasts, fresh juices, brownies and was always so friendly to help us!! Thanks Josephine, we could not wish for a better start of our long trip!
The building itself is really nice, kind of an hidden surprise in the area and nearby the center of Puerto Ayora and the Darwin center. The balcony with the hammock was very relaxing.
So, we have really good memories of this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamSam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The rooms are huge and amazing; clean and feel like they are brand new. It is a bit of a schlep to the 3rd floor with your luggage. The balconies would be nicer if there was something nice to look at rather than a bunch of unfinished concrete buildings. Although, the place is close to town, it is a dark walk in at night. Then when you sleep there are dogs barking all night long.
The breakfast was not very good. Please serve eggs and get rid of those hot dogs. Brownies for breakfast are too sweet. Some croissants or pastries would be better.
We also stayed on the water and although the rooms aren't as nice, being on the water was far superior as was the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalapagosSuites, General Manager at Hotel Galapagos Suites, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are very sorry you did not like our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galapagos Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galapagos Suites

Property: Hotel Galapagos Suites
Address: Cucuve y Floreana, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galapagos Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galapagos Suites is a lodging place that offers personalized first class service. We strive to provide a unique experience at our hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront which allows our guest to experience the richness of the local culture, cuisine, shopping and beaches. Galapagos Suites has 5 rooms, each with private bathroom, hot water, air-conditioning, safety box, balcony area and American breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Galapagos Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Galapagos Suites Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing